We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start & End your Waterton Experience at WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wieners of Waterton

Wieners of Waterton
301 Windflower Ave., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
403-859-0007
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
On the road between Lethbridge, Waterton, and Fernie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Start & End your Waterton Experience at WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What can i say --- been enjoying their fare since they opened in 2010. WOW has become a part of my weekly Waterton Experience, Spring, Summer & Fall and is my favorite eatery in the park. The best hot dogs this side of New York City and the experience begins with the passion the two young owners / brothers display, leading a team of amazing family members and friends, each providing personal, consistently friendly service.
My fav menu item is the 1/4 pound Nathans dog, scored, grilled; crispy and juicy at the same time:) The locally made 100% Beef Smokie is a close second and the sweet potato fries, french fries, and home made dipping sauces round out my favorites.
Morning, noon, or night, WOW offers great, quick, comfort food. For morning people like me, they start at 7:00AM offering the best freshly squeezed orange juice, a very limited supply of thwe awesome freshly baked cinnamon sticky buns, and the other addition to their menu, Breakfast Dogs, comprising two locally made 10" breakfast sausages, grilled of course, and accompanied with scrambled eggs, grated cheddar cheese, and all the other fixins, you can ask for, delivered of course, in a freshly baked bun. SOOOO Good!!
I can comment on all the menu items except the vegan option, anti-dogs and the coffee, but I hear they are awesome as well.
WOW opened on the 100th anniversary of the park and I believe it pays homage to the history, beauty, and spirit that Waterton offers and perfectly compliments a "Love Your Life" attitude. It is also a great place to get tips on great hikes and other aspects of the park as this family enjoys all that Waterton offers while running their business.



Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved this place. We ate both a late evening meal here and visited again for breakfast. We had spent the day in the National Park before going for a couple of evening beers in the town and as a result wanted something tasty, quick and easy which we definitely found here. The staff were really friendly and we really enjoyed our food. Breakfast was just as good. If you fancy something informal or are feeling hungry then go here it is great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stop at Wieners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We enjoyed our freshly made breakfast sausage at Wieners during our visit to Waterton in September that we stopped again on our return from Banff, Canada to the US border. All ingredients are freshly made and the service is great. The tea and coffee are delicious too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincher Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Gourmet wieners and dogs for grown-ups, without abandoning the appeal to youngsters. This place offers up some delicious sausages, with choices of gourmet dressings. The sweet potato fries are fantastic, as well. Great place to grab a quick, simple meal in Waterton.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had breakfast at Wieners the three mornings we were in town and lunch once. They have this neat machine that squeezes oranges for the best fresh orange juice in town. They also bake scones and cinnamon buns and their coffee is high quality. Their breakfast dog isn't bad either. The place has a laid back homey atmosphere, due to the young energy of the family that owns it. It is mostly a takeout facility but there are a few stools inside and a couple of picnic tables outside. We just found it a very nice experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilwineMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wieners of Waterton also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Wieners of Waterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing