We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis less than an hours drive from Marrakesh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le jardin de Timalizene

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ourika
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le jardin de Timalizene
Save
You added Le jardin de Timalizene to your Saves list
BP67 | Vallée de l'Ourika, Ourika 42450, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Ourika B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little oasis less than an hours drive from Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Remy and Mustapha are great hosts who have worked hard to make Le Jardin de Timalizene a special place. Remy has put a lot of energy into the gardens and is a talented artist. Mustapha is a fantastic cook. Meals are shared in a traditional way; eating from the same dish.

We had a lovely couple of relaxing days here. There is a nice round trip up the hillside behind Le Jardin, with fantastic views of the valleys of the Atlas mountains foothills. Another half hour drive takes you to Setti Fatma; a village at the top of the Ourika valley from which you can make walks to the waterfalls. Very popular with local tourists.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I thoroughly recommend le jardin de Timalizene. Remi is a very interesting man and Mustapha is a wonderful cook. Timalizene is serene and relaxing; unique accomodation in marvellous surroundings. The rooms are large and comfortable if a little spartan. Our hosts ate at the table with us and we enjoyed a pleasant evening in entertaining company. Be warned, however, that Remi speaks only a little English and Mustapha none but if you are not a French-speaker, don't let this deter you. If you intend to visit the High Atlas you couldn't ask for better company, food, and surroundings. I wish we had stayed longer.
Gary Cole, England

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We arrived after a rather fraught journey with three boys (14, 12 and 10) from Essaoiura during a taxi strike, Jardin de Timalizene was like an oasis of calm in the hills. The rooms are simple,stylish and we immediately felt at home. The gardens are a pleaure, terraced with hidden corners filled with flowers, herbs, rabbits and frogs with a river running past the bottom.The house is a good base to explore the foothills of the Atlas mountains, we saw the local Berber villages and Remi took all the guests on a walk to the local village on market day where we had fresh fish with bread and salsa in the shabbiest falling down cafe which we would never have entered on our own (food was good - not so good were toothless locals wailing songs accompanied by tuneless stringed instrument) Back at Timalizene the food cooked by Mustafa is fab - he uses a lot of home grown produce (not the rabbits) the communal evening meal was Moroccan food, the other guests (they tend to be French speaking as are Remi and Mustafa) were very good about trying to speak English and including us in their conversation. The boys struggled with the food as they are very unadventurous but managed to find enough that they could eat. Breakfast was a selection of home cooked breads and preserves with hot chocolate - we were all very happy with that. They have a hammam which they fired up and we all took it in turns to relax in there which was bliss. A tranquil and serene place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Apart from its location in general (great landscape, not too hot even during summer, lots of opportunities for hiking), le Jardin de Timalizene offers big and comfy rooms, each designed individually, the already famous "cuisine Mustapha" and a huge and beautiful garden to chill out and digest. It's the ideal place to relax and get in touch with nature after a few dusty and crowded days in Marrakech. What struck us most was the hospitality and personal atmosphere, which isn't that easily found elsewhere in Morocco. You shouldn't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

It's one of the most nice and relaxing place where I've ever been in Morroco! The location is outsanding just between the waterfall of Seti Fatma and the ski resort of Oukaimeden. It's therefore the best place where to stay if you want to experience nice walk in the mountain or chill out by the waterfalls. The landlords are really welcoming, interesting people to have a discussion with around the breakfast or dinner table.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le jardin de Timalizene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin de Timalizene

Address: BP67 | Vallée de l'Ourika, Ourika 42450, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ourika
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house with big garden, 5 rooms. Hammam, trekking, very good cooking. In Ourika valley, near Marrakesh (41 km) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le jardin de Timalizene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.