We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mini Moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ourika
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Save
You added Kasbah Bab Ourika to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ourika
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Mini Moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent three nights here in September 2012 after our week in Marrakech for our wedding.
It was a perfect mini moon, so relaxing, amazing rooms, great service, yummy food and great value.

Its the perfect contrast to Marrakech and a great way to experience the Atlas mountains.

We went on the Monday market trek with Mohammed, he was fantastic. Spoke perfect English and invited us to his home for mint tea. We also did the camel trek with Omar, again he was fantastic although he spoke less English but tried very hard to keep up conversation.

I would recommend the Kasbah in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    64
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
58
225
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff is mostly from the surrounding mountain villages and the hotel goes out of its way to involve and help the local Berber communities. They built it using traditional methods and the enormous kitchen garden is maintained by a team of hard-working villagers again using traditional methods. The water pump that the owner installed brings running water to two villages and the hotel provides equipment for the local school. The whole experience is of a sustainable and welcome project in an area of poor employment prospects.
The food is very good, particularly the Moroccan dishes...no surprise there. Veg and salad are as fresh as can be having travelled food metres rather than miles! The views are astounding and the rooms are lovely. The trekking is great and the Berber guide the hotel use is well worth using. The smiling staff, for whom nothing is ever too much, who remember you within a few hours of arriving and who appear genuinely happy in their work make the place what it is. Even the donkey seemed to have a smile on its face :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved every aspect of our trip but Bab Ourika was the best. Stunning setting -- lovely service -- couldn't have been better (OK the pool was ice cold in December and I have had a better massage in my life). Still I would not have traded the experience for anything else. We will come back someday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the property -- there was one with a fireplace and an outdoor sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I actually stayed at Bab Ourika back in November of 2009, and am only now realizing that I grossly overlooked reviewing this magical property. So please allow me to weigh in as I have nothing but glowing reviews.

I was also blown away by the poetic accuracy of the hotel description provided by "Boywithkite" so please do give that review a read. This is the only hotel that I have arrived at where my spouse and I were fairly convinced that we had taken a wrong turn somewhere and the hotel could not possibly be down the road we were on as we were on the outskirts of a very small, very desolate village. We were very happy to be proven otherwise, and thus began our most magical trip in the Ourika valley.

Our typical style (which proves to be atypical for most) is to rent a car and explore the lesser known areas. We were able to do this from Bab Ourika, and we very much enjoyed hiking to see the seven waterfalls; we booked a guide right at the trailhead and the local ended up inviting us back to his home for Moroccan Mint tea which was great. It is always nice to learn more about the area from a local, and without him we would not have been able to scramble up a steep section that allowed us to see all of the waterfalls.

The following day we booked a guide through the hotel and he took us to their weekly market in town, which was a fascinating cultural experience - and one where you will get to see all of the "Berber taxis" and "Berber Land Rovers" parked. You'll learn that this is a reference to their donkeys and mules which are the most common mode of transportation for locals. It is amazing to see how they traverse steep cliffs and countryside on these animals. It's their everyday noraml way of life and it's amazing. Our guide also took us on a day hike and showed us the many peaks nearby. He actually invited us to stay in his home at the end of our trip! They really treat you like family there.

Back to the hotel - the food, the ambiance, the beauty of being so removed from the hustle of Marrakech, all of these things make this one of the absolute best hotel experiences I have ever had. I challenge you not to find this place romantic. We always pack a backgammon board and would enjoy a cocktail under the stars before dinner. When you arrive back to your room you will find that the staff has light Moroccan lanterns to light your way to your outdoor entrance to your room (though perhaps not all of the rooms enter from the exterior?)

The rooms are rustic, purposeful elegance. Just the right amount of decor without overdoing anything. It allows your mind and your soul to fill in the rest. The best way for me to equate my overall experience here is that it feels like a Moroccan equivalent of Tuscany. Your own private sanctuary. There is nothing touristy about this place. It's beautiful, sophisticated, and authentic. It was passion and love for the land that made this hotel a reality. I highly recommend staying here for at least two nights in conjunction with a stay in Marrakech (we stayed at Riad Elizabeth and also recommend it!)

Thank you, Bab Ourika. It's places like this that make travel so magical.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The view's the thing here. Incredible vistas out the back patio. Went on an overnight trek from here up to a Berber village in past Siti Fatima with a great guide as well. Food is a bit hit/miss. Stick with the Moroccan options on the menu. That said, the vegetables are grown on premises and that is a plus. Also warm fires at night. Beautiful atmosphere. Sweet and knowledgable staff who are very attentive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food was delicious and much of it is grown on the property. The management and staff are top-notch and someone is always available around the clock. The setting and views are spectacular. There is enough space inside and out that you can mingle with other guests if you like, but if you want to enjoy your solitude there are many lovely places to relax. We stayed for two days and I wish we had planned to stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our short stay in Bab Ourika. The staff looked after us, and kept our wooden fire going in the evenings to fight off the cooler winter weather. There's little surrounding the hotel apart from a couple of small villages, but it's a great place to go for a wonder and take in the views.

The food on offer was limited (with only two main courses available) but ok, and wifi was just available in the main reception with a very slow connection. I dont think you can complain about this though, as it is great to escape the internet for a few days and catch up on some reading. Recommended for the end of a trip to wind down after travelling to Marakesh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Bab Ourika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.