We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful and intimate cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechenhill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beechenhill Farm
Save
You added Beechenhill Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ilam Moor Lane, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2BD UK, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ilam B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
liverpool
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful and intimate cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a short four day break at Beechenhill cottage. This well equipped, cosy and intimate cottage was perfect in every way. It is part of a working farm above Ilam and is in beautiful countryside. It is ideal for 2 with a incredible views across the fields and hills.
It's greatest point is the peace and quiet. It was so relaxing that time seemed to stand still.
The cottage is a detached former stallion pen and has all modern comforts - the attention to detail is good and it has additional benefits of central heating and modern appliances.
It is close to Dovedale and there are fantastic walks from the door of the cottage. All in all, this is a real find and we would recommend Beechenhill cottage to all.
We really enjoyed our stay here and will return soon.
David & Claire

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for a thoughtful and helpful reviews- so glad you enjoyed the walks from the door!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the B&B. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped as well as being cosy and relaxing. Breakfast is fantastic using ingredients straight off the farm itself or from the locale. It is a splendid location for walking and cycling and is quiet with the most fantastic view of almost anywhere we have ever been. You are always assured of a warm welcome. We last stayed in August 2011. Only just got round to this!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, its always a pleasure to have guests come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just come back from a short break in Beechenhill Farm. We didn't stay at the B&B as it is closed this time of the year. Instead we hired the self catering Cottage by the Pond. It is a 3 bedroom cottage, converted from a cow shed, beautifully refurbished. We arrived on a cold Friday night and walked straight into a cosy, warm home. Sue and Terry had lit the wood burner in the sitting room to welcome us. Couldn't have a better start! They had also filled the fridge with our order of local sausages, bacon, eggs, home cooked bread and meals and, the highlight, raw milk, produced at the farm. Tasting that alone is worth the visit.
In the morning we woke up to the most delightful views of surrounding landscape: all rolling hills, sheep, cows and trees. The generous living room faces due South affording the best views over the valleys, as you bask in the sunshine.
The kitchen is well equipped, the shower strong and powerful. Personally a good shower is key and normally in these places you find electric showers which don't have the same satisfactory result. They also have a bath to soak into if you wish. The bed we had is very big, probably a super king size, the mattress on the firm side, which my other half likes but I prefer a bit softer, so this is a personal thing.
There are plenty of places for walks, there is real natural beauty everywhere, as well as more 'cultured' visits within easy reach, such as Chatsworth or the David Mellor Design museum.
On Saturday night we booked the Swedish hot tub and cave. From it we enjoyed some fireworks in the distance (it was Fireworks weekend) and afterwards went to the adjoining 'cave', a cosy cocoon built by them and lit with candles and wood burner. It gets toasty in there!
Last but not least, do not go without looking at Sue's egg tempera paintings in the barn. They are unique and beautiful and we are saving up to buy one of them!
All in all, a delightful and blessed location and accommodation and super helpful and kind hosts. Thanks Sue and Terry!
PS: Please note photos seem to have been cropped on uploading them

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
How lovely! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. What super photos, I would love copies, thank you! We look forward to seeing you again, I shall be busily painting over winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic place to stay, lots of character and such a lovely room. We were given a very warm welcome with a breakfast not to be missed - you can choose what time and what eggs you want with lots of local produce available! Seriously couldn't suggest a better place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast! We have started getting ideas for next year's breakfasts- hope you come back to try them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The location is superb with excellent walks and breakfast is delicious. Terry and Sue could not do enough to make us welcome. We have not found anything better in many years, If you want peace and quiet on a working organic farm in the Peak District then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There are two B and B rooms, both look down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It is difficult to meaningfully add to the other reviews. Beechenhill is simply outstanding and was phenomenal value. Wonderful thoughtful comforts for B & B guests located in an excellent example of a farm which walks the organic talk. Sue & Terry and their family have very obviously made a significant commitment to a model of sustainable rural tourism and thought leadership in the Peak district. Their environmental message is subtly advanced by the surroundings. No environmental proselytising at Beechenhill Farm! The Farm's recent history and key operational information is recorded in a divertingly clever farm summary and in answers from Sue and Terry who somehow manage to have time for everyone. We felt privileged to be there. Thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine. A feature of Beechenhill Farm is the restrained and thoughtful way in which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Manager at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you- it means an awful lot to us that you understood what we are trying to achieve- enabling guests to be even more comfortable, have more fun and be more relaxed all by being more sustainable! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently spent three nights at Beechenhill Farm for a friends wedding. We stayed in one of the B&B rooms and were very pleased with the standard of the room. The decor fit very well with the farm and everything was clean and comfortable. Tea and Coffee making facilities are provided within your room and as Beechenhill is a working farm you just need to ask for milk when you need it and they provide you with fresh milk from their cows. I think I put on half a stone during my stay as the breakfast was amazing. I could have eaten the poridge until I burst as it was so creamy and tasty but made sure I kept some space for the vast amount of bacon, eggs, sausage etc etc that followed.

Our friends had their wedding breakfast and evening do in the barn which was a fab venue and we all had the most amazing time. The barn is a lovely space and a great place to host such an event.

The evening after the wedding a group of 6 of us hired out the hot tub for £75. We spent the evening drinking champagne and looking at the unspoilt views and the beautiful night sky - it was perfect. It really was an amazing, relaxing evening and I would recommend it to anyone staying at Beechenhill.

This is a family run business and all the family made us feel very welcome and were always happy to help. They have two beautiful dogs on the farm including a little cross bread Jack Russell who has endelss energy and it's hard to get bored of throwing the ball for her to catch.

This place is a real gem and is worth consdiering for a venue, a romantic getaway or a group vacation. Beechenhill can cater for any eventuality and they do so very well.

Room Tip: All the room options are a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review! We really enjoyed the wedding too! It was such a nice family and friends' celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechenhill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechenhill Farm

Address: Ilam Moor Lane, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2BD UK, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ilam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechenhill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where art and organic farming meet. A friendly and comfortable bed and breakfast. You can bring your walking boots, maps, sunglasses, binoculars and coats, bikes, shorts, woollies, swimwear and lots of books to our warm, award winning organic farm B&B in the English Peak District National Park. We have wifi, glorious views and an extremely good breakfast. You can also stay in little romantic Beechenhill Cottage for two or warm and comfortable (wheelchair accessible) Cottage by the Pond for six. We're passionate about our place and enabling you to enjoy it best. We have a Swedish style hot tub, a wood fired barrel sauna, electric bikes (all book-ahead please) and miles of walks from the door. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechenhill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.