We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing hot dog you will ever have.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wieners of Waterton

Wieners of Waterton
301 Windflower Ave., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
403-859-0007
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Bakery, Vegetarian, Hot Dogs, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Quinte West, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most amazing hot dog you will ever have.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a gem of a place in the stunning Waterton Lakes National Park. Everything is fresh, organic and made to order. The day we visited they were featuring a local smoked cheddar sausage as well as the normal menu. The topping list is huge and what a treat it is to have crushed potato chips on such a delicious dog. The dogs and sausage we had were cooked perfectly and the rolls that are baked fresh each morning melted in our mouths. The sweet potato fries were just as delicious, crispy and tender - just perfect. All packaging here is bio-degradable so you may notice that your drink cup looks a little weird but far less impact to the environment. The only slight drawback is virtually no seating and long lines. We solved the problem by one of us getting the order and the other staying outside with the kids. We then took out food to a picnic spot a slight distance from the centre of town and enjoyed the best view with the best lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    64
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
On the road between Lethbridge, Waterton, and Fernie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Start & End your Waterton Experience at WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What can i say --- been enjoying their fare since they opened in 2010. WOW has become a part of my weekly Waterton Experience, Spring, Summer & Fall and is my favorite eatery in the park. The best hot dogs this side of New York City and the experience begins with the passion the two young owners / brothers display, leading a team of amazing family members and friends, each providing personal, consistently friendly service.
My fav menu item is the 1/4 pound Nathans dog, scored, grilled; crispy and juicy at the same time:) The locally made 100% Beef Smokie is a close second and the sweet potato fries, french fries, and home made dipping sauces round out my favorites.
Morning, noon, or night, WOW offers great, quick, comfort food. For morning people like me, they start at 7:00AM offering the best freshly squeezed orange juice, a very limited supply of thwe awesome freshly baked cinnamon sticky buns, and the other addition to their menu, Breakfast Dogs, comprising two locally made 10" breakfast sausages, grilled of course, and accompanied with scrambled eggs, grated cheddar cheese, and all the other fixins, you can ask for, delivered of course, in a freshly baked bun. SOOOO Good!!
I can comment on all the menu items except the vegan option, anti-dogs and the coffee, but I hear they are awesome as well.
WOW opened on the 100th anniversary of the park and I believe it pays homage to the history, beauty, and spirit that Waterton offers and perfectly compliments a "Love Your Life" attitude. It is also a great place to get tips on great hikes and other aspects of the park as this family enjoys all that Waterton offers while running their business.



Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved this place. We ate both a late evening meal here and visited again for breakfast. We had spent the day in the National Park before going for a couple of evening beers in the town and as a result wanted something tasty, quick and easy which we definitely found here. The staff were really friendly and we really enjoyed our food. Breakfast was just as good. If you fancy something informal or are feeling hungry then go here it is great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stop at Wieners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We enjoyed our freshly made breakfast sausage at Wieners during our visit to Waterton in September that we stopped again on our return from Banff, Canada to the US border. All ingredients are freshly made and the service is great. The tea and coffee are delicious too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincher Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Gourmet wieners and dogs for grown-ups, without abandoning the appeal to youngsters. This place offers up some delicious sausages, with choices of gourmet dressings. The sweet potato fries are fantastic, as well. Great place to grab a quick, simple meal in Waterton.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wieners of Waterton also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Wieners of Waterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wieners of Waterton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.