We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in a country setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King William IV

King William IV
Chishill Road, Heydon, Heydon SG8 8PW, England
+44 1763 838773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Heydon
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our 16th Century Inn is set in the heart of the glorious Cambridgeshire countyside yet only one hour's drive from London or twenty minutes from the beautiful University city of Cambridge. We serve real ales and an excellent selection of bar meals. The restaurant is a perfect for a romantic evening for two or a party of up to 70. An excellent venue for business lucheon or dinner parties by arrangement. Please note that our opening hours are slightly different to our serving hours. Serving Times: Mon-Fri: 12:00-2:00 pm 6:00 - 9:30 pm Sat: 12:00-9:30 pm Sun: 12:00-9:00 pm
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gem in a country setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This has to be by far my favourite pub for a nice evening meal. The menu is varied and although slightly more expensive than average pub grub, the quality speaks for itself.

The restaurant is cosy and especially nice in winter months. Plenty of parking too.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    48
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I've visited the King William a few times now and every time it has been fantastic. It's a gorgeous pub and the food is the best pub food I have eaten. It is slightly more expensive than other pubs but you get a lot of food for your money and the quality is excellent. Staff are friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Just moved near heydon came across this pub one afternoon and wow! Felt like i had walked bk in time! great food,great value, they cater for young families also.you must come here!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Back on Form”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

To be honest, we'd given up on "The Willy". Had a couple of bad experiences. Necessity drew us here again - unexpected guests - and I have to report a great evening was had. Food was plentiful (though this was never a problem) and delicious. Only criticism is that the raised restaurant area is too crowded. I was practically sat on my neighbour's lap. I would request a table in the bar area next time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“All the atmosphere you could ask for with terrific food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

We visited this pub on the recommendation of friends and it was worth the journey! The food was of an excellent standard without scrimping on portion size and staff were friendly. The pub itself has a welcoming and cosy atmosphere with inviting seats in nooks and by fireplaces. Definitely make sure you reserve a table as many unfortunates missed out having turned up without a reservation.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King William IV also viewed

Royston, Hertfordshire
 

Been to King William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King William IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.