We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ye Olde Royal Oak, Wetton - super pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

The Royal Oak Inn
Wetton, Wetton, Peak District National Park DE6 2AF, England
+44 1335 310287
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wetton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ye Olde Royal Oak, Wetton - super pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great pub with good local beer, excellent food and pleasant service. The landlord took on the pub 3 months ago and is making a good job of it, giving our group of 11 walkers a warm welcome. Food service was rapid and exceeded expectations.

The Royal Oak was our best pub in a week of walking the Peak District.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    36
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Second visit and very much better than the first last year. New management and such an improvement. Service is friendly and choice of food caters for all tastes and prompty served. good choice of drinks for every type of thirst

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic birthday celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

24 of us filled the pub for my brother's 60th birthday celebration. Staff went to a lot of trouble to ensure it was a special evening, lighting candles, decorations etc. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Staff are really friendly and informative. Stopped here to have lunch after a walk in Wetton. We all had a beef roast dinner, it was lovely but the gravy was a little salty. Definitely worth a visit though and the owner was friendly and helpful. The waitress was also very nice.

Thanks for a lovely lunch!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“oustanding service and good beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Myself and three friends stopped at the Royal Oak whilst out walking in the national park. The landlord was incredibly welcoming and the food and beer were excellent and reasonably priced. What impressed us most was the service- we actually wanted to watch the 6 Nations rugby over lunch and the old T.V which the landlord had recently inherited was not working- however, on seeing our disappointment he actually fetched his own T.V downstairs to the pub so we could watch the game!! I have rarely experienced such a friendly and welcoming landlord- superb.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
 
Crowdecote, Peak District National Park
Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.