We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vernon arms

Vernon arms
Main road, Sudbury, England
(0) 1283 585329
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Sudbury
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We decided to pop in for a drink and some lunch while visiting Sudbury Hall.
Saw a couple of reviews saying the staff are rude and it's a bit cliquey.
It was the polar opposite. Staff were incredibly friendly, locals were full of friendly chat.
Good selection of cask asks and the menu was good.
We plumped for a hot baguette, they had a very good selection. £3.95 each, which was good value.
They were really nice, the cos are excellent too.

Overall I was impressed, very nice building. Staff were great.

Will definitely go again next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unfriendly & rude staff - dont go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I've been meaning to write a review for some time, we live in the next village and have been on a number of occasions and all of which we vowed not to go back but kept giving it a second chance!

This pub is clicky and there's no other way to say that the bar staff are just so rude it's untrue.. Very unwelcoming, you can stand at the bar waiting for a menu and no one will even give you eye contact, they are too busy not serving but slouching at the bar with the locals...when or if you are eventually acknowledged you are made to feel like an irritation to them. The only member of staff we found helpful was the chef but to be honest he's fighting a losing battle.

I guess they are not bothered which is one of the reasons we haven't bothered writing a review previously, due to the location they get enough passing business so couldn't care less, what a terrible shame and just bizarre attitude for a business to have.

Either way we've told so many people and now added to many of the crap reviews, lets hope if it is managed by someone which I doubt it is, they have serious words with the staff, although the best way forward in my opinion would be a new crew to stop the rot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We lived locally and used ot visit the VA regularly , aso as a treat took our Brother in law and family there for a pre birthdya Sudnay lunch.

The pub hasnt changed in the years since we were there, but the service certainly has. No offence to the young girls behind the bar, but they cant cope when its busy. Lack of experience and training which reflects on the management.

One meal not delivered, struggling with drink measures, and then the late meal when it did appear had a parsnip no bigger than a potato sliver.

Food however was lovely, great ambience, and it is a lovely place generally, but I'd suggest perhaps for the moment, to go early on a Sunday when its quieter, and the girls are not rushed off their feet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok for as drink but awful food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Today myself and my partner decided to lunch at the vernon arms to our disapointment the beef sandwiches with horseradish were dreadful the bread was dry and the beef so overcooked it was black on the outside and very difficult to swallow as it crumbled as it to was incredibly dry the salad was limp and had obviously been from the day before as it was dried out the rocked was gritty and hadn't been washed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Called here for a drink and lunch following a visit to the beautiful Sudbury Hall. Sandwiches can be served as baguettes or on crusty fresh bread and the ham is to die for, melts in the mouth. I had the Brie wedges and they were beautifully fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vernon arms also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Vernon arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vernon arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.