We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn Indian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Barn Indian Restaurant
Stubby Lane, Draycott in the Clay ST14 8LC, England
01283 820367
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great evening with Friends. Food good. Service good. Friendly and enjoyable. A great place to have a better than average meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    10
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Modern Resturaunt - lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Attended last night for a hen party. The staff were really friendly, and the Resturaunt is set in lovely grounds with fish ponds. We were with a party of 19 and the chef cooked three different currys and served us with poppadoms, pickles, rice, Naans etc and a few people chose the English choice from the menu. The drinks were really reasonably priced too. Double house vodka like and soda was £3. After we ate we all moved to the sofas to finish our drinks and have a chat. Food was really nice! Especially the spinach with garlic! Yum!! I would definitely go and eat here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almeria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exotic cuisine in the heart of the country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A lovely restaurant with pleasant ambiance and unexpected food delights. The dishes are individually prepared and presented with style and elegance. The flavours are subtle yet pervasive and the king prawns are exactly as claimed, large, fresh, delicious. I had the tandoori prawns and was amazed by the unusual delicacy of this dish. My companions had various items from the menu and no one was disappointed. A real treat and the pleasant country surroundings are restful, while only a short drive from the bustle of the towns.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Forestside Farm Caravan Park who recommended The Barn. We duly checked out the menu online and placed a take away order. Delivery was within an hour which was good going seeing as it was peak time on a Saturday night. The food was exceptional! The portions were more than generous and delicious to the eye as well as mouth. We shared the vegetarian mixed starter and I tried the Massalla Ghost, which was tender lamb in a thick, spicy but extremely tasty sauce, my other half had the Chicken Tikka Massalla, his usual, which met with his agreement! A vegetable pilau rice and a garlic nan (this was on the menu as garlic and tomato but they were more than happy to omit the tomato) finished off the meal. We are planning on going back to the farm so that we can sample The Barn again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been many times and each time the food is excellent and freshly prepared.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn Indian Restaurant also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Barn Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.