We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in fantastic surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Callow Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Callow Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mappleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Duffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in fantastic surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently took my wife for her birthday to spend a lovely night at Callow Hall. We were joined by our grown up children for afternoon tea and scones in the living room. It felt so decedent but we were thoroughly spoilt by the great surroundings. Later the two of us had a beautifully served meal in the restaurant followed by a nights stay in a luxurious room. The breakfast in the morning was very good.

Room Tip: Our room ( more of a suite) was very quiet accessed from outside and beautifully set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    58
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
29
117
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I visited Callow Hall with a large group in March 2013.

The room was small but beautifully decorated; all rooms have names which I found quite quirky. Rooms include, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries, the bathroom was dated and could probably have done with some upgrading (especially when you are paying £200+ a night). Overall the Hall is a beautiful building but could potentially do with some upkeep and a lick of paint.

There is a small bar area but is very rarely managed, so you have to find someone if you would like to order drinks. What I will say is that the service was good on the drinks front once they had been ordered / cleared away quickly etc.

Onto the food; I was deeply unhappy at the quality of the food that was served. On the first night the lamb was severely undercooked and could not cut it with the knives provided. The second night, they served beef cheek; which didn’t go down too well with any of the group. There was a good choice on the breakfast menu, but again, was disappointed by the quality, the eggs were undercooked, the bacon was overcooked and the sausages weren’t that great either.

Then, the teaspoons that were in peoples rooms had disappeared! Can only assume that they needed them for the wedding reception that was also happening that night. No other explanation!

It had snowed quite heavily over night and when it came to departing around 10:00 the pathway outside of the Hall was quite slippy and had not been cleared. The hotel seemed to be overrun with younger employees with no seniority at all, hence the reason we didn’t feel we could complain about the aspects of the stay we didn’t think was up to scratch.

There is potential for us to return for afternoon tea, as the location is great but I wouldn’t recommend to anyone for an evening meal / base for a weekend in the Dales as I’m sure there are nicer out there. It is a shame I cannot be more positive about the Hall because it could potentially be fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband treated me to two nights away at this lovely hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. From the moment you turn off the main road, along the tree (and snowdrop) lined driveway you enter a world of grandeur with service to perfection. We were greeted by Diane and the owner, David, who immediately made us feel welcome and gave us a choice of rooms. On the first night we ate at the nearby (walking distance) Bowling Green Inn which, according to my steak eating husband, was the best steak he had ever eaten. The following day we did an 8 mile circular walk around Dovedale and then had an amazing meal in the hotel in the evening. The staff were so attentive and the service and food exceptional - a perfect place to be. Our room was large and bright, had an amazingly comfortable bed, with luxurious bedding. The bathroom was large with luxurious fittings and a brilliant shower. I would like to add that whilst there are some negative comments written about this hotel, the owners are doing their very best to renovate and update the rooms in this elegant building. Yes, some of the furniture has seen better days and in parts it is tired but the service and overall experience is amazing and the new owners are doing their best - the negative contributors should remember that Rome wasn't built in a day and once fully renovated they will be paying a much higher price for the same service. Once these renovations are done this hotel would certainly get 5 stars from me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went for afternoon tea for Mother's Day. Had excellent service and were promptly served even though we were advised that they would be very busy from Mother's Day lunch. The waiting staff could not have been more attentive and helpful offering to take photographs, 'doggy boxes' for goodies we could not manage! Delicious homemade cakes and the scones (of which you got two really good sized ones) still warm, fresh out of the oven (not microwaved) were to die for. Definitely will be returning especially in summer when it will be served outside.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked the hotel, on one of their Winter Dinner Bed & Breakfast breaks, as a birthday surprise for my wife.

Overall it was a very good experience. The staff were excellent, being both friendly and efficient. The public areas were well maintained and cosy and the food excellent.

The disappointment was the room. I'd booked an executive suite as I wanted this to be a special experience, but the room had seen better days. Overall it was clean, but the furnishings and carpets were grubby and outdated. The ancient TV with video player summed up the room.

It's a great shame, as it took the edge off the surprise for me, although my wife enjoyed her treat. She was particularly impressed by the staff and the food.

Apparently the place is slowly being refurbished and once the rooms have had a make-over I would highly recommend. Maybe they need to speed up the refurbishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After an excellent Christmas stay last year we returned with high expectations.

Diana and her front of house staff were welcoming, friendly and hard-working. There had been improvements to the downstairs rooms and our bedroom was comfortable and warm.

But the high-spot of last year was the let-down of this year. The change in chef has unfortunately turned what was award-winning food into something that could only be described as "average".
Inexcusably most dishes were served luke-warm on cold plates.

Despite staff denials, one starter was definitely missing the main ingredient and, in the same meal, we expressed dissatisfaction with some of the main courses. We were told "that was the way the Executive Chef cooked".

At another meal we returned two main courses because they were stone cold. Acceptable replacements were provided but there was no other comment from the kitchen. We were not the only ones to reject dishes.

It was noticeable at check-out that we weren't asked if our stay had been enjoyable. Perhaps they already knew the answer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Callow Hall for one night while we attended a local wedding.
A very warm and friendly welcome on arrival by the reception staff.
The spacious bedroom had a wonderful view and beautiful, comfortable traditional furnishings. Spotlessly clean.
We arrived back at the Hotel after the wedding very late at night and again were warmly greeted back by the night porter.
Breakfast was served by very friendly and polite waitresses. Good breakfast.
We really enjoyed our short stay in this lovely country house.
We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious and has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Address: Mappleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Callow Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callow Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.