We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Newton House Hotel to your Saves list
Newton House Hotel
Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
doncaster
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beautiful location, lovely hotel with great staff to go with it. We stayed here for 2 nights while going to Alton Towers for a day. The Hotel is only about 15mins away from Alton Towers, so made the trip very relaxing. The Hotel itself was possibly a little tired, but very clean and facilities were great. Would stay again if ever need to!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton House D, Front Office Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    99
    72
    32
    36
See reviews for
46
164
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

very pleasant stay despite lack of communication and poor customer service to begin and charged twice! Hotel beautiful,location very scenic,rms large and spotless, staff on wkends nice and helpful,breakfast good selection. Enjoyed it so thankyou newton hs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton House D, Front Office Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your great review. we are sorry about the mix up at the start, this should not happen again. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay once we had sorted it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wratting
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife & I, together with some friends stayed at Newton House on the night of 21 September 2012.
It was very poor value for money and not an experience any of us would ever care to repeat.
The building is in an excellent position on one of England's finest trails. The rooms were warm, but the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. The previous guest's soap was still in the shower, their hair in the plug hole, as too were the marks left in our glasses from their toothbrushes.
As a former Health & Safety Officer I also have severe reservations about this hotel which I have already reported to the local Environmental Health Department.
The windows were locked and we could find no keys.
The smoke doors to our area opened INWARDS!
However worst of all, when we returned in the evening at around 8.00 pm, the hotel was unlocked with one or two lights showing in various places, but there were absolutely no staff in the building.
Both the Bar and Reception were locked and there was a sign pinned up with telephone number to ring if anything was required: However, as the only phone that worked was locked away in the Reception Office and the “Guest Phone” provided was broken this was quite impossible.
All the guests tried using their mobile phones, but there were no mobile signals available on any of 5 different mobile services we tried.
At least one of the couples found there were no towels in their rooms, and as we were unable to contact any staff at all, we gave them some of ours.
We were all able to walk through all the buildings shouting and looking for staff, including the kitchens where the following mornings breakfast rolls etc. were on show. Needless to say when these were served up at breakfast next day they were uneatable.
Despite the cost of the room, there was no English Breakfast available. Indeed the only option was a “Continental Breakfast” of very poor quality, which despite their claim of “sourcing local foods”, consisted of cereals, stale rolls, supermarket sliced bread and thinly cut tinned meat.
Also, the next morning, the receptionist denied that there had been no staff, saying they were close at hand in cottages nearby!
How were we to know that?
Had there been any type of emergency, there was no way of contacting the police, fire or ambulance services.
She also refused to give us the address of the owner or manager, claiming she did not know it!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton House D, Front Office Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments

All the rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard and the tea and coffee are topped up.

All of our fire doors are in keeping with the fire regulations.

The entrance to the B&B is unlocked for the convenience of the guests but it can be locked and the key code on the room keys used to gain access. Having the entrance door unlocked should not cause a problem as all the guest rooms have their own individual keys.

The guest phone has been attended to and is in full working order.

The kitchens are clearly marked “STAFF ONLY” and are kept to very high standards of cleanliness and are now kept locked. Any bread that has been left out has been kept to feed the birds, it is not used for guests the following day.

We serve an extensive continental breakfast which includes:-
A selection of fruit juices, a selection of yoghurts, fresh fruit, toast, marmalade, cereal, croissants, rolls, butter, cheese and a selection of sliced meats. Accompanied by tea and both filter and instant coffee.

We have staff on reception throughout the day till 6pm and make certain that someone will be here if a guest has requested a later booking. Contact phone numbers are provided in case of emergency if no staff are available. The fire officer has informed us we do not need to have staff on the premises 24 hours a day we just need to make guests aware of this.

As far as mobile phones and signals are concerned it’s true that there is poor reception although I get a full signal on orange just outside the entrance, and most mobiles should still connect to the emergency services even if they show no network coverage.

We have had problems with staff which we have now resolved.

I hope this answers all of the issues raised, we appreciate ALL feedback we can only resolve issues if we are we are informed about them. We are striving to address any issues to make our guests stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights to celebrate an upcoming birthday.

The rooms were clean and of a good standard. Decor throughout the hotel needs to be addressed as it does look slightly dated. Breakfast was a buffet with cereals and toast-no hot option which is disappointing!

The staff we did see (which was rare!) were pleasant enough.

The location of the hotel is great for accessing the Tissington Trail but for anything else such as a pub or restaurant for the evening, beware that there is nothing really within walking distance and taxi prices are extortionate!!

It's a shame- reading through previous reviews that the hotel have responded to as far back as June saying they would address the issues have done nothing at all to change some of them - the bar remained closed throughout our stay and a hot breakfast is still not provided.

There is potential but the longer the hotel take to address problems the more disgruntled customers they will encourage!

Overall its an ok hotel but there are many more superior options available in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton House D, Front Office Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments

We have thirty guest rooms as well as the hallways and shared areas such as the dining room, so you will appreciate refurbishment is a continual and ongoing process. The guest rooms are decorated to a high standard and i am pleased that you found them clean and comfortable.

ALL comments are welcomed as this is the best way we can continue to improve and help to make our guests stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having read some of the previous reviews we were wondering what to expect.I need not have worried.We were greeted by Elsie,a very friendly and helpful member of staff.She showed us to our room which proved to be very clean,well furnished,with a compact but excellent shower room.The continental breakfast had something to suit everyone,and we were served with a huge pot of tea by Heather who was smoothly running breakfast with a big smile and cheerful chat with everyone.The public areas had fresh carpeting and a well chosen decor.The Tissington Trail goes right past the back of the hotel and access could not be easier.This is an excellent location for cyclists or walkers like ourselves.We shall be recommending it to our friends and family and hope to be returning ourselves next year.

Room Tip: If you like a quieter room ask for a room which doesn't face the road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton House D, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
thank you for your wonderful comments we really appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a twin room for two nights on the £59 for two KGB deal. Now I didn't really expect country house hotel (quoted) for this money but I didn't expect such poor quality. The overriding factor was the rude uncaring older lady staff member at breakfast. Before our arrival I had emailed several times confirming our booking for cooked breakfast. Emails were pleasant and said we would have the cooked breakfast. On the first morning the breakfast was delivered with a proviso that we would be charged £7 for them. I said that was not in the website nor was it quoted in our emails. Response was rude offhand and quite frankly she couldn't give a damn. So i sent it back I since double checked the website and it says quite clearly you can have cooked breakfast and no mention of charge (this is on the main front page). The rest of the breakfast was very poor quality (happy shopper labels on everything).

The 'hotel' is undergoing refurbishment. I expect they are using KGB deals to get a bit of money in while they do it. Sadly they are getting a bad reputation because they are not looking after their customers. If you don't want us, don't offer the deals. The beds were hard and neither of us got much sleep. The room was tiny and the plastic shower poor. View was of a fire escape and little else. There were several rooms and a bar which were never in use. It was like a ghost hotel with dirty linen from breakfast piled up in corners and bread and uncovered marmalade and other breakfast items just left lying around all day and evening.

I can only assume the lady at breakfast is not part of the family that recently bought the place (sold this year by hf holidays) because if she was I doubt they will ever get repeat custom.

Sad because it could be a lovely little place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for 2 nights, The premises was spotless, the breakfast was good ,and the staff very friendly , what more could you ask for , because the real champion is the stunning scenery , history of the area, and beautiful walks and Newton House is in the perfect place to explore a bookful of the best Derbyshire can offer. One small critism , access to the road can be very tricky due to the speeds on the a515 , and a mirror located opposite the driveway could really help pulling off the hotels carpark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton House D, Front Office Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review we really appreciate it. we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House Hotel

Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newton House is located in the glorious Peak District countryside, with our own direct access to The Tissington Trail. Ideal for walkers, cyclists, and other outdoor enthusiasts, we welcome singles, couples, families, and groups. With a large function room opening out onto our glorious gardens, Newton House is ideal for sole occupancy group hire and events. With easy access to all the prime Peak District attractions, our location is second to none, and an ideal base from which to tour the area. Free onsite parking for residents. Local bus service from door.Wi-Fi available in some areas,reading and information room onsite.Tariffs quoted include Bed & Breakfast per room, and evening meals for groups can be ordered by pre-arrangement. Under new management, we take customer service seriously, and will do our very best to ensure you have an enjoyable, relaxing stay, and will want to return again & again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Newton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Alsop En Le Dale, Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.