We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Farm B&B and Country Cottage

Garden Farm B&B and Country Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Farm B&B and Country Cottage
Save
You added Garden Farm B&B and Country Cottage to your Saves list
Garden Farm, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ilam B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here just for one night. I wish it could have been longer. Richard and Debbie were very kind, and welcoming, and run a clean B & B. The rooms were well appointed, tidy, and well decorated. There were nice views from our bedrooms and a lovely breakfast too. Many thanks.

Room Tip: "Two double rooms with their own bathroom were lovely"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland, Europe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautiful and well equiped cottage we stayed in for a week. Hosts were very nice and we were delighted with the scones abd tea on arrival.

Fantastic location in a beautiful setting. Brought the kids to Alton towers 10 min away and drayton manor
50 min away.

Loads to see and do in the local area. I would highly recommend as we had a wonderful time

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed just for a night at this lovely quiet place in Peak district. Ilam is a small village and the surrounding hills and meadows are dotted with sheep. The room is most comfortable and breakfast excellent!! Since we were vegetarians, Debbie prepared oatcakes for us which were just yummy! We went for a walk to the village and beyond. There is a quiet little brook, little cottages and of course the pastures with sheep. Nice place for a quiet holiday. THank you Debbie!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Debbie and Richard are warm inviting hosts and go that extra mile to ensure your stay is the very best.
Lovely rooms with plenty of hot water and comfortable furnishings.
Excellent breakfasts with a great choice and if you have specific dietary requirements, they are happy to oblige.
Debbie's home grown vegetables, jams and chutneys are a must to take home.
Sophie misses the squirrels!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovely place, with stunning views and superb hospitality. just had an excellent weekend at the Garden Farm, the accomodation is excellent and the hospiltality superb. Lots of information supplied and a great base from which to explore the Peak district. a big thank you to Debbie and Richard, we will most definatly return at some point.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of her birthday weekend. Before we even arrived, we had been sent excellent information on places to eat in the area, so we were able to reserve tables at nearby pubs. We arrived fairly late; but this was no problem at all. Room was immaculate, bed was really comfy (so much so, my wife is a fussy sleeper but slept all night!), tea and coffee facilities great, and lots of storage; including place for dirty walking boots in porch.

Loads of information about walks in area. We walked from the B and B down and through Dovedale to a lovely hamlet, and back again- this took all day, but I recommend it.

Breakfast was fabulous; one of the best I have had. Unlimited tea and coffee, toast, lovely cooked option and range of cereals and fruits; as well as occasional specials, we had some oatcakes which were amazing!

Finally, the hospitality was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble; Debbie even brought her laptop through to the breakfast room to help us search for churches in Ashbourne. We will definitely be back. Thanks for a lovely stay!! :) Sorry we were so long writing the review!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We've just returned from a fabulous weekend walking break in the Peaks staying at Garden Farm.

We arrived a little later than expected on Friday evening with the cars packed, dogs in tow and tired out after a full-on working week. Debbie came out to greet us on arrival and took time to show us around the cottage even though we'd interupted her dinner time, she made us feel very welcome! We had a lovely surprise awaiting us in the kitchen, with scones, butter and jam laid out on the table, milk in the fridge and tea bags; perfect!

The farm is localted slightly North of Ilam Village centre (past the YHCA and National Trust property on the left), up the hill a tad the first turning on the left, marked with a small "Garden Farm" plaque and a white stone chipped driveway leading up to the farm.

The cottage is immaculate, wonderfully laid out and in a perfect location to base your adventures in the Peak district. Ample parking in the courtyard, with the main house and B&B rooms opposite, large gardens and a secure paddock (which the dogs loved) and a view that is a panarama of the Peak District National Park.

The bedrooms are located at different sides of the house, great if you're in a group, giving you space and privacy. The first bedroom is on the ground floor through a door from the lounge, complete with it's own en-suite shower room. Beds are really comfy and lovely fresh linen!

The upstairs bedroom is wonderfully spacious off a large landing which hosts a bookcase full of local tourist information / peak district walks and a host of novels. Leading off into a lovely bathroom with a bath and shower. The upstairs area is a dog free zone, nicely gated off.

The kitchen has all mod cons, electric cooker, microwave, washing machine, toaster, kettle - well equipped; tiled floor which helps when you come in from the wet and muddy fields to keep clean with an area for you to keep boots, wet towels etc.

TV, CD player etc in the living room, we had a lovely Saturday evening with a slow cooked stew, bottle of wine and tv with the French doors giving us a lovely view of North Ilam after a rather stormy Dovedale to Milldale walk. The only thing we couldn't crack was the password for the internet and surprisingly didn't miss the ipad one little bit... we could have asked for it, but hey, we were far too chilled :-)

Highly reccommend a stay here, we'll be booking again without hesitation; looking forward to it already. Thank you Richard & Debbie!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Farm B&B and Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Farm B&B and Country Cottage

Address: Garden Farm, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ilam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in seven acres of Peak District countryside, Garden Farm offers a relaxing and idyllic location to explore the surrounding area. Our four bed and breakfast rooms and country cottage are tastefully appointed and are either en-suite shower room or private bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Farm B&B and Country Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.