We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good food, tired room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Callow Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mappleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mappleton
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, good food, tired room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked the hotel, on one of their Winter Dinner Bed & Breakfast breaks, as a birthday surprise for my wife.

Overall it was a very good experience. The staff were excellent, being both friendly and efficient. The public areas were well maintained and cosy and the food excellent.

The disappointment was the room. I'd booked an executive suite as I wanted this to be a special experience, but the room had seen better days. Overall it was clean, but the furnishings and carpets were grubby and outdated. The ancient TV with video player summed up the room.

It's a great shame, as it took the edge off the surprise for me, although my wife enjoyed her treat. She was particularly impressed by the staff and the food.

Apparently the place is slowly being refurbished and once the rooms have had a make-over I would highly recommend. Maybe they need to speed up the refurbishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    43
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
19
97
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After an excellent Christmas stay last year we returned with high expectations.

Diana and her front of house staff were welcoming, friendly and hard-working. There had been improvements to the downstairs rooms and our bedroom was comfortable and warm.

But the high-spot of last year was the let-down of this year. The change in chef has unfortunately turned what was award-winning food into something that could only be described as "average".
Inexcusably most dishes were served luke-warm on cold plates.

Despite staff denials, one starter was definitely missing the main ingredient and, in the same meal, we expressed dissatisfaction with some of the main courses. We were told "that was the way the Executive Chef cooked".

At another meal we returned two main courses because they were stone cold. Acceptable replacements were provided but there was no other comment from the kitchen. We were not the only ones to reject dishes.

It was noticeable at check-out that we weren't asked if our stay had been enjoyable. Perhaps they already knew the answer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Callow Hall for one night while we attended a local wedding.
A very warm and friendly welcome on arrival by the reception staff.
The spacious bedroom had a wonderful view and beautiful, comfortable traditional furnishings. Spotlessly clean.
We arrived back at the Hotel after the wedding very late at night and again were warmly greeted back by the night porter.
Breakfast was served by very friendly and polite waitresses. Good breakfast.
We really enjoyed our short stay in this lovely country house.
We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious and has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were staying nearby and decided to try Callow hall for Sunday lunch. We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. We understand that the hotel has been taken over recently and is being upgraded.

We had drinks in the lounge before lunch which was very relaxing. Lunch itself was outstanding. The freshly made bread was better than at many of the Michelin star restaurants we have been to.

The portions were very generous with every conceivable type of veg accompanying the well cooked roast beef. We left extremely full after coffee in the lounge. We will definitely be back if we are in the area. We may stay over next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Everything is well run and very good. The style is comfortable country house. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are good, although variable in size. No 8 is not specially recommended as the room is a bit small and the furniture means going from the bedroom to the bathroom is not so easy. I didn't have dinner, but it looked a nice place to eat. Breakfast was generally good, but the service was slow. Meeting facilities were good. The price was very reasonable for the overall quality. In summary a very enjoyable stay and definately recommended.

Room Tip: Room 8 not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went midweek for my birthday and what a lovely time we had. On arrival we were greeted well and shown to our room which was spacious and welcoming. We had stayed at their sister hotel before and so our expectations were high. It is clear they have some work to do on the premises to achieve the same levels but this did nt detract from the levels of service and quality of the food. It was genuinely a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Callow Hall for Sunday lunch yesterday with two friends and feel the need to write and say how much we enjoyed the experience. Upon arrival we were greeted by smart, polite,friendly and smiling staff who showed us into the comfortable lounge with spectacular view of the Dove Valley, roaring log fire and interesting antiques. The meal itself was probably the best Sunday Lunch that I have ever paid for. The quality of the locally sourced meat was exceptional, cooked to perfection and accompanied by an interesting vegetable selection and roast potatoes to die for; soft and fluffy on the inside and juicy and crisp on the outside.Service was smart & professional, serving staff wore white cotton gloves (no greasy fingermarks on the edges of the plates here!). After lunch we retired to the Tartan Bar for coffee. My husband really took to this intimate room with its large comfortable leather chairs & gentleman's club atmosphere and another view of the Dove Valley. Callow Hall is family owned & run and we had the opportunity to talk to the Owners, David & Joan Hardman who also own the critically acclaimed East Lodge Hotel In Rowsley. The Hardmans have owned Callow Hall for less than 12 months and are striving to bring it up to the same high standard as East Lodge. We were fortunate to be offered and accepted, a tour of this interesting building. The majority of the 16 bedrooms are large with decent sized, immaculately clean bathrooms. Many of the bathrooms have the luxury of a window ( a rarity in hotels). Some rooms have open fire places, all have interesting pieces of antique furniture (no corporate sameness here) and the two spacious groundfloor suites for wheelchair users are really cosy, one even has a small kitchenette. I can imagine how romantic and perfect a wedding could be here. The bridal suite with its big silver bed and spectacular view, the wide sweeping staircase down which the bride would make her grand entrance and the lovely garden backdrop for the photograhs. The Hardmans have embarked upon the process of updating and refurbishing this period property. It is a rising star in the genre of Country House Hotels and is one to watch. I first went to this hotel many years ago and came away with a spooky feeling. This time I left having fallen in love with the place and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Address: Mappleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mappleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Callow Hall Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callow Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.