We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Coach House - CLOSED

The Old Coach House
Tissington hall, Tissington, Peak District National Park, England
01335 350501
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The Old Coach House, Tissington is a large fully licensed tearooms offering a wide variety of homemade soups, sandwiches, quiches and cakes. All produce is fresh and seasonal, sourced locally wherever possible. In addition, there are daily specials, a children’s menu and a range of teas and coffees to choose from. Open 7 days a week from 1st March – 1st November, 10.30am – 5.30pm (meals served between 11am – 3pm).
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My favourite stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

On the three visits to the Peak District, I just have to stop for tea/coffee and cake, such a lovely warm feeling village and the cafe to match. A must to anyone, don't pass through without stopping.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Paula A,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Coach House. We hope you stop by for a piece of cake the next time you are in the Peaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great way to end a walk around Tissington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The menu here is basic lunch stuff such as paninis,jacket potatoes and sandwiches with a great cake selection for those with a sweet tooth. They use fresh,quality ingredients with perfect portion sizes.There is a great selection of fruit teas and you can also get a glass of wine.the service is very good and there are tables both inside and out weather dependant!it Its situated in a lovely village and is great for a potter around at the weekend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Emmaeg1,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food - but definitely over-priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good quality food; menu quite varied; lovely surroundings (both in the restaurant itself and in the whole village of Tissington) but food far from good value - noticeably more expensive than comparable food elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate any feedback from our customers. We will certainly take your statement about value for money into account when we next review our prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food - if somewhat overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The cafe itself is very pleasant and there is a reasonable selection of sandwiches, soup, salads and quiche on the menu. The was a queue to order, but we didn't have to wait too long for our order to arrive. The food was good quality, but at over £45 for a family of four for a sandwich and cake each - pretty pricey. The drinks were also expensive. The coffee was over brewed so had obviously been sitting there a while.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Organs A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Old Coach House. We pride ourselves on offering freshly prepared food and generous portions and we undertake regular research to make sure we are offering good value for our customers. We will certainly take your comments on board when we next review our prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lovely food served, in lovely surroundings by lovely staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family and I frequent this lovely tea rooms regularly as we live locally. Without exception the food is always plentiful and delicious.
We love to enjoy locally sourced sausage baps which are served with onion marmalade, side salad, crisps and coleslaw. This is just one of the meals that regularly appears on the 'specials board'.
The staff are always friendly, obliging and manage to smile, even during busy times that would test the patience of the best of us!
The interior of the tearooms is on one level which makes it ideal for anybody with mobility problems, or families with pushchairs. There is a relaxed and cosy atmosphere inside which is broken only by people scrapping chairs on the flag stone floor!
The tearooms has recently been refurbished with an enlarged serving area and much improved toilets.
Outside there are tables and chairs which provide a pleasant environment in the warm weather and allows a view of the lovely St. Mary's church on the hill. To the left of the entrance there is ample racking for the many bikes that are ridden in the local area.
Its perhaps not the cheapest place to eat locally, but if you're looking for good quality food with generous portions then I would advise that you give this place a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Pudding1linda,

Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear from one of our regular customers. We hope that you continue to support us and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coach House also viewed

Tissington, Peak District National Park
Tissington, Peak District National Park
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.