We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herbert's Fine English Tearooms

Herbert's Fine English Tearooms
Tissington, Peak District National Park DE6 1RA, England
+(44)1335 350 501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Tissington
Cuisines: English, Tea Room, Soups, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Cycled along the Tissington trail today and stopped at Herbert's for lunch in Tissington. Fantastic little venue, very warm and welcoming, great service and lovely food. I would definitely go back for lunch/afternoon tea and spend some time exploring the quaint village. We sat outside as it was a beautiful sunny day, but would be equally happy inside. Great venue and we will be back!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at Herbert's Fine English Tearooms, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Travelpassion74,

Thank you very much for your review, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Herbert's and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Peaks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and excellent morning coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Arriving just as it was opening, we were welcomed in. On the door was an advert for staff; the first requirement is that an applicant must be "passionate"! Presumably about service, food etc......But it does send a clear message that standards are expected to be high, which can only be good.
Lovely interior which tastefully manages to mix quirky, modern and traditional.
Asking for a croissant, the lady behind the bar (Lady FitzHerbert?) offered to make me one if I waited a few minutes. I suggested she might qualify for the passionate one if she would go to that trouble! Perplexed, I pointed out to her the sign on the door.
A freshly-made croissant arrived hot with plenty of butter and jam.
Good menu with a decent range of light meals, snacks and homemade cakes.
Deserves to do very well indeed. Just hope it is open in the winter when a place like this is a welcome sight before/after a long walk.
Slight problem? Not overly warm. Easily sorted though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at Herbert's Fine English Tearooms, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Liathach2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Herbert's. We are sorry to hear that you were a little chilly and we will certainly take your comments on board.

We do indeed demand passion and dedication from our staff, including Lady FitzHerbert! We very much hope that you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to impress you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Superb setting , quality tearoom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

First visit today for scones, cake and tea,
Very tasteful venue where you can sit inside or out.
We thoroughly enjoyed the homemade cake and scones served with a large pot of loose leaf tea , providing at least 3 cups each!
Inside the tearoom you can purchase local produce.
Overall a very pleasant experience in a tranquil , beautiful village.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Not as good as i wanted it to be, no china tea pot, limp lettuce, you could only choose one filling for your sandwich and the cake was just ok. Sorry to say that I was hoping that it was going to be a special experience but it wa just ok :(

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Relaunched Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Always enjoyed the Old Coach House and the newly reformatted Herbert's Tearooms has seen a quirky refurbishment and a whole new atmosphere.

Whilst there is a new menu and quite a lot of changes, the food remains excellent and the menu has some brilliant new additions such as Oatcakes and Welsh Rarebit.

The oatcakes are amazing as are the homemade cakes.

It does get busy at the weekends so be patient. The staff cope admirably and are always pleasant and able to cope with the high volume of visitors. On this visit Lady FitzHerbert is working front of house and is utterly charming and clearly very excited and passionate about the relaunched tearoom. I am sure her and Sally the manageress and excellent cook make a formidable team to be reckoned with.

I would highly recommend Herbert's it is different, it has a great atmosphere and above all else imaginative and excellent food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herbert's Fine English Tearooms also viewed

Tissington, Peak District National Park
Tissington, Peak District National Park
 
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Herbert's Fine English Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbert's Fine English Tearooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.