We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Cave Adventures

Wild Cave Adventures
Engedi, Plot 22 | Protea Ridge Honingklip Road, Krugersdorp 1746, South Africa
27 0 824862464
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Abseil in through the roof of the cavern used on "The Amazing Race" dressed in overalls, helmets and torches. Spend 1.5 hours on an underground adventure by torchlight. No previous experience needed. Booking is necessary to secure a place on a trip. Excursions run all year round - daytime and early evening. Only 40 minutes from Johannesburg and Pretoria in the Cradle of Humankind Heritage area.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was surprised to find that there was actually the caves in that part of town. The experience was well worth the time. The guide really was great and informative and what was refreshing is that because he saw that we were an adventurous bunch he took us on an adventurous route.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordview, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“A perfect anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and myself are very adventurous people so when we found Wild Cave Adventures we were ecstatic. It was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives. we would recommend that you need to tour one of these caves at least once in your life. The guides are really incredible as they change the tour to cater for your personality. If they can see you like adventure then they will make the trip a bit more adventurous. They know the caves inside and out and are willing to do anything to make sure you have the best experience possible.
We are even planning a second trip. Nothing compares to the beauty the caves hold, from the pure aesthetics to the knowledge gained to the memories made. This is a MUST-SEE

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
“Public Holiday exploring the caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wild caves is an amazing! Our guide wasknowledgeable, kind, patient and a pleasure to listen to. Who would have thought that such a beautiful cave existed with a rich history. Everyone should do this at leasts once in their lives

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“The 1-2-3's of caving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Caving at this level was always something we wanted to do, but didn't quite know how to go about it.

Niel (the first guide), made us feel right at home and very confident in our ability as cave novices as he took us through the procedure of navigating a cave for the first time.

After completing the "Bat Cave" a group of 3 including myself were very eager to progress to the more intermediate caves.

-And Swartkrantz was certainly no disappointment.

I loved how helpful Sandy and Neil were with conveying the level of skill needed to complete the cave as well as their quick response to get the expedition on its feet.

They were fantastic to work with and we cannot wait to start Westminister.


Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A journey to the centre of the earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Did the bat cave as our first trip. Was insightful and not to strenuous on the body. A good beginners trip. Next time we'll tackle the bigger caves.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Cave Adventures also viewed

Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Wild Cave Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Cave Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.