We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quarterdeck Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quarterdeck Inn to your Saves list
Quarterdeck Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6555 Hardy Bay Rd., Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hardy
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good accommodation and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights. Accommodation was all as advertised for our 2 queen bed room with kitchen but everything was packed into a smaller space than I'd anticipated so that there was little space around the beds and between them and the kitchenette. We slept well, no noise disturbance and good black out from the blinds. We had breakfast at the adjoining pub as part of our package and the food was great. Our orders were taken promptly and we were served drinks while we waited 45minutes for our cooked food. Our waiter was rushed off her feet working on her own that morning and things were much improved the following morning when there were two staff on. The atmosphere was always warm and friendly and staff were helpful. We'd had a disconcerting run of difficulties trying to secure the booking by phone so it was a relief when everything worked out well for our actual trip. We'd stay again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was given a quiet room on the 3rd floor overlooking the marina. The beds were comfortable, room was kept very clean by staff. Breakfast vouchers ensured a good breakfast to go to work on. Breakfast opened at 7 so it was good that I didn't have an early start to the day. A sea lion barked from midnight to the wee hours every day. Suppers at the restaurant were tasty and reasonable. Front desk staff were warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor are not very quiet or private, choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had the opportunity to stay here, but only for one night. I was very happy with the hotel and the value. IMHO, you can;t go wrong here. Free WIFI and a decent breakfast option make this a no brainer. Clean hotel, good staff, No negative issues whatsoever. Thank you to the QDI.

Room Tip: great Marina view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I was honestly not expecting much in a small remote town, but was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very large with comfy beds. Everything was very clean and updated. They accommodated our dog for a minimal $10 charge. I wasn't in love with the location of our lower floor room overlooking the parking lot (car noise, bright streetlights, and couldn't open the blinds due to lack of privacy) However, I expect that they have certain rooms set aside for dogs, so we did not complain or asked to be moved. If you can, ask for a room on the marina side with a view. Even the lobby coffee was surprisingly good!

Room Tip: Request room on marina side for view other than parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I was a little skeptical based on the restaurant condition but the rooms are great. Just like a big city hotel. Very clean and comfortable. I look forward to staying there again and despite the ratty carpeting the food in the restaurant is excellent

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Our travel agent in England presented The Quarterdeck as the best of a not very exciting set of options, so we weren't expecting much. In the event the reception staff were lovely, the room was large, comfortable and well provided and the view over the harbour was engaging; we were surprised and pleased.
The only snag, of course, was that we were staying there in order to pick up the ferry to Prince Rupert and, because our room was about as near to the pub as it could possibly be, our hopes of an early night were not realised. The noise stopped at about midnight, which is fair enough for the rest of the world but not when you're rising at 5 am. It's quite a large hotel and I guess there were rooms at the other end of it which would have been less disturbed by the noise. I'd go again to the Quarterdeck - it's a good hotel - but I'd choose my room with care.
We didn't eat supper or breakfast at the hotel so my not commenting on the food is not significant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We had a lovely room that was clean, comfortable, but could be improved upon. The beds were a little too firm for our taste. The view was blocked by the meeting room which seemed a shame, as it was quite a large hotel which had very few guests, so we would have thought an effort would have been made to give us a room with a view, considering we came all the way from Australia. There was no bar fridge in the room which was annoying. TV station options pretty poor. Free wifi was offered which was great and free onsite parking for convenience. Great access to laundry next door which was affordable and convenient. The hotel is a little out of town, but only a short drive or longer walk if you feel up to it. The staff were fabulous and made us and our dog feel very welcome and comfortable. The small pub next door served great food for dinner and the staff were so lovely and took a lot of time to stop and chat and give us information and tips about the town. Breakfast was offered next door, but it was a set menu for hotel guests which was very average. A shame we did not get the choice to pick from pub menu. I think the hotel is a little over priced for what you get. I understand from the locals that the hotel has been brought out by some chinese conglomerate and pushed the prices of the rooms up at least $40.00. Lets hope they learn quickly and make some adjustment as it could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view as the views from the back of the hotel could be quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quarterdeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarterdeck Inn

Address: 6555 Hardy Bay Rd., Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quarterdeck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quarterdeck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarterdeck Hotel Port Hardy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarterdeck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.