We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Newton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Newton House Hotel to your Saves list
Newton House Hotel
Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We purchased the hotel through a Groupon deal as a one night break a few months ago. The photos on the website looked great and was perfect location for the Tissington Trail, we were looking forward to the night away.

Prior to going we made numerous phone calls to try and book a room but nobody ever answered, we had to do everything through email.

Upon arrival we made our way to the reception and were greeted by some guy who made us feel like we were a hindrance to him and he couldn't wait to get rid of us and show us our room. It all seemed very rushed and an effort.

It was in February and was a very cold day but when we got in our room we discovered it was warmer outside. The radiator was on but you couldn't tell and later at night it went off. There was mould in one corner of the ceiling. The bathroom was lovely but even colder than the bedroom. The shower wasn't the best but was adequate. The room on the whole was clean but very cold.

Breakfast was continental and was as expected but the dining room was cold.

Hardly any staff around, however there was a very friendly cat.

If we'd paid full price for the stay we would have been very unhappy but as it was a cheap Groupon offer I guess we got what we paid for but left very disappointed, it was nothing like what we expected from seeing the website.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    99
    72
    32
    36
See reviews for
46
164
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We took advantage of a Groupon deal and spent a couple of days at Newton House. We received a very warm welcome, and after booking in we were shown around and then led to our room. The room was warm and spacious with a large corner shower en-suite. The bed was very comfortable, whch was just what we needed after a long drive. As we were aware there was no evening food available, so we took a short 10 minute drive to the Jug and Glass along the main road, where the food was home prepared and served very well. A big thank you will go to them. When we got back to Newton House we found the bar to be open, so I enjoyed a bottle of Hobgoblin, and Sue a large rose. Very friendly service, and plenty of seats to enable us to relax and chat to some other guests. The hotel is adjacent to the Tissington Trail, so we took a shortt walk down to Tissington, backtracked a bit and took some footpaths across the valley, over the hill to teh Sycamore in Parwich. Another excellent find, complete with Old Tom (8.5%) on draught - excellent. So after a bite to eat and 21/2 pints of Old Tom, I managed to navigate the short walk back to Newton House, with numerous stops to review the map!! A cold buffet style breakfast was served each morning, which was more than adequate for our needs. A big thank you to all those people that made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had room 17 which was at the back of the hotel away from the road, so we were treated to 2 very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tean, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

we have just come back from a £59 groupon 2 night deal the hotel is a lovely place in a lovely spot but is not being used to its full potential good points loaction ,rooms superb ,sitting room and local info good ,bad points no hot food on offer at all if you have been ouy walking all day the last thing you want to do is have to go out to get a meal and nothing really within 5 miles would not take a lot of effort to put on some basic fare or bar meals, cold for this time of year big fireplaces in sitting room but no fires in , and very little for children to do in the evening they have 3 rooms downstairs that are not really doing anything one could quite easily be made into a games or family room with a tv or dvd player in no tv downstairs att all you had to watch tv in your room not very social would stay again on groupon deal but would feel robbed if i had paid full price found the breakfast very basic no fresh fruit or such as you would normally get on continental breakfast pretty poor really and cheap brands food as well no insight given for the likes of diabetics or veggies but really the lack of hot food was the biggest letdown

Room Tip: one in the main house apparently are a lot warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent two nights there, no cooked breakfast bit disappointed but the continental was surprisingly well catered for.Initial atmosphere was not very welcoming and shown to the room.The staff we met later were very polite and helpful.Security seemed not a priority and outside doors were never locked over night.Room was extremely clean and ironed sheets and a comfortable bed,Large patches of damp were on the ceiling which got worse in the cubboard which we did not use.Heating went of early and came on late which left us hudled in bed as long as possible.I feel as we had paid through Groupon and had the reductioin we could overlook the negative points but would have been unhappy if we had paid the full amount.Very well positioned for all amenities and we had some lovely views from our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights February half-term, got the deal via Groupon. Wasn't expecting much given all the negative reviews on here and comments about no hot water and heating going off at 4pm - well we never experienced this!

We stayed in 2 adjacent rooms (family of 4) - cottages 31-33. The rooms were lovely, one was a double room with ensuite shower and the other room was a twin and had ensuite as well as a lounge area with settee. We had 3 TVs via the 2 rooms, towels, toiletries and tea-making equipment. We was extremely surprised that our rooms were cleaned and made up again the 1st morning which was nice.

The breakfast was adequate, it was what it said - continental. The House itself was beautiful and we made use of the 3 lounge rooms (there is also a sun room) that were available to us, playing dominoes, chess and entertaining the cat!

The rooms were both clean and the heating did not go off till around 930/10pm, and yes it was a little cold during the night (in the cottages/stables), but there was also extra blankets in our wardrobes should we have wanted to use them.

We took our own wine, snacks, hot chocs, soups for the room/lounge area, and we also went to Stepping Stones pub in Ashbourne which was lovely, and the fish n chip shop in AShbourne.

Never looked out back where the Tissington Trail is, but was ideal situ for Dovedale and surrounding areas (inc Alton Towers).

We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: We had 31-33 in the cottages (a double and twin with lounge) and used them as a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Newton House for 2 nights for £59 on the groupon deal and it had a pleasant stay.
We had booked into a double room and took our own travel cot for our 2 year old son who stayed at no extra cost. On arrival we were shown to our room (21) which exceeded our expectations, the room was large with a seperate room with a single bed and a modern bathroom that looked as though it had only recently been refurbished.
The furniture was dated but the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a lovely view from the window.
The continental breakfast was self service between 8am and 9am and was perfectly adequate.
We had excellent food at the Bluebell Inn and Bentley Brook during our stay.
Hotel is in a great location for exploring the Peak District.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not a bad hotel overall. Room was freezing on the first night. My husband had to sleep with his wooly hat on! Second night was better as the room had warmed slightly. Good size room and very clean.

Little to be said about breakfast. It was a standard continental.

What the hotel really lacks is anything to do in the evening. There is a bar which was closed and no food offered other than breakfast.

There are a few pubs within a couple of miles. We went to The Bluebell Inn and had a really nice meal.

It is ideally situated for trips to Ashbourne, Bakewell, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House Hotel

Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newton House is located in the glorious Peak District countryside, with our own direct access to The Tissington Trail. Ideal for walkers, cyclists, and other outdoor enthusiasts, we welcome singles, couples, families, and groups. With a large function room opening out onto our glorious gardens, Newton House is ideal for sole occupancy group hire and events. With easy access to all the prime Peak District attractions, our location is second to none, and an ideal base from which to tour the area. Free onsite parking for residents. Local bus service from door.Wi-Fi available in some areas,reading and information room onsite.Tariffs quoted include Bed & Breakfast per room, and evening meals for groups can be ordered by pre-arrangement. Under new management, we take customer service seriously, and will do our very best to ensure you have an enjoyable, relaxing stay, and will want to return again & again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Newton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Alsop En Le Dale, Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.