We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashbourne Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fenny Bentley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashbourne Heights
Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park DE6 1LE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
East Kilbride
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights last week - 2 adults, 4yr old and 20 month old, in a lodge. On arrival the reception was closed however after a quick call the staff attended and checked us in. I was advised that the dishwasher in the lodge wasnt working however engineer was already arranged to attend the next day. To save any inconvienience i was given washing up liquid to keep us going in the meantime. The lodge was very clean and tidy and nicely furnished. Our only complaint is that the beds are not comfortable. Otherwise the lodge has everything you would need - washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, oven and hob, fab fridge freezer and tv. The overall park seemed safe for children and has a good play area. We didnt have time to use any of the other facilities so cant comment on them. Would return as ideal location for Alton Towers!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
46
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I had a seasonal caravan pitch from june till mid october and in that time we had our 18 month caravan damaged by the site staff using the ride on lawn mower because there is stones in the grass from a disused pitch which was not cleared ( when asked them to do it they did not have any resources for this but was able to slab pitches for other new commers) this issue was raised with the site manager and the head office in Sheffield. Photos of the damage and pitch was send on e-mail to a director of the company and guess what we have had no replies from 2 e-mails and numberous phone calls. the site is also very noisey with children running riot after dark while the parents sat drinking till late, the toilet blocks are very poor with leaking pipes and broken floor tiles in the showers which are very dangerous if you was not carefull, the swimming poor was disgusting with scum around the sides and the showers/changing room was also unusable because they was not clean.
This is a very poor site and badly run at all levels of management. So be warned if going to book there are alot better sites which are better value

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

After coming to the campsite 3 previous times, after reading the reviews i was a little concerned i thought it had been taken over by someone else, on arrival i was relieved to see it was the same owners, the staff were so helpfull everything was spotless, including the pool, i cant beleive people complain about the noise, YOUR IN A TENT!!! take some earplugs thats what i do just incase we get landed next to noisy neighbours, we love it, very relaxed site not commercalised unlike the one up the road, isnt that what camping all about??? Go and stop in a hotel if you want all the home comforts.met some lovely people, will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Having read some of the reviews here after booking, we were a little apprehensive but some people just don't know what to expect when going camping. The site was clean and well maintained and the staff were all polite, friendly and helpful. We were given a map of the site on arrival that clearly showed all the toilets, showers, and other facilities. The site was full as it was bank holiday weekend but this didn't affect our enjoyment. We never had to queue for the shower and there was only a short wait a couple of times, to do the washing up, but we did go at peak-times. The cleaning of the facilities was at staggered times so if you didn't mind the walk you would always find one open. Cleaning times were clearly advertised so you could plan your time accordingly. The shop was well stocked with essentials, a bit pricier than normal shops but thats the price you pay for being forgetful and convenience. We didn't use the swimming pool as we were out each day, but it's a bonus having one, and if the weather had been terrible we would have made use of it.The on-site takeaway did a roaring trade for breakfast /evening meals and smelt delicious (we self catered) although my daugther enjoyed a hot choc with marshmallows each night before snuggling down to a very quiet nights sleep.
We would definitely come again. It was more than we would usually pay for camping but as it was a last minute booking we didn't mind. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Took family ( kids 2 and 7) on a camping bank holiday weekend. Good price and lovely campsite. Main problem was noise. There is supposed to be an 11.30 cut off point for noise which involved a security check - this did not happen. A group of 5 families decided to unleash themselves till 4am one night and 1.30am the following night. These inconsiderate people actually spoilt our weekend and we had to leave a day early due to lack of sleep. I was extremely upset as I do not allow my children to use bad language or witness drunken aggressive behaviour bur clearly there are some people who enjoy to spend more time with cans of lager than their own children. We did inform reception who gave us a refund but we felt that the problem family should have been evicted - especially when 6 other families left due to this behaviour. All in all a good site but poor security and not all campers are there for the right kind of fun!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend with my daughter son-in-law and 2 grandchildren aged 7 and 2, but only ended up staying for 2 of them owing to a group of around 15 chavs who decided to spoil it for everyone on the site by sitting up till early hours of the morning drinking, shouting, fighting and swearing and keeping everyone awake for most of the night. These chavs had children with them and obviously if they were not bothered about keeping there own children awake or hearing them swearing we knew they would not be bothered about anyone else's. When we reported there behaviour to reception I got the feeling we were 1 of many to have made a complaint as they said they would speak to them but did not hesitate to give us a refund for our last night and said many other's were packing up and leaving. I did comment that it should have been them that were thrown off the site, and not the families who were abiding by the rules. So owing to these chavs our weekend was spoilt and 2 children upset at having to leave a day early. So chavs hope you're pleased with yourselves.

Room Tip: take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We visited Ashbourne heights last weekend and really enjoyed it. We were pitched up right next to the park which the children loved playing on and it gave us some adult time knowing the children were safe and in hearing distance. We used the on site take away on our first night which we thought was fairly priced. I wouldn't reccomend using the swimming pool as it was filthy with dirt, scum and grime all around the inside of the pool on the tiles. It also had a lot of chemicals in with made our eyes sore.
The showers were ok although they were on timers which gave you 3 minute then you had to push the button again, they were free though!
I was a bit of a pain that they closed at 8am to be cleaned they should clean them earlier as they are really busy.
We would visit again but probably go for a 3 day swimming pass at the local leisure centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashbourne Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Heights

Address: Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park DE6 1LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Fenny Bentley
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Fenny Bentley
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Heights Hotel Fenny Bentley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashbourne Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ashbourne Heights to your Saves list