We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Omar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kasbah Omar to your Saves list
Kasbah Omar
Anrar | Ourika Valley, Ourika, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Ourika B&B and Inns
Scarsdale, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Home Away From Home!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

This Kasbah was our favorite of all the places we stayed in Morroco! Its beautiful, clean, comfortable, accomodating and homey!! We were treated as family from all the staff! The rooms are roomy and very clean. Fireplaces to keep you warm and the mint tea helps too!! The roof of this Kasbar has the most amazing veiws of Marrakesh! Its an exotic dinning tent, that is absoluty fabulous!! The service was impecable.

We only had one night here and we regretted that, because it was the nicest one we stayed at! We loved it here and would go back in a heart beat!!!

Thank you for a great stay at Kasbah Omar!!!!!!

  • Liked — The ambience of this place is peacful, quiet and relaxing!!!
  • Disliked — You have to walk up a steep hill to get to the front door, but once inside its worth it!!!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We arrived to Omar in the evening after a long day of driving. We got out of the van on a fairly main road and did not see a hotel. We were told we had to walk up the hill and that our luggage would be taken care of and brought up immediately. So we started walking up this farily steep dirt hill past private homes. It was dark with dim lights. We weren't sure where we were going, but we knew it would be an advanture! And we were right! When we got up the hill, Kasbah Omar opened its doors to us and we were amazed! It is one of the most beautiful riads we had seen, and it is very new and very upscale. The courtyard is gorgeous, and the sitting rooms very inviting. Our luggage was taken to our rooms even before we made it up the hill! We were served drinks before dinner and then settled in. This was one of our favorite riads because not only were we treated like family, but were catered to in every way.

The rooms were decorated with beautiful touches and the bathrooms were probably the most upscale of all the riads we stayed in! The beds were extremely comfortable and we felt like we were in our own home.

The food was delicious! And you must eat breakfast in the morning on the rooftop terrace! You'll think you are in a Berbere Tent with amazing views!

Thanks to you all at Kasbah Omar for all you did for us and more!!!

  • Liked — It is new -- only about 1.5 years old -- impeccably clean and beautiful! And the wonderful service!
  • Disliked — The steep walk up to the riad from the road -- but it was OK and well worth it!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

This is a beautiful riad style hotel about 30min outside Marrakech in a hillside Berber village. Great for those who want to get off the tourist track and experience a more authentic Moroccan experience. The riad is 3-4 floors with an open courtyard with fountain in the center. Rooms are excellent - very comfortable, spacious, all with ensuite baths and a very nice decor. All with AC/heat. Covered and open rooftop terrace is where you have breakfast, meals and drinks in the evening with a beautiful view overlooking surrounding villages and Marrakech lights in the distance.

Staff speak fluent English and are super friendly and helpful. We spent a lot of time with Lamyae who made our stay special -- she made sure we had everything we needed and sat with us in the evenings to share with us descriptions of Moroccan life and answered any questions we had. All staff members are happy to help arrange further travel plans and make suggestions for things to do in the area and in Morocco in general.

The riad is in a Berber village in the hills. We found people in the village to be nice and welcoming. The children unfortunately have become accustomed to seeing tourists come to the village and will ask you for candy and small change. It is better to have some pencils/pens or toothbrushes on hand to pass out (things they need for school and hygiene) and then everyone is happy.

Hotel is a bit pricey for budget travelers but it is possible to stay instead with a local family near the riad (which we did one night) and have dinner and breakfast with them which is significantly less expensive (hostel price). The family we stayed with was wonderful and friendly and cooked us up a huge couscous dinner and lots of mint tea. We still had use of the riad facilities when staying with the family which made it extra-comfortable. In either case, I recommend contacting the hotel directly to check on prices.

Hotel is also connected to a great travel agency whom we used for a private tour around the regions of Marrakech and Essaouria including a visit to a local Berber market and stops to a Argan women's cooperative where we saw goats in trees! Our guide was Youseff Khalfaoui and he was fantastic and speaks fluent English.

Obviously as you can tell by my post we had a really special time at Kasbah Omar and can't recommend it enough!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the location in an authentic Berber village!
  • Disliked — 30 min outside Marrakech so you need to contact the hotel for transport help or have your own.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

What a wonderful place--the rooms were spacious and wonderfully done. Baths were unique--not the best for standing in but who cares. What really made the stay wonderful was the staff and the owner. They catered to your every wish, always with a smile. Our rather large group also had a cooking demonstration that was fun. The dining area which is the top terrace was a blast. I could stay here a while.

  • Liked — Great stop on the journey, staff is very welcoming
  • Disliked — Bathtubs were concave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

The kasbah is beautiful and well-located, and has a very accomodating and friendly staff. The food and service were excellent and plentiful. It was a very relaxing and ambient experience for my family and I look forward to returning.

  • Liked — very ambient and relaxing, with wonderful food and views/great staff
  • Disliked — nothing. We added time on we liked it so much
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wester USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

There is only one problem with our stay at Kasbah Omar. We didn't stay long enough.

Picture a hotel where the outside entrance looks like a bombed out alley in Beirut but the inside of the hotel looks like the Pierre in NYC. When our driver Masrour stopped in front of the place and told us we could get out of the car I thought he was lost or kidding, but like most places in Morocco, you can't tell the book by its cover.

This is an unbelievable place overlooking a couple of Berber villages, where we sat and drank our Casablanca's and watched the sun set over Marrakech and looked out on the daily lives of the locals while we listened to goats, daily prayers and the daily life of the locals.

The facility is relatively new, which is nice because you get nice beds, real showers, WIFI, etc but thats not what makes the place great.

Beautiful place beautiful people.

The staff is fantastic, and by day 2 our kids had the run of the place like our home, getting their own drinks, hanging out with the staff, etc.... Kids are always hungry and the staff was always finding nuts, dates, figs, cheese whatever to eat.

However and I mean however..... if you are at all able you should have Karim (our kids call him "the goat") take you up for a trek in the Atlas mountains, then come home hot and exhausted for a cold beer with a view, and the steam and massage in the riad, followed by the sunset and a late dinner.

After the day of the hike I thought "now this is living".

Food was OUTRAGEOUSLY good, service was absolutely 5 star, like in the best hotels in NY or London. You think I'm kidding or paid by the hotel? I'm not. This place was booked by our travel advisor (Akim from onlymorocco.com) he told us it would be special but Akim you screwed up! We should have stayed longer.

We liked Marrakech but we loved the Omar. If you are going to do a couple of days in Marrakech, just stay at the Omar and commute (about 30 minutes) its well worth it.

And then there is Youssef, who manages the hotel. We ended up being invited to Youssef's home for a traditional family dinner which was one of the highlights of our trip. Youssef you run a great place as I told you many many times while we were there. You made us feel welcome and special and you went out of your way to find ICE CREAM CAKE in the middle of Morocco for a treat for the kids one night. Who does that? A great hotelier and a very nice guy.

Youssef and Karim our family sends you our best wishes and thank you so much for a memorable stay. Mr. Goat we will be back to take further revenge on the Atlas!

Please email me for further info I am more than happy to rave about Kasbah Omar, we will return someday to take that second hike we should have stayed longer for.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

We had a beautiful stay in Kasbah Omar.....we were there for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Karim, was a wealth of knowledge, and genuinely wanted to share his culture with us. We loved the colors, and the simplicity in design. The Riad could have been out of the pages of Architectural Digest. Everything was very calming, no excess here, warm beiges and sandy pinks....beautiful rooms, luxurious sheets, a huge bathtub, handmade soaps, gorgeous sinks, handmade backsplashes. The food was excellent, I was introduced to argan oil, local honey, delicious breads etc. We took a cooking class and Karim translated.....we made our whole dinner....it was absolutely fascinating, and I was thrilled to interact with the two female chefs from the village. There is not much opportunity to meet women, but they were always smiling and very patient.
I especially loved learning the art of making tea....the proper Moroccan way. Our hamman experience was wonderful as was the massage. The rooftop is designed to look like a Berber tent and that is where the kitchen is and the guests are served. I did wander around the village, it was interesting to watch the daily life unfold. The owner helps the economy of the village by hiring locals to work at the Kasbah, thus creating an environment of goodwill. We loved our time out at the Kasbah, a beautiful place to relax, and just "be". I hope I can return someday.....

  • Liked — the authenticity, and luxurious rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Omar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Omar

Address: Anrar | Ourika Valley, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new luxury Kasbah with an ancient soul located in the cool heart of the Atlas Mountains. 40 Minute drive from the Marrakech Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kasbah Omar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Omar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.