We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and educational visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre

Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre
8400 Byng Road, Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Port Hardy
Type: Educational Sites, Specialty Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leap in to Salmon’s World at the Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre! Explore, play and learn in our unique interpretive gallery featuring all things salmon. Take a guided tour of a working salmon hatchery and talk to knowledgeable staff about this amazing, iconic creature. A visit to the Salmon Centre is a fun and educational experience for all ages!The Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre, Quatse River Hatchery, and Quatse River Campground are operated by the Northern Vancouver Island Salmonid Enhancement Association. All proceeds fund salmon conservation efforts on Northern Vancouver Island.
North Saanich, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our visit on August 23, 2013. The interpretive centre is an excellent source of information about the life of the salmon and the role of the hatchery, especially for kids. A very knowledgeable staff member gave us a tour of the facilities with a full explanation of how the fish are raised and returned to the river. It was a real highlight of our visit to Port Hardyfor our 7-year old grandson

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSalmonCentre, Manager at Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you Islander8869 for sharing your thoughts on the Quatse Salmon Centre. We are so pleased that you and your grandson enjoyed your visit and hope you will come back to see us if you are ever in Port Hardy again.

Kind Regards,
Quatse Salmon Centre Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“don't miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

1st day if the season that they were open and some exhibits not complete but the info from the attendants when we visited the pools and hatchery was fantastic - do not miss it

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hour self & guide tour, interesting & informative!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Informative, educational. Cheap. Located right at Campground where we stayed which was great also, walking distance to downtown via walking trails 20 - 30 minutes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stretch your legs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a super little (20 min.) walk through the woods and over the stream. Easy access from the highway so a good place to walk before driving back down Island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a lovely little gem in a beautiful setting just outside Port Hardy. I am a salmon nut so I had to check this out. Great displays both inside and out. Friendly, enthusiastic, knowledgeable staff with great pride in their facility and what they are doing. Gift shop has something for everybody - awesome selection of Ray Troll shirts. Host your meeting there, have your kids birthday party - they guys can do it! Feels good to support a place like this.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre also viewed

 
Port Hardy, Vancouver Island
Port Hardy, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.