We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechenhill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beechenhill Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ilam Moor Lane, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2BD UK, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ilam B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding and Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I got married in Monyash (about 25 minutes away) on the 6th of April and had our wedding reception at Beechenhill. As we'd booked the farm's converted hay barn for our reception we also had access to the accommodation on site and we had the best weekend of our lives.
The weather was sensational, and highlighted the true beauty of both the farm and its location. With beautiful sunshine lighting up the valley it was (unbelievably) warm for the big day itself, and everyone who attended could not stop praising the location, the farm and the service that we received!
After the big day itself myself, my wife and remnants of my family piled into the B&B the next day for a delicious fry up before people made tracks. As we'd booked the whole farm out for the weekend we were then free to relax and unwind, reflect on a beautiful wedding and the brilliant time that we'd been provided with thanks to the Princes.
We'll definitely be returning at some point to celebrate our anniversary, and we can't recommend Beechenhill Farm enough - it's truly special!

Room Tip: Beechenhill Cottage is a delightful, one bedroom cottage, ideal for couples. All self-contained, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We soooo enjoyed your sunny wedding and your lovely friends and family were a joy! You are definitely official Beechenhillbillies now. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went as a surprise for hubby's birthday for a chill out walking weekend. Did plenty of chilling as got snowed in. Beautiful scenery, covered in snow and massive drifts, lovely to look at but not too easy walking. The room was lovely had everything, the breakfasts were delicious especially the porridge :) We ended up needing full board which again was very nice. We had the luxury hot tub experience which we both thoroughly enjoyed, drinkly bubbly whilst the snow was falling, really relaxing.
The local villagers too were lovely, one couple minded by snowed in car and a kind gentleman helped us to escape out of the village. We hope to come again to walk and see the lovely scenery, perhaps in the summer. Many thanks Sue and Terry :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
What a dramatic birthday snowed in weekend you had! So glad you enjoyed the hot tub (always best in the snow!) And glad you got home safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful inspiring time at Beechenhill - a very special place.

The food was delicious, the space, clean, warm, loved and most inspiring art work by Sue.
One of the best b and b's i've stayed in.
We booked the hot tub as a treat on a cold winter air night, and it was just a Gem of an experience - a rare opportunity to soak and relax the body in the calmness of the night and the elements! We even got to watch the stars come out.
Thank you!

Highly recommended

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind words about my artwork. So glad you enjoyed the hot tub- its definitely a not-to-be-missed experience! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay in the cottage for 4 nights. A great location for plenty of walking from the door either to Dovedale or across to The Manifold Way. Great hosts and a wonderful reception from Hatty and Gem. We can only support what previous reviewers have said. The snow of the last couple of days only added to the excitement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We survived the snow- Just! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wow! Sue, firstly, I apologise it has taken me months to write this review, which by no means reflects our feelings about just how wonderful our stay was. We stayed at Beechenhill for two blissful weeks over our anniversary, Winter 2012. What a stay. I trawled through thousands of little cottages before discovering Beechenhill Cottage, which stood out because of a few reasons:

1. You have winter cottage essentials, like a lovely woodburning stove, induction hob to cook on, cosy, kutchy furnishings you can snuggle up in, homely touches, lovely pristinely clean sheets and a super comfy bed
2. You are in the middle of nowhere, and can literally walk out your front door onto fields and out into the open, no fences, no boundaries, just free to roam...the window in the lounge looks out over all this so you wake up in the morning to breakfast with a real, spectacular view that just relaxes you before you have even been there 5 minutes....
3. You are completely private. You are on Beechenhill Farm, but this little cottage is tucked away round the side, not overlooked, and Sue & her family have perfected that art of being totally discreet and letting their guests have their privacy and get on with things. I was quite amazed how even when I had ordered some food from the farm, it was just discreetly left outside the door for us, as was a delivery of flowers on our anniversary morning. Personally, that really makes a difference! And as Sue & co are in the main house, you can pop round to get food or ask for anything if you do need it.
4. You are in the middle of nowhere, but yet you have access to the DELICIOUS organic farm produce - eggs, milk (lovely milk!), organic meats, and breakfast goodies, as well as ready made meals made with the local ingredients. Local supermarkets also deliver there.
5. You are fifteen/twenty mins walk/5 or 10 minute drive from the FABULOUS and I mean FABULOUS local gastropub, the George, which should be nominated as a national treasure...beautiful locally produced food, roaring fire, and a rather adorable black Labrador called Phoebe, who owns the place (!)...oh and some of the best ales according to my husband!
6. If all this is not enough, you have the optional extra of hot-tubbing 'a deux' in the wonderful little hot tub and cave at the end of the garden. With the stars above you, in a boiling little hot tub, some bubbly and your favourite companion, on a cold winter's night, you can come up with some life changing thoughts and ideas, trust me!

So that's all folks - what more do you need. One slight little thing - I think over winter as with most country cottages you can get a little smell of damp, mainly in the bathroom, but the roaring fire and everything warming through deals with that. Bonnes vacances.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for such a thoughtful and detailed review. It is wonderful when our guests stay for two weeks and really try everything. We certainly agree with your opinion about the George, we simply can't manufacture enough special occasions to celebrate there!
Your clever nose detected a tiny leak! That was the slightly damp smell- all fixed now, phew!
Well, the hot tub is still here, steamy, sparky and starry, waiting for your return! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Beechenhill for 2 nights in March. The location is fantastic if you're looking for a peaceful retreat and love walking. Walks from the door and close to Dovedale. Fresh milk was provided in the room, and lovely homemade flapjack. The breakfast was amazing, the only downside was I missed the oatcakes on the second day! We will definitely return on our next trip to the Peak District. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We will have to make sure oat cakes are offered everyday! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A beautiful farm in the Peak District with stunning views. We (family of 4) stayed in both of the b&b rooms and so we also had the sole use of the cosy sitting room. The rooms are warm, comfortable and there is beautiful artwork on the walls. We stayed for two nights and both mornings were treated to a delicious breakfast of porridge and then traditional English for the kids and Swedish smoked trout for us. It is in good location for walking, which we did on both of the days we stayed there. Would definitely recommend this for anyone who loves the peak district.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beechenhill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechenhill Farm

Address: Ilam Moor Lane, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2BD UK, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ilam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechenhill Farm 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where art and organic farming meet. A friendly and comfortable bed and breakfast. You can bring your walking boots, maps, sunglasses, binoculars and coats, bikes, shorts, woollies, swimwear and lots of books to our warm, award winning organic farm B&B in the English Peak District National Park. We have wifi, glorious views and an extremely good breakfast. You can also stay in little romantic Beechenhill Cottage for two or warm and comfortable (wheelchair accessible) Cottage by the Pond for six. We're passionate about our place and enabling you to enjoy it best. We have a Swedish style hot tub, a wood fired barrel sauna, electric bikes (all book-ahead please) and miles of walks from the door. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechenhill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beechenhill Farm to your Saves list