We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Prieure restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Prieure

Le Prieure
4, rue de l'eglise, 65700 Madiran, France
+33 5 62 31 44 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Madiran
Price range: $37 - $62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Le Prieure has a rest in a monastic atmosphere, serene and quiet priory forces. The restaurant offers fine cuisine. It can accommodate group meals and seminars. Restaurant closed on Sunday evening and Monday. Open 7/7 from 1 July to 31 August.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Le Prieure restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Truly wonderful experience. Great and affordable for lunch, more expensive but wider menu in the evening. Beautiful surroundings, lovely garden.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Le Prieure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We hgave had a house in the village now some 8 years and eaten in and around the area many times.The Prieure has over this time had a few very good chefs run it.We last ate there in August and as a chef working alongside Albert Roux and his team I was amazed at the complete diference this new team has made. Outstanding new fresh ideas on the menu,what we found even more surprising was that most of the dishes have come away from the local traditional ideas such as foie gras has to be served with apple or the only cheese is brebis not that we dont enjoy these we do But the menu was modern well cooked and presented.A most satisfing evening.Now we have to wait and see if this non traditional way of thinking will be a sucsess I really do hope so.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viella
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Willing to give it another go.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The food was okay, but a little expensive. We felt the service was a little forced and we had to keep getting up to find our bottle of wine as the waiter was no where to be found when the glasses needed topping up.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Been a dozen times, is getting worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

When a young couple took over this restaraunt, with the clear ambition to get at least one Michelin star, we decided to support them. In the meantime we had lunch and sometimes dinner there at least a dozen times. Sofar I didnot review them in order to give them time to settle. You have to know, this is in an area where the locals are used to have a 3 or even 4 course meal for about 12 euros, incl wine. This place started with a choice of the menu for I believe 26 euros. As you can imagine it was never busy. Bot the menu was inspired and original so we went. Lots was very good. But...everytime we went at least something went wrong in the kitchen. When you ordered lambchops pink, they arrived well done. A nice detail was their lobstertank, but after ordering Surf&Turf the lobster was great, but the steak arrived cold. St Pierre fish served as a nem was a nice idea, but probably the oil was not hot enough because the nem was drenched in oil. But we kept going and we kept quiet on Trip Advisor.
Probably to boost the important lunch they now offer a 3 course lunch for 19 euro, offering a choice from 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts. Wine still by the bottle. We tried it today. Both had the smoked salmon, OK but quit salty. When the bread still had not arrived after we had finished the starter we had to ask for it. Then I had fish and ma-dame had entrecote. Both came wih the same mash and leek (de-frozen my we suspected, like the May 21 reviewer noticed). The fish was OK but not more than that. The meat was horrible (although our dog liked it). The rosé we ordered was out of stock, but 2 half bottles were put on ice. Good. But the 2nd bottle was only opened just before desser arrived . That, Tira Misu, was homemade and good. But with wine and coffee we paid over 70 euro for a meal that is elswhere 50% cheaper and 50% better. Moreover, a bottle of Le Jardin de Bouscassé is here 29 euro, whereas the 2 star Puits St Jacques charges 26 euro. So how many chances can you give a restaurant. Check my other reviews, most are very positive and reasonable. The location is great, the al freco dining very nice, the owners mean well, but the kitchen lets them down. Only when we came? Cannot be true. At least we warned you....please tell us when things improve

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Madiran vignoble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Madiran wines are hugely underrated unless you actually try them and appreciate where they are produced, and Madiran village is an excellent base to explore this small area; the high profile Chateau Montus is only a couple of miles away, for example. This classy restaurant is attached to the Madiran wine visitor centre, and we enjoyed lunch on the terrace in the shade of vine-covered gazebos. A modest choice of simple, well - cooked and locally sourced traditional French fare awaits, and a mouth watering wine list of Madirans and Pacherencs. The lowest - price menu is all that you need and served efficiently and affably. The auberge in the main street of the village wasn't serving food so I'd just go straight here as it's very pleasant and civilised and you would not want for anything different.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Prieure also viewed

 
Madiran, Hautes-Pyrenees
Nouilhan, Hautes-Pyrenees
 

Been to Le Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Prieure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.