We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ourika
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Bab Ourika to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ourika
Hyattsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We attended a wedding at Kasbah Bab Ourika and it was the most romantic, unforgettable, beautiful location for a wedding. The staff were amazing; always friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel was clean and very well cared for. The rooms were spectacular with amazing views. It was such a pleasure to be outside of the city and experience a more relaxed atmosphere. The hotel has its own vegetable gardens which provide lots of fresh produce for the meals. The breakfasts were fantastic with fresh fruit, orange juice, homemade granola, homemade bread, yogurt and eggs. The staff were great with our kids and really did their best to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed. The hotel manager was also very helpful in organizing excursions and activities for the kids like donkey rides, camel rides and hikes in the mountains. The hotel is nestled in the mountains with 360 degree views of mountains and small villages. We really couldn't have asked for a more amazing experience! I would highly recommend this hotel for a family, couple or wedding party. It is an experience you won't soon forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    57
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
54
197
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were booked in for the last two nights of our holiday and wished we had arrived much sooner. Currently just about our favourite hotel anywhere - and we've been to over 50 countries. A kind and generous welcome, fantastic views, a placid atmosphere ... can't recommend it enough, or wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We've booked Kasbah Bab Ourika, well in advance because it has only 10-15 rooms. It was expensive, too! But once you enter their garden, it all make sense.

Luscious gardens, pool, their own organic vegetables, and the view. The view is indescribable! Mountains, valleys, desert, houses, roads and the night is just seasoned with huge sky and the stars.

Room was cute, not so big but it had fireplace and every afternoon a guy would come to light it up. Bathroom was great and their own line of cosmetics is fabulous. It's a pity they are not selling it.

Once you are in Kasbah Bab Ourika, you can not really go anywhere. Not that you even want to, but be prepare for high prices of snacks, drinks and absolutely overpriced food. Dinners are great and you really have a special feeling being among so few people in the place.

After week of surfing on the Atlantic, it was perfect place to go. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are so diverse, you should try your luck :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The drive to Kasbah Bab Ourika gets more and more interesting as the tarmac runs out. You really feel like you are getting away from everything and escaping the hustle of Morocco/Marrakesh. If you are a nervous driver/passenger, I would probably recommend a taxi, or closing your eyes, as the roads are quite steep and narrow!

Amanda, the manager, is what makes this hotel. She is so accommodating and helpful with anything you require or need to know.

We were here for a wedding. There were several young children. The staff could not have been more accommodating and organised children’s meals each day for us.

Our room was delightful. Very comfy bed, very spacious, nice bathroom. There is a nice pool area and several places to relax. The food is good and waiters very attentive.

I don’t really have any complaints about this hotel. Service is great, location is great, hotel is great. Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I can't give the place enough compliments. They exceeded all sorts of expectations from a customer service point of view with excellent communication and service.

The Kasbah is set in beautiful, quiet surroundings, with plenty of places to enjoy the view and a nice pool. The drive up in itself is an experience and a much needed espace from the heat and hustle of Marrakech.

We like to eat in nice restaurants and the Kasbah was amongst the best food we had in Morocco and good value! The portions are small, yes, but this encourages you to have some of the fine desserts.

In short:
The Kasbah: Beautiful, peaceful, well serviced
The Rooms: Spacious, Great bathrooms but Hot as no a/c
The Food: Fantastic with brilliant drinks selection

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this resort for three nights and four days. It was very very relaxing and quiet and we had an overall good time.

It is a beautiful property tucked in the middle of the mountains with only nature around you and nothing else. The swimming pool, where we spent most of our time is not very large but has a great view. Generally it is meant to be a relaxing experience so you are always forced to be mindful of how much noise you are making or how loud you can be. I found that a bit frustrating after a few days.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served at the resort and made by the staff. There is a few choices for each meal and you are asked to provide your preference a couple of hours in advance. The food was OK but not outstanding.

I think it is a good experience for families (most of the demographic there anyways).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in for 3 nights, and I wish we could have stayed a bit longer :) After a warm and friendly welcome, we entered into a little green paradise! The view all around is just amazing, like a little Moroccan Grand Canyon, and the gardens call for peace of mind. You can find several spots where you can just sit or lay down to read, relax, sleep... The concept of this place seem to whisper "no stress, take it easy, we'll look after everything..." And so it is. The owner is really nice, always available and smiling when you need something, as the whole staff. The food was very good too, you can taste the freshness of the homegrown vegetables. What more can I say? This place is definetely worth a visit! Greets from Luxembourg :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Bab Ourika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;