We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality food, great value and brilliant service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle Mayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Save
You added The Rose and Crown to your Saves list
Middle Mayfield, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food, great value and brilliant service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Rose and Crown. The food is ALWAYS excellent, superbly cooked and presented. They do the best steaks in the area and the Sunday lunches are wonderful. Delicious fresh and locally sourced produce. Such good value.
The wines are really good as is the organic lager. The service is efficient.
Only one slight criticism, the Pedigree is good, but it would be nice to have one or two local real ales available to sample.
This is a seriously good pub for food, top quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

There are many great aspects to the wonderful rose and crown and here are just a few:
-a warm welcome
-great food thank you! :D
-friendly service
-very fun and enjoyable
-overall amazing place!!
Thank you for an amazing stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had dinner at this pub several years ago (my husband and I, his mother aged 95 and my adult daughter). We were smartly dressed and expected a good experience . Our allocated table (we had booked) was away from the main restaurant area along a passageway next to the toilets and it was cold. There were only 2 tables here and a family with young children were at the other. When we requested a change we were treated with great discourtesy and eventually, we were sqaushed into a space next to the entrance door in the bar. Although the food was fine, we decided against going there again. However, last weekend (Bank Holiday) we (my husband, mother-in law and I) decided to give it another go at lunchtime as our original choice was absolutely full and we were told there would be a long wait (45 minutes). The Rose & Crown was empty. There were 4 tables occupied and we were assured that as they were not busy there would not be an appreciable wait. The young woman at the bar was friendly and helpful. However, we waited 40 minutes for our lunch - mine was a vegetarian dish and my mother-in-law just had soup. It was served by an older woman who virutally threw the food down on the table. She was surly and uncommunicative. When my husband asked for mustard, she was begruding and although she came and enquired if the food was OK she seemed to resent having to do so. When my husband went to pay, he asked her the name of the young woman at the bar. The older woman would not tell him. Instead she said 'why, what have I done?' My husband replied that he did not have time to engage in such a discussion, at which she responded 'I came and asked if the food was all right didn't I?'. Needless to say, we will definitely not be returning to this pub. We expect courtesy and decent service when we go out for a meal. We are friendly people and have no difficulty (normally) in engaging with others on an equal footing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Rose and Crown is close to my parents' house and always a favourite when we go back to visit. The food is locally sourced, generously portioned and always delicious, plus is excellent value. Service is always friendly and efficient. In fact I wish there was a R&C closer to home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a Friday and Saturday night whilst on a walking weekend in the peaks. This makes an excellent base. Rooms are comfortable, welcome is warm and the food is truly first class. Already booked our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We dined at the rose and crown with my Dad on Easter Sunday. As always the food was consistently excellent - Danny is a superb chef - quality of the food is always top class and the menu is always varied to suit everyones tastes and dietary requirements. The staff are always efficient and friendly and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. I cannot recommend this restaurant more highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Came in for a bite on Tue night. There were a couple of other tables in. It was very quiet and the service wasn't exactly smily. But on the other hand the food was brilliant. I had pasta and my partner had stroganoff. It looked and tasted delicious. This is a local for me so we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Middle Mayfield, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Middle Mayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Middle Mayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown is situated in a village 2 miles from Ashbourne and 10 minutes drive from Alton Towers. We are a freehold, family-run business, with a focus on excellent food and drink and professional service in a friendly environment. Our guest accommodation comprises of 1 family room (children are welcome in the bar) or 3 double bedrooms, all of which have en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Middle Mayfield
The Rose And Crown Middle Mayfield, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.