We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear Cove Cottages in Port Hardy B.C. Canada.......outstanding hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Cove Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Cove Cottages
Save
You added Bear Cove Cottages to your Saves list
6715 Bear Cove Highway | Box 2351, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N2P0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Discounts
Vancouver Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bear Cove Cottages in Port Hardy B.C. Canada.......outstanding hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We've just returned yet again from a much needed rest away from "it all". We discovered Bear Cove Cottages a couple of years ago and have returned several times. It's a beautiful drive up Vancouver Island with amazing wildlife sightings on the way.
Not only do we appreciate the cozy cottages with the most comfortable beds and magnificent ocean views........it is the hospitality of it's owners that keeps us coming back. The Dayleys have gone out of their way for us each time we arrive and make our comfort their priority on a daily basis. The cleanliness is also very much appreciated!
The cottages are self-contained with a small kitchen so we're able to cook our own meals (if we want to).....we just have to bring our food. Sometimes we decide to treat ourselves and head to a local restaurant just a few minutes away.
It's such a quiet setting.......we have always enjoyed watching the eagles from our deck......a real treat for us city people! It's owners, Wade and Shannon, are long time residents and know the area so well. That's been very helpful in us getting information for our day trips. The ferry to Prince Rupert is just 2 minutes from them too and we found that really handy last year.
We'll go back again for sure and have recommended several friends and family members.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
25
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Our family has stayed at Bear Cove Cottages seven years in a row and have fished the waters around Port Hardy every trip. Wade & Shannon provide great accommodation, close to town but removed enough to be peaceful. The fully equipped cabins are new, clean, functional and provide a great view of the ocean.

We fish with Wade on his fabulous 25 foot Grady White and have had great success year after year. My wife, our twin daughters and I have all caught tyees along with lots of other salmon and bottom fish. We see whales, dolphins, porpoises, sea lions and seals. The bird life is amazing. Wade is outstanding as a guide and has great equipment on board. His six years of Coast Guard training gives us confidence when we’re out on the water and his upbringing in the area allows him to know the hot spots to fish. The lunch that Shannon provides is excellent and much appreciated. Bear Cove Cottages is a great set-up that makes our trip easy and enjoyable.

Would we go back again? Absolutely. We’ve already booked for this summer!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia WA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

My spouse and I traveled with 2 other couples who are long-time friends. We rented an RV space; they each rented a cottage. Both the RV site and the cottages were great. The cottages were clean and well equipped. A freezer was available for our fish and the boat moorage, while a short walk from the cottages, was secure and convenient. The aff were helpful and accomodating, and the cottages have a great view of Hardy Bay..

J. Rochelle
Olympia, WA

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Part of the fun of our dive weekend is returning to the cabins and turning on the fireplace and warming up after a day in the water. The cabins are clean and cozy, with comfortable beds, a full kitchen, all the amenities of home. The pictures and bear theme in the cabins are very West Coast. and create a nice ambience. The view from the front window of Port Hardy Bay is beautiful.

We travel as a group and usually take over 3 cabins. We have had such fun creating some pretty spectacular meals, the BBQ's are available for use, and enjoying the view of the bay as you are fine dining is a wonderful way to end the day. We have always appreciated the extra's that Wade (the owner) has done for us. From having no problems with late check in, accommodating a large group of divers (and all the gear) and late check out (much appreciated) and not minding us rearranging things while we are there, Bear Cove Cottages will stay in our travel plans for a long time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

My buddies and I have been staying at Bear Cove Cottages every summer for the past seven years. Just a few minutes drive from downtown Port Hardy and very close to ferry terminal. Nice, simple and clean cabins with kitchen. Wade and Shannon are the perfect hosts. Deep freeze available to keep your fish. If you need a place to stay with friends/family while you are in Port Hardy, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

My girlfriend and I had the opportunity to spend some time at this establishment this past fall and had a very good time. The cottage we stayed in was well kept and had a kitchenette in it, which was nice as there is no restaurant on site (There are a number of places to eat in Pt. Hardy, which is a few minutes away by car).

The highlight of my trip was a day on the water fishing for bottom fish. This was chartered by the cottage owners. The weather was perfect for our day of fishing and the other anglers and I had a ball limiting out on Halibut and coming close to our limit of Red Snapper. (The charter will also arrange to have your fish filleted, vacuum sealed, and frozen upon request. A very nice option if you don't want your luggage to smell like your catch!)

As my girlfriend isn't much for fishing, or boating so she enjoyed the day doing a bit of shopping in Pt. Hardy and relaxing around the cottages. The views around which are quite picturesque.

If you're looking for something out of the way that has the potential to be exhillarating, and scerene, with no big city distractions. Then we would reccomend checking out bear cove cottages.

Thanks.

J & B.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

The cabins are comfortable and cozy with views of the ocean and the Ferry coming and going. Wade and Shannon are wonderfull hosts. Wade's fishing charters are guarenteed to catch your limit. The area is nature at it's best!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Cove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Cottages

Address: 6715 Bear Cove Highway | Box 2351, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N2P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove Cottages is located 1km from the Ferry termial. We specialize in saltwater fishing packages, ecotours and whale watching. All of our cottages over look Hardy Bay and are equipt with hydrotherapy tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and wireless internet.Stay tuned for outdoor Wellness Spa ,coming Spring 2014 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Cottages Hotel Port Hardy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Cove Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.