We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riddings Park Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kniveton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riddings Park Farm
Save
You added Riddings Park Farm to your Saves list
Knivetonwood, Kniveton DE6 1JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Kniveton B&B and Inns
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oh dear!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

All I can say is, that it is nothing like the impression given on the website!! The yurts were clean and tidy, but the rest of the facilities did not live up to expectations. Very disappointing, although the owners did try to make our stay enjoyable by offering alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have just returned from a surprise 2 night stay in 'Poppy' - a lovely, spacious yurt. We had a great time and would highly recommend a stay at Riddings Farm. The yurts are perfect with all the space you'll possibly need right on the farm with roaming chickens, peacocks and other farm life.

I was there on my birthday and not only did Beryl remember, when having breakfast she made a point of putting a singing candle on my breakfast making me feel rather special - nice touch, thank you.

My only gripe with our stay is that upon our arrival the BBQ was missing from our Yurt. As this was a surprise stay my other half had planned to cook on this for our dinner that night, breakfast for the morning and dinner in the evening and had all the food prepared and ready. When we asked Peter about the BBQ he seemed rather put out that we would like it and said that it "required cleaning" and he'll "sort it out for us". Unfortunately it wasn't made available that night or indeed the next morning, only arriving at some point the following day. We got round this by taking the burner from inside and placed it on the table outside but was a little disappointed that we had to do this.

However, I'd happily stay here again and other that the above, felt very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a wonderful week here staying in Cowslip Yurt. Children aged 5yrs and 11yrs really enjoying looking after all the farm animals and Beryl and Peter were wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel very comfortable. An excellent base for exploring the Peak District, Tissington trail and Carsington are very close. A unique experience, would definatly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We hired all 4 Yurts and the family room in the B&B for a birthday celebratory weekend, 10 adults and 10 children. The Yurts had every amenity you would wish for and were clean and spacious. Beryl, Peter and all the staff made us feel very welcome, allowing the children to interact with the animals, they even provide toys for the children to ride on (small bicycles, tractors etc). There is an outdoor swimming pool and breakfast at the farm is a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay and Beryl and Peter are generous, thoughtful hosts. We stayed in Poppy (a yurt) and had a magical three days. Our three kids (6, 4 and 2) loved the farm. It is such a relaxed, safe environment. They made ready use of the freely provided bikes, trikes and ride on (kids) tractors. They imposed themselves as "helpers" to Beryl at feeding time and were seen trailing after her like three chicks after their mother. Pigs, chickens, geese, rabbits and ponies all benefited from their enthusiastic feeding. The yurt was a great balance of almost-camping but with more space and a few comforts (wood-burning stove, beds) that made all the difference on a first outing. We found great days out locally: Carsington Water, Thorpe Cloud and the stepping stones in Dovedale and the National Tram Museum. But there are many more for our next visit - when I am sure Peter and Beryl will again offer great hospitality and great advice.

Room Tip: Four yurts: Cowslip nearest to the farm house, Bluebell (sleeps 7/8 - others 4) and Foxglove in a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family stayed in the Hayloft at the Farm last month.We had a wonderful time.Beryl and Peter were so kind and helpful .They could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable.
The accomodation is in a converted farm building which has been very well done.You are part of the Rarebreeds Farm and can see all the fascinating animals outside the windows and hear them call to each other and feed.Its such fun for children and adults alike.Peter said that once they saw the animals the children didnt want to leave.They love feeding the chickens rabbits and goats and others too numerous to mention ! We had a lovely time and we cant wait to return and spend more time with all the animals.The pigs are wonderful !
The Everitts from Suffolk

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coye la Foret
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked last minute on a whim with Riddings Park Farm, for my husband and two children.
We're so glad we went here. The yurt was incredibly comfortable with everything you needed. We particularly liked the solar powered fairy lights that meant you were never in the dark when the sun set (you can turn them off if you like too). The log burner is cosy and the gas stove means you can cook even when the logburner is not burning. With a proper double bed, two single camp beds, a table and four chairs, you still don't feel the yurt to be overcrowded. And we were in the smaller yurt.
The children absolutely adored the place with so many animals to hang around with, watch, feed...we felt very happy to let them go off exploring.
Beryl and Peter are really great hosts, as in previous reviews I would say that you are not treated as a guest with money to spend but as a returning friend, their level of generosity and trust is brilliant. They obviously enjoy the animals and you can tell that Beryl in particular is really happy for the children to ask as much as they want and to be involved with the animals (and my children had endless questions....!).They have set up a great educational space with examples of different animal feeds and information about all the animals, rare breeds and other wildlife that you will find around the farm.
It is an early start, with the cockerels and can be cold unless your logburning skills mean your fire burns through the night, but the facilities are very clean and extensive and everything has been planned and built with real consideration and forethought.
We felt very relaxed there and really enjoyed our first yurt experience, much of this due to Beryl and Peter. Their belief in their project and obvious love of nature makes for a peaceful, interesting stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riddings Park Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riddings Park Farm

Address: Knivetonwood, Kniveton DE6 1JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Kniveton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kniveton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riddings Park Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.