We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic, beautiful, & comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shintangle Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterton Lakes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shintangle Spring
Save
You added Shintangle Spring to your Saves list
HWY-5, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Louis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Scenic, beautiful, & comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a nice, but breif stay at Shintangle on a quick visit to Waterton Lakes National Park. The view from our room was spectacular. The room was spacious, and well appointed. Heather, the owner was a delight! She was fun to talk with, helpful in so many ways....and serves up a wonderful breakfast.
Shintagle is close by the entrance to the Waterton Lakes National a short drive gets you there in minutes.
it was helful to me to have the coordinates of the B&B for our GPS.....N 49.0746-113.8323. the coordinates bring you to their mailbox, which close by the entrance to the B&B.
Dont think you can go wrong with this B&B

Room Tip: Dungarvan room has the best view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived at Shintangle with a huge oil leak in our rental car after driving over a rock on the road. Heather was amazing. She gave us free use of her phone and helped us arrange a replacement vehicle. She also provided a fresh cup of tea and home made cookies.The whole experience was very calm and relaxed, thanks to her assistance.

This friendly and helpful contribution from Heather set the scene for our two day stay. The house is tastefully decorated with a large sitting room and dining area.The Dungarvon room was clean and comfortable with outstanding views. The home cooked breakfast was very tasty and a good start to our day in Waterton National Park. The B&B is ideally located, a short drive from the Park gate in beautiful mountain surroundings.

Heather could not have been a more gracious host, and came out to wave goodbye when we left. We had a wonderful time and recommend Shintangle very highly.

Room Tip: Ask for the Dungarvon Room, which has views on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Reluctant to stay in a B&B our first experience ever staying in a B&B was in the Shintangle Spring and honestly exceptionally positive.
Quiet,extremely clean and organized,located very close to Waterton national park.
The hostess Heather is really professional in all aspect treating customers

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We agree with all the wonderful reviews of this B and B. We were there in July 2011. The most amazing thing for us was the customization done by our hostess, Heather. She even strove to brew just the right type of coffee for our liking. Beautiful setting conveniently close to the park. I could go on and on, but others have said it better. This is an exceptional place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We visited Shintangle Spring in September 2011. It was by far, the most hospitable, comforting place we have ever stayed. Hostess Heather was knowledgeable, personable and made us feel at home. We’ve visited Waterton before and I was hesitant to stay outside the park but Shintangle Spring was located much closer to the park than we anticipated. In fact it was actually quite nice to be a bit away from the action. The guest quarters are located in a separate area of the home and each unit had a private bath which allowed for privacy. Because my husband has food allergies we prepared to fix our own breakfast each morning but Heather went way above and beyond to ensure he had a beautifully prepared safe meal each morning. Staying at Sintangle Spring is like staying with family. It was a great experience. We will definitely return.

Read more about our experience at Sintangle Springs at http://fortybythirty.com/2011/10/07/21-staying-in-a-bed-breakfast/

Megan & Brad

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed two wonderful days at Shintangle Springs. Heather was the perfect host and the accomatioms were excellent- quiet, clean, comfortable with an incredible view.

Room Tip: The Dungarvan room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A lovely, exceptionally clean, well-appointed bed and breakfast. The rooms are separate from the residence, with no TV's in the rooms. However, there is a nice area for the guests to have snacks with a frig to store food and a sitting area to watch TV and visit with the other guests. Heather (owner) tries very hard to please her guests and it shows. She is such a nice lady and so helpful with what and where to visit on our vacation. The breakfast was very good and we really enjoyed our stay ~ highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shintangle Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shintangle Spring

Address: HWY-5, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Shintangle Spring Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Shintangle Spring Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shintangle Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.