We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT—& DEEP IN HISTORY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shirley Hall Farm

Shirley Hall Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shirley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shirley Hall Farm
Save
You added Shirley Hall Farm to your Saves list
Shirley DE6 3AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Shirley B&B and Inns
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT—& DEEP IN HISTORY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Splendid place. With a history going back to the Crusades (1100s or so) and before. The local pub in Shirley Village, provides a reminder—Saracen's Head. Crusaders did a good bit of carnage of course. Saracens were on the receiving end—but not always. I looked for a 'Crusader's Head' pub, but was unsuccessful. ...All the English wars and conflicts—domestic, foreign and Civil War—had links with/ impact upon this locale. ...As for the B&B aspect; others in their TripAdvisor reviews have summed it up well. For my wife and I it was, regrettaqbly, only an overnight stay. Hostess Ruth Crabtree, a County lady and proper Countrywoman, gives class a good name. Really puts herself out for her guests. Lived here all her life—with a break—she is a fount of useful info and guidance. The Crabtree Home Farmhouse—which this is—was altogether a special treat. Special place and special lady. I shall hope to return for longer on a future trip.

" "
Dr. M. Vickers,
East Grinstead,
West Sussex
UNITED KINGDOM

E-mail: <mvickers@mvickers.plus.com

Room Tip: Saw and used only one room. Roomy, comfortable, fully kitted out. All fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a brief, but lovely stay at Shirley Hall Farm last week. The house is from the Tudor period, set in lovely grounds with rolling hills & frams animals all round. The farm is only 5 mins drive from Ashbourne. We were welcomed on arrival by a bouncing Dalmatian, and then by Ruth the owner. We only stayed for 1night, but had a very large room with wonderful views of the fields. The room was decorated and furrnished in keeping with the style of the house, it's a shame that our stay was so short. The next morning we had a hearty breakfast, pus a choice or fruit and cereal. The dining room has a large window, again with views of the fields. If we are in the area again we would definitely choose Shirley Hall Farm, and also make time to check out the local pub which looked lovely. Thanks also to Ruth for returning the mobile phone charger that we left in our room. Paul

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, both are large with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

There is no point in my duplicating the review by Bernard S. I confirm everything he writes.We were delighted with our stay and our hosts were very welcoming. It is the oldest room we have even slept in! I'd also confirm that dining at the Saracen's Head was excellent - so good to be able to stroll out to one's evening meal and then stroll back again. The history of the village is available at B&B and includes a stroll through and around the village. It's a good location for exploring the area - many lovely areas to visit, particularly Dovedale.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The three things that make Ruth Crabtree and her family's Shirley Hall Farm a standout among the B&B's we experienced in five weeks in England are:
1. WARM HOSPITALITY
2. A SPACIOUS ROOM
3. MAGICAL AMBIANCE
Ruth's care and attention - and her customised breakfasts - make you feel welcome and very much at home. She even enlisted her mum's help to track down some family history which saved us a huge amount of work and for which we were very thankful. The first floor room, with its own en-suite, splendid wardrobe, TV, ultra plush armchairs and dressing table was by far the largest and most comfortable of any which we encountered. The huge bed was wonderfully soft and sleep inducing. The ambiance was enhanced by the magical view from the window out over pastured fields, with three horses grazing contentedly beyond the hedge and the golden glow of rape crops in the distance. The grounds and surrounds abounded with bird life, including plump Partridges, rabbits and dogs. The farm was an ideal base for tracking down the relics of family history a stone's throw away in picturesque little Shirley Village. Parking was no problem, and the food down the road at The Saracen's Head, was gastro-pub style delicious. Suffice it to say we enjoyed our stay so much that, after four glorious days, we were not only sad but reluctant to leave. My wife and I will both recommend this rural B&B to mature people who want to experience what seemed to us the best of rural England.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

we have stayed here for 4 days, breakfast is excellent, room excellent. I would recommend this bed and breakfast as it had everything you could want. The village and surrounding areas are beautiful. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have stayed here a number of times and always find a warm welcome from Ruth.
The location is excellent for exploring the Peak District...
If you are visiting for the area for the first time the walk at Dovedale is not to be missed.
Ashbourne is close by and has a selection of Antique shops.
The two rooms , one a twin and the other a double are both large , lovingly furnished and the beds are very comfortable.
Very quiet location , had a great nights sleep.
The full english breakfasts are delicious and ample with local produce used and cooked on the aga.
The local pub (Saracens Head) is a short 10 minute walk away and serves fantastic food and drink (make sure you book in advance as it gets busy especially at weekends) and take a torch for the walk back !
We will return again.

Room Tip: Double or Twin - both good , depends on sleeping arrangements !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed here for only one night whilst on business. Could easily have been tempted to stay a week.
I was greetd warmly at the front door and shown to my room. The room was exceedingly large, with a nice en-suite. The room had everything you could want, including a very comfortable bed. I had the best nights sleep I have had for a long time, as it was so quiet. I ate at the local pub/restaurant where you get a first clas meal. The lady of the house is an excellent hostess. Try this place for peace, comfort and luxury.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shirley Hall Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hall Farm

Address: Shirley DE6 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shirley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shirley
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shirley Hall Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.