We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent food at great prices. A local favourite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle Mayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Save
You added The Rose and Crown to your Saves list
Middle Mayfield, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food at great prices. A local favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Rose and Crown is close to my parents' house and always a favourite when we go back to visit. The food is locally sourced, generously portioned and always delicious, plus is excellent value. Service is always friendly and efficient. In fact I wish there was a R&C closer to home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a Friday and Saturday night whilst on a walking weekend in the peaks. This makes an excellent base. Rooms are comfortable, welcome is warm and the food is truly first class. Already booked our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We dined at the rose and crown with my Dad on Easter Sunday. As always the food was consistently excellent - Danny is a superb chef - quality of the food is always top class and the menu is always varied to suit everyones tastes and dietary requirements. The staff are always efficient and friendly and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. I cannot recommend this restaurant more highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Came in for a bite on Tue night. There were a couple of other tables in. It was very quiet and the service wasn't exactly smily. But on the other hand the food was brilliant. I had pasta and my partner had stroganoff. It looked and tasted delicious. This is a local for me so we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at The Rose and Crown for 1 night recently. Clean, comfortable room and excellent breakfast. The food we ate downstairs in the restaurant was really good and couldn't fault Danny and Henrietta for their service. A few of the waitresses could have been a little friendlier but other than that we had a really nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed recently for 3 nights during the cold & snow spell.
Danny & Henrietta are fabulous hosts & we were made to feel very welcome. We were the only guests over this period, but nothing was too much trouble.
The room we had was small but very clean & comfortable. Lovely bed & sheets! Great shower for after our walks. There was a heater supplied which we did use.
The pub food is amazing! Big emphasis on local produce, great choice. Such good value as well. My belgian chocolate brioche pudding was out of this world!
The wine list is very good value - plenty of choice around 12.95.
Wifi was intermittent, but Danny kindly let us use his laptop to plan a few trips. I think this is a BT problem rather than the pub.
Overall, I would definately recommend this pub.
My only downside would be that it doesn't open until 6.30 which can leave a little gap in the day when returning from winter walks around 4.30.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We called at the Rose & Crown for Lunch

The staff were very friendly. The Food was good with added taste - not your average pub food. The sauces were very lifting.

Price was reasonable - especially the wine, with good bottles at reasonable prices

The only negative comment would be that the dining room is large, maybe a little dark and on the day we visited, it wasn't quite warm enough

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Middle Mayfield, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Middle Mayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Middle Mayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown is situated in a village 2 miles from Ashbourne and 10 minutes drive from Alton Towers. We are a freehold, family-run business, with a focus on excellent food and drink and professional service in a friendly environment. Our guest accommodation comprises of 1 family room (children are welcome in the bar) or 3 double bedrooms, all of which have en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Middle Mayfield
The Rose And Crown Middle Mayfield, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.