We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Village to your Saves list
Aspen Village
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Windflower Ave | Box 100, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a great time from start to finish. Office staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms in the cottage were clean and the bed was comfortable. The Aspen Village Inn is a great place for couples, singles and families - you couldn't be closer to shopping and the lake. We paid a lower rate because we visited in September, - so I agree that people who paid the full summer rate might have felt they didn't get such good value for their money - but Waterton is just expensive in the summer. The views of the mountains and the fall leaves from our living room window were spectacular! We'll go back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage where the living room window faces south - looking out from the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    37
    22
    10
See reviews for
27
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We didn't have a bad stay here however there was nothing that 'wowed' us. Had a good nights sleep, but not $260 worth of nice! It's very pricey but as the title says, the prices are middle of the road, as is the accommodation.
I'm sure it's not the worst place to stay in Waterton and I know it's not the best :(
Only stayed in Waterton 1 night...the prices are just too high when compared with other properties within Park boundaries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was a bit surprised when I read the latest reviews as there was not much to complain about in my case.
We had one of the Windflower rooms (in the main building) on the 1st floor and the room was clean and everything worked as it is supposed to work. I agree it is expensive during the Summer season but this is the case for every hotel in Western Canada (in my opinion).
The reception clerk was also friendly and helpful so I have to say I experienced a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I agree with the comments from jesterrific40. This hotel is very overpriced, it is very outdated, looks dingy and dirty. We spent 1 night there this week. The TV had no remote in the room, we obtained one from the office but it did not work. The TV would shut off on its own and then come back on a few minutes later. We could not turn on or off the lights above the beds until we discovered that we had to screw on or unscrew the bulbs. The place was full of flies that kept us awake most of the night. There was an unpleasant odor in the room. There was not much hot water for a shower. We will never stay at this hotel again. We felt ripped off and wish we had gone back to Pincher Creek for the night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I'm sorry to hear of your bad experience staying at Aspen Village. Since you stayed with us, we have been working diligently to improve the quality of our Aspen rooms. The Windflower at Aspen has especially been given attention, and has been significantly improved! We feel you would be impressed if you decided to give us another chance.

Thank you for your comment, your feedback is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel would be passable for a cheap motel on the way somewhere. As a destination with a premium price it was a huge disappointment. Dingy old room, stale smell of old cigarettes, small, noisy. I was able to overlook it all weekend and enjoy the hiking and scenery of Waterton except for one thing. We stayed three nights. The second night our room wasn't cleaned... bed not made, no new towels, no coffee replenished. I complained about this while checking out and the person at the counter did not seem to care AT ALL. I asked to speak to a manager and was told none were available. I had the clerk take my number down and asked to have the manager call me. This was Monday. It is now Thursday and I am still waiting. I can't beleive how much we paid for this room. We have paid much less for nicer rooms in Banff and Canmore. I will NEVER go back there as I'd rather camp.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Only the location was acceptable. Service was poor.The room was not clean.The microwave did not work. One of the lamps also. No .TV remote control, sorry about that was the response from staff For a price of $ 200. it was a rip-off .We left after one night.Probably the last time that we will visit Waterton

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Jim,

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at The Aspen Village. We really appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve our operations.

Since you last stayed with us, we have working diligently to improve the quality of the Aspen rooms, and I think you would be impressed with the new and improved Aspen Village.

I hope your bad experience with us doesn't prevent you from returning to Waterton Park, it truly is a beautiful place and one bad experience shouldn't ruin the Park's reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was the only 'hotel' in town that had any availability ,so we had no choice but to stay one ngt here. The place is run down both outside and inside. Carpets in the hallways are disgusting.Our rm(21) was a rm with 2 double beds in it,we opened the door to the rm and the smell that hit us was horrendous,stale,damp and musty. There was a small kitchentte in the rm,which we had no intention of using. There were grease marks all over the wall above the cooker and the rings on the cooker were filthy. The bathrm was very basic,hair on floor and bathtub had a dirty ring around it. The beds were comfortable enough but we slept on a big bathsized towel we'd brought with us, just so we didnt have to actuially lie on the paper thin sheets!. Horrible place...but like I say, we had no choice as everywhere else was fully booked & this was last minute trip for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomWaterton, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am embarrased by what seems to be a complete breakdown in both maintenance and housekeeping. I cannot blame our employees as we have failed to train , suoervise and follow up with them. This is not the standard we aspire to and I would like to personally apologise to you. I would also invite you to follow up your review with me personally. Please contact me thom@waymarker.ca. I can assure you the ownership is taking strides to improve the property, our operations including training and maintenance.
Sincerely
Thom McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Village

Address: 111 Windflower Ave | Box 100, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspen Village 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From business class to budget conscious, the Aspen Village offers 3 selections of hotel accommodation on one property. The Windflower at Aspen Village, newly renovated motel rooms; The Aspen, deluxe suites; and The Cottages at Aspen Village, a community of 16 guest cottages, comprised of family units, duplex cottages and bachelor suites. A small playground area, green space and BBQ pit make it a family friendly place to stay. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aspen Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Village Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Aspen Village Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.