We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think twice. Just book it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sticks and Stones Country Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galiano Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sticks and Stones Country Cottages
Save
You added Sticks and Stones Country Cottages to your Saves list
300 Sticks Allison Road, British Columbia V0N1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't think twice. Just book it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Best hosts we've ever encountered. Ralph and Rocky will go out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable during your visit. Don't misunderstand, they won't encroach on your space either. As locals, they tell you all the best spots to visit on the island, they've even created their own professional map of the island. The accommodation itself is cozy, new appliances, and they've recently just purchased a brand new bbq. Easy access to beaches, short drive to the markets, and the hikes. I'm the kind of guy who likes to go out during the day doing adventure things but really be able to return home to a clean, cozy, comfortable place..and their cottages are exactly that. Bonus, Rocky (Veronica), bakes the best carrot cake in the universe, and she delivered to us the first night..(WHAT??) I devoured it after I was already full from dinner, and I don't even like carrot cakes (truth, I grew up in Asia, carrots don't go into cakes)

Definitely staying there again when we return to Galiano.

Peter

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sticks and Stones Country Cottages over a weekend in April. Ralph and Rocky where extremely accommodating and made our stay that much more enjoyable. We were shown all the beautiful areas of the island personally by the hosts and also generously given a couple of bikes to use to explore on our own! The weekend was beautiful and relaxing and a total getaway. You'd be crazy not to stay here for your visit to Galliano Island! Thanks Ralph and Rocky, and especially for the pickups to and from the ferry! xxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent Easter Weekend 2013 on Galiano Island, first timers!
The Cottage contained all the amenities and comfort you need and was a short walk to beach access. It was clean and the bed/pillows comfy!! Basic neccessities are available to you, but if off season you need to be a little more self contained.
We found travelling there before the May long weekend, there were not many "seasonal" things open, like farm markets, shopping.
The scenery and friendliness of the island will definately bring us back, and we would not hesitate to refer people to Sticks and Stones and Galiano Island in general.
Be prepared for all weather. as it did cool down when the sunset, and bring good footwear as there is premiere hiking to be had and views you will never forget!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our family spent four wonderful days in Arrow's Run and we can't stop thinking about this perfect getaway! There was so much space for 3 adults and 2 children (4 and 1 year) that we didn't mind that the beginning of our stay was quite rainy - we just stayed inside and relaxed, enjoying the bright, open concept living room and well equipped kitchen. Our older daughter loved exploring the "forrest" and garden and spent most of the time playing outside. Once the weather improved we walked to three wonderful beaches that are very close to the house, and we also explored the island based on Ralph's recommendations. We loved watching the seal colony from Galiano's charming little cemetery and enjoyed two picnic lunches on sandy beaches - what a treat in early March!
Thank you Ralph and Rocky, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Arbutus Grove Cottage for three nights and had a wonderful time. Our hosts, Ralph and Rocky Moyle, were friendly and helpful. They welcomed us off the BC Ferry from Tsawwassen (south of Vancouver) at Sturdies Bay ferry terminal on Galiano Island and drove us to the cottage. Along the way and on arrival at the cottage they pointed out all the places that might be of interest to us so that we would get the most out of our short stay. The cottage is set in a beautiful garden surrounded by trees and is 5 minutes walk from the nearest (rocky) beach. The cottage comprises a large and very comfortable living area with a dining area and kitchen and a large bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed. To the front of the cottage is an open deck area which we found ideal for breakfast, for an afternoon read or snooze or for a glass of wine in the evening. There's so much to do on Galiano Island - trails, bays, beaches and harbours to explore, art and craft galleries to visit and wildlife (deer, eagles, seals and orca) to watch. The only downside for us was ... we weren't able to stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here in mid-May for 3 nights while vacationing from SC and absolutely LOVED it! Ralph and Rocky made us feel so welcome and gave us some great tips on where to go, what to see. They even brougt us some fresh carrot cake one night and a cappuccino one morning! The cottage was in a great central location to see everything and Galiano Island is simply beautiful. The cottage itself had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. We are already discussing when we can return and we would absolutely recommend Sticks n Stones to anyone looking for a quiet getaway to this lovely island!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was the 2nd time that I have stayed at the Arbutus COttage, the first time was over 10 years ago and just like 10 years ago we were not disappointed in any way. Ralph and Rocky are truly the ideal hosts and under the concept of great guest service. The cottage was comfortable, clean and in a great location. I challenge anyone to find a fault in the accommodation or their hospitality. I have 18 years experience in the hospitality industry as well as have owned my own service business for the last 17 years and can identify, appreciate and respect great service. Many ppl in the service industry can learn from Rocky and Ralph.
Merl and Becky Reeve

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sticks and Stones Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sticks and Stones Country Cottages

Address: 300 Sticks Allison Road, British Columbia V0N1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sticks and Stones Cottages are located in a quiet wooded setting that is home to deer and 150+ types of birds. Arrows Run Cottage is 7 years old, modern and can accommodate 6-8 people. Arrow's Run Cottage has 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms and a loft (sleeps 6 comfortably and a very modern kitchen with refrigerator/freeze, microwave and dishwasher. Arbutus Grove Cottage is 500 sq. Ft with a master bedroom + ensuite bathroom and a pull out sofa,galley kitchen and wood fireplace (wood supplied)...Suitable for 2-4 people. Hiking trails and beach access are close at hand. HDTV is included in the rental of our cottages as is free WiFi. We can arrange a reduced rate if both cottages are rented by the same group (to accommodate a party of 8-10) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sticks and Stones Country Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.