We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B in heavenly spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shintangle Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterton Lakes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shintangle Spring
Save
You added Shintangle Spring to your Saves list
HWY-5, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Napa, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B in heavenly spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Heather is very detail oriented. The rooms are large and cheerful with comfortable beds. The public room has tv, dvds and player, comfortable furniture, a refrigerator to keep your food in and a gorgeous view. She stocks fruit, cookies, yogurt and many kinds of tea and hot chocolate for your convenience. Her breakfasts are delicious. Best is that the place is just a few minutes from the entrance to Waterton Park, the Canadian side of Glacier National Park. If you're going to Glacier don't miss this side of the park. I was very happy that we were staying here rather than in the town of Waterton. She sent us to a cute little restaurant about ten minutes north that turned out to be a favorite with lots of local color. I can't remember the name, but she will. There's just one restaurant to the north.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We Stayed at Shintangle Springs in Waterton for two nights in August.We booked the whole B& B as we were a larger group. Heather made us fel very welcome. The rooms were spotless as were the bathrooms. The shared living area was excellent for a group to share. Heather was wonderful at supplying snacks and the breakfasts were amazing. Her attention to her guests was amazing. The B& B is located 5 minutes beautiful drive from the park Wish we could have stayed longer..

Room Tip: Dungarvan faces the mountains and the valley ( 2 windows) but tends to gt quite warm. Use AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Shintagle Spring for 3 nights in late July while visiting Waterton Lakes National Park. It was fabulous. The room was spacious and clean. The views spectacular. Heather made us delicious, fresh food for breakfast every morning and gave us great tips on places to eat in town. Although the town was fairly small, I am so glad that we stayed at Shintagle Spring. Just 5 minutes from the park entrance and we were in a beautiful, quiet setting with Heather making us feel totally comfortable and at home. I recommend staying at Shintagle Spring if you are looking for high quality accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We Stayed at Shintangle Springs in Waterton for two nights in July. The views from the bedrooms and from the decking area you can use are just spectacular. You couldn't ask for a better location to be based in Waterton Park. The townsite is located just a short drive away.

We had the use of a lounge to sit and watch TV if we wished or just relax and read a book. There is good selection of coffee, teas and hot chocolate and fruit and snacks.

Heather was a really good host with a fantastic sense of humour. She was really helpful with suggestions of places to visit and giving us directions to places to visit and a good route back to Calgary and on to Drumheller. She is also a great cook, giving us various options of what we wanted for breakfast each day.This B&B is definitely the place to stay especially if you want peace and quiet, no traffic noises here like we experienced in some locations. The property is also air conditiioned if you needed to use it.

Room Tip: The Dungarvan room has two large windows providing extra views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natanya
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We slept in the Dungarvan room at Shintangle B&B and we had the most fabulous views to the south and west from the windows in our room. Our room (one out of four guest rooms in the house) was clean, large, well appointed with comfortable bathroom. There is a charming common sitting area with couches, armchairs, books, maps and space to spread out rather than feeling closed up in the bedroom. We had one rainy afternoon while in Waterton Park so we came back to Shintangle and just relaxed in the sitting area and felt completely renewed afterwards. Heather was an informative and gracious hostess and cooked up a wonderful breakfast for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and it was so private and quiet. There were only 3 guest rooms so it was nice to have the place to yourself sometimes and to enjoy the company when you wanted it. The deck was fabulous...like you had the entire valley to yourself and the panorama of the mountains...wonderful with a glass of wine. Love watching the prairie dogs pop up and play from our bedroom window. It has a/c...great with temps in 80's/90's! Breakfast great...Heather made sure we had our coffee strength (brewed separate pots for my husband & I), and if breakfast met our needs. Maple syrup Fabulous! She even made breakfast for us earlier one morning so we could catch the boat to Crypt Lake. Very clean. Decor is homey and comfortable...was great after long days of hiking. BYOB for the fridge and enjoy the view!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a nice, but breif stay at Shintangle on a quick visit to Waterton Lakes National Park. The view from our room was spectacular. The room was spacious, and well appointed. Heather, the owner was a delight! She was fun to talk with, helpful in so many ways....and serves up a wonderful breakfast.
Shintagle is close by the entrance to the Waterton Lakes National a short drive gets you there in minutes.
it was helful to me to have the coordinates of the B&B for our GPS.....N 49.0746-113.8323. the coordinates bring you to their mailbox, which close by the entrance to the B&B.
Dont think you can go wrong with this B&B

Room Tip: Dungarvan room has the best view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shintangle Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shintangle Spring

Address: HWY-5, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Shintangle Spring Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Shintangle Spring Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shintangle Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.