We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No doubt he is a great chef, shame about the man himself...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le relais d'Antan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le relais d'Antan
6 place du Capitaine Vigneau, 41800 Lavardin, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Lavardin
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No doubt he is a great chef, shame about the man himself...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Four of us arrived with two newborn babies, hoping enjoy a nice evening meal. However, one of the babies kicked off and whilst we were trying to calm her down, the waiter tried to take our order. We asked for time to settle the little ones. Out came the owner (also the chef), inviting us to go to MacDonalds instead, suggesting he was not a creche and shouting profanities at us at the top of his voice - we were the only ones in the restaurant at the time which is probably why he thought he could get away with it. Or may be he was just drunk. We were left with no choice but to leave at once. So in summary, a child hostile place with a rude premadona for a chef. The Cheval Blanc down the road in Troo knows how to marry great food with great service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    17
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Recommended by Guy and Marnie at Chateau de la Barre, this restaurant was truly extraordinary. The chef's wife runs the front of the house and does her job exceptionally well. The food, service and casual environment, plus a great little wine list, made this an evening to remember. If you're in the area, don't miss this place!
Due to horrible weather the magnificent outdoor terrace on the river was closed. I'd go back in a NY minute and try to sit outside!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite food for a more than reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Exquisite food for a more than reasonable price. You will have to search long and hard to find anything with this quality at any price. Friendly staff and warm welcome. Unassuming indoor dining area and a gorgeous terrace on the Loire river. I would highly recommend their "Lasagne de langoustine". Will definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Understated, relaxing, and sumptuous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our hosts recommended this place and we loved it. Great outdoor ambiance, near a small bridge and river, and in a small French rural town setting. Truly an enjoyable evening to take in the surroundings, great Loire wine selections, and of course, wonderful traditional French cuisine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“a gastronomic highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via Local Picks

On the banks of the little Loir river, in one of the most beautiful villages of France (official classification of French tourist board) the Relais d'Antan is simply a must for every person staying in the Pays de Loire, Sarthe and Loir et Cher areas.

Paul van Gessel, the chef, won two stars at the Petit Luc in Marseille than one star at the Warwick in Paris before chosing to settle next to Montoire, his wife's home town.
His cuisine is based solely on fresh products from daily markets, prepared in the best style of French cuisine as it used to be before trendyness became a must, and plates became larger as portions became smaller. At the Relais d'Antan, nothing is fake, the accent is on the contents in your plate, served in a friendly, unpretentious way. Paul van Gessel does not cater to passing fashions, but produces timeless quality. Just pure flavours, mixed with true savoir faire that only comes with passion and talen and years of experience.
His lasagne aux langoustines is to die for, I could eat it almost every day. For those who like kidneys, his rognon au Porto are the best you can eat, and for others, such as me, he has a selection of fresh fish perfectly appointed, so much so that he has managed to convert me from beef to fish! Fortunately, we live nearby, in Sarthe, so the Relais d'Antan is a regular for us, and every time, our palate is delighted.
In the summer months,lunch and dinner are often served outside, under the trees, on the banks of the Loir river, a romantic setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le relais d'Antan also viewed

Montoire-sur-le-Loir, Loir-et-Cher
 
Troo, Loir-et-Cher
Montoire-sur-le-Loir, Loir-et-Cher
 

Been to Le relais d'Antan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le relais d'Antan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.