We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-proclaimed "Best Fried Chicken"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zum's Eatery & Mercantile

Zum's Eatery & Mercantile
116B Waterton Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 859-2388
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Self-proclaimed "Best Fried Chicken"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Could be the best in Waterton Lakes but that doesn't make it good. After waiting a good time to be seated in a near empty restaurant the two of us were placed at the nearest table for 8 by someone whose mind was elsewhere. Our waitress wasn't as offensive but her mind was not on her work either. Food quality was poor; no reason to go back to this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    76
    71
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Platte, Nebraska
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ok food, staff was great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had the fried chicken. It was overdone in the fryer. The rest of the food was just ok. We only went there once.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good fried Chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had dinner there while staying in town. Tried the fried chicken and it was ok. Service was good and the price was reasonable for the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great atmosphere and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

No, Zum's is not the Ritz but the food is good and not expensive. We found the portions were large enough and the menu had something to suit most tastes.
They open at 8 for breakfast and this is handy for hikers or those taking a boat tour of the lake. The location is also easy to find with ample parking and best of all they do takeout orders for hikers lunches.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, NM
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“OK, but there are better places to eat in Waterton Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We ate there one night during our 4 day visit. The service was great and the atmosphere was OK. The food was also OK. Had their famous chicken and it was a little overdone. BUT, the pie was GREAT--throw a little ice cream on it and you don't need an entree. They have an outside patio but it was full when we got thee.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum's Eatery & Mercantile also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Zum's Eatery & Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum's Eatery & Mercantile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.