We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle Mayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Save
You added The Rose and Crown to your Saves list
Middle Mayfield, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

More a restaurant than the pub we were expecting so not much of a 'bar' for before or after dinner drinks but the service was excellent and the food even better. Great choice, good value and couldn't fault any part of it. As a previous reviewer said rooms could do with a bit of a touch up but are comfortable and fine for pub rooms. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bures
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with friends, rooms were clean and pleasant although would benefit from a makeover. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and breakfast were very nice served by Jean, a lovely lady. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and could not fault anything, it was a lovely meal. I would definately recommend the Rose & Crown for a meal or short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in September as a short break trip to the Peak District.
Hosts very pleasant. Room was very clean with comfortable bed and a reasonable sized shower room. Breakfasts were well cooked. All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Evening menu had pleanty of variety and all meals we ate were superbly presented, with excellent taste and texture - all local produce I believe. On one eventing several Morgan owning friends joined us for dinner and all thoroughly enjoyed their meals and drinks.
One real ale on draught - very well kept Marstons Pedigree. Good selection of wines and some interesting whiskies.
Would we go back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Whilst staying at Mayfield Hall we booked a meal in the restaurant of this pub. The meal was excellent and I would recommend it for evening meals and lunch.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We visited this place back in May for a Saturady evening meal and were so taken with the character of the place, the warm welcome and the top notch food, we decided to use it as our base for our 3 day trip to the peaks. We were not disappointed. The rooms were basic but clean and more than served the purpose. Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room, en suite shower, really comfortable bed, flat screen TV - everything you needed. The food on both nights was superb as was the friendly service. A full english Breakfast was included in the price which was excellent value. We'll definitely be using The Rose and Crown on future walking breaks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely country inn. The rooms were great, complete with en suite shower and toilet, TV, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. We enjoyed eating both nights in the oak beamed dining room, where the ambiance was only bettered by the magnificent food, and not over-priced. It is a family run establishement and the proprietors couldn't be more friendly and welcoming. The inn is well situated, as it is only a short drive to Dovedale, ideal for walkers, and main attraftions like Chatsworth and Haddon Hall among others, and lovely villages such as Bakewell and Matlock Bath.

I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a meal here on a recent holiday and the food was amongst the best we've had in a long while. My husband ordered fillet steak which was cooked to perfection and extremely tender and flavoursome. I had salmon which was wonderful - finished with a lime and herb topping. The desserts too were delicious. In addition the staff were friendly and knowledegable, the decor fresh and appealing and the prices very reasonable - what's not to like!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Middle Mayfield, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Middle Mayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Middle Mayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown is situated in a village 2 miles from Ashbourne and 10 minutes drive from Alton Towers. We are a freehold, family-run business, with a focus on excellent food and drink and professional service in a friendly environment. Our guest accommodation comprises of 1 family room (children are welcome in the bar) or 3 double bedrooms, all of which have en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Middle Mayfield
The Rose And Crown Middle Mayfield, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.