We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky us..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de Pine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaymont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de Pine
Save
You added Domaine de Pine to your Saves list
Blaymont, 47470 Blaymont, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free bottle of Champagne
Ranked #1 of 1 Blaymont B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lucky us..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

DDP is a real find. Some people use it as a pit-stop to or from the South, but we stayed for 6 nights and it was perfect. Cathy and Marcus have taken extraordinary care over beautiful interior decor, a garden with lots of hidden shady corners, little tables and chairs or a swing-seat, and a stunning terrace. It feels very relaxed ("we're barbecuing later - what would you like? Duck, lamb, chicken?") and yet very aware of guests' needs - little shot-glasses of sorbet appearing for all those by the pool on a boiling afternoon. The recommendations of restaurants are superb, whether at the top-table or in a local square. But when we went out one day, Lucy did an amazing picnic, complete with rug! We think this is an ideal place for switching off: it's not in the middle of a Mecca for sightseeing, though many local towns are pretty, and who doesn't love a French market? but we could, and did, spend happy hours by a warm pool and felt work-stress fall off us.

Room Tip: No A/C in the Opaline room but the fan provided works fine, and it's a beautiful spacious room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusbeckerDDP, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests at Domaine de Pine. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed travelling around the area, especially your trip to the beautiful river side town of Cahor! We do hope to welcome you back to Domaine de Pine soon. Kindest Regards. Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After a week locally in a rented house with our wider family, Domaine de Pine proved to be the perfect place to spend three days before we moved on again to stay with friends in the Dordogne. The location is quite sublime with beautiful views across the rolling countryside and sunflower fields. Nothing is too much trouble for Cathy, Marcus and Lucy who were attentive and accommodating throughout our stay. The swimming pool area was a little oasis and a suntrap and the dining terrace was a perfect setting for breakfast and dinner. The food was excellent too and beautifully presented and again Cathy and Lucy largely cater to order so there is no danger of being presented with something you don't want. Cathy and Marcus have refurbished and decorated DDP with taste, thought and care and for us as a family with two teenagers, the Ruby and African Family suite worked very well. We are already familiar with the local region having been many times before but we did notice how much trouble Cathy and Marcus took with others who were not so familiar, advising them about good day trips and offering to book restaurants for lunch. As keen cyclists, we found DDP to be perfectly located for some excellent bike rides. All in all a great find that we are more than happy to recommend to one and all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusbeckerDDP, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
It was a pleasure to look after you and your family at Domaine de Pine! Cycling around the area is such a fantastic way to experience the diverse beauty of the region. Equally, lazing around the pool does have its appeal! Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and we hope to welcome you all back again very soon. Kindest Regards. Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had the most fantastic time, DDP is amazing, beautiful, relaxing , comfortable,you could go on and on! We stayed for 8 nights. the setting is rural France- beautiful sitting outside for all our meals,the food was best food we have ever had on holiday. DDP is immaculate.Cathy, Marcus and Lucy were extremely helpful advising on places to go in the areas and local Bastille evenings. We will definitely be back have already recommended it to many of our friends

Room Tip: Any they are all different and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusbeckerDDP, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Many, many thanks for describing Domaine de Pine as 'faultless'. We are all immensely proud! We all loved looking after you every day and very flattered that you chose to dine with us every evening ( aprt from market night). We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kindest Regards. Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived here early July after staying in Paris and The Dordogne. We could not quite believe it .....SENSATIONAL . We were meeting some friends who were already staying here. Everything about the place was fantastic. The greeting we received was so warm and friendly. The house was beautiful so well decorated. The rooms were beautiful and so clean. We were fortunate to be there on the night that they had a chef so we sampled some french delicacies. The meal was superb. I really could not fault the place at all. The only problem was we were only there one night !!!!!! Thank you to all of you who made our stay so wonderful. We will be back. Need to see the sunflowers !! Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusbeckerDDP, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Mandy anad Jeremy, thank you for your kind words! It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests ar Domaine de Pine en route to Spain. Our Chef's Nights are becomming very popular and we enjoy them immensely too! We really hope that you come back and see us again very soon! Kindest Regards. Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first holiday in France and although we were expecting it to be good, this exceeded all of our expectations. Domaine de Pine is the perfect place to stay for a truly relaxing time whilst seeing the beautiful surrounding countryside, exploring pretty towns and experiencing local markets. We stayed for 3 nights in the Opaline room before moving to the gate house for another 7 nights. The Opaline room is gorgeous with a huge comfortable bed and stunning views over the countryside, the gatehouse is also lovely, very comfortable and with everything we needed. The gatehouse terrace is ideal for lazy evenings, drinking wine, as is the main terrace. The pool and pool area is perfect and we had some fantastic meals, cooked by Cathy, on the main terrace with more stunning views. The ambience of the whole place is amazing, very "french", we couldn't have asked or wished for more. Thankyou so much Marcus, Cathy, Lucy...and Lucky for making our holiday the best ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusbeckerDDP, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests in the main house and in the Gatekeeper's Cottage - a great way to experience Domaine de Pine. We miss the beautiful music you chose!! We all (including Luck) hope to welcome you back again very soon! Kindest Regards. Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been using Trip Advisor for many years and have never felt the need to write a review - that's for people with lots of time on their hands! - but I feel that this place more than deserves it.
Set in the middle of the countryside, this is truly one of the best places I've had the pleasure of visiting in France. From first impressions as you arrive through the fields of blooming sunflowers, though to the rooms, pool, food and service everything is superb - it really is a piece of boutique, serene heaven. It is not for those on a budget by any stretch of the imagination but you genuinely get what you pay for, especially in this area of France and down to the Cote d'Azure where places that are no way as good as this are eye-bleedingly expensive.
It's not a guesthouse - it's far better than any guesthouse you'll ever stay in, but it's not a hotel either, it's pretty much in a class of it's own. If you're after a more personal, bespoke few days away, you can't get better than this. We came with a 4-year old daughter in tow and the owners and staff were amazing with her - Lucy will be pleased to know that there is now a princess doll named after her.
My one slightly less than effusive comment is that breakfast is not included in the overnight room price. I can't see anywhere on the website where it tells you that the daily rate is room-only or that breakfast is optional. I may have been wrong to assume that is was, but it came as a slight shock when I got the final bill. This however is a minor point in what otherwise is an amazing place.
We'll definitely be going back - and that's a first for us in France!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusbeckerDDP, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your first Trip Advisor review! We are thrilled with your comments. It was such a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. I am sorry if there was any confusion over breakfast. We do try to be very transparent with all our pricing and have a breakfast menu and prices in all the rooms. It would be great to welcome you back and the first bottle of wine will certainly be with my compliments. Kindest Regards. Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Another lovely stay; beautiful location, very warm welcome and great care taken of you throughout. Nothing too much trouble. Really is hard to fault, good food, comfortable room and a doggie bag for the dog. It is not that easy to find, even with a satnav, but put in Lacardayre and it all becomes a whole lot easier!

Room Tip: Don't think it matters where you sleep, each room has its own personality, but all very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcusbeckerDDP, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! Your comments are enormously appreciated by all of us as we try very hard to make sure that every guests has wonderful holiday and is made to feel spoilt.. A car with a sat nav is certainly a good idea in this region, so that you can explore this facinating region of France and then find your way back!! We all hope to welcome you back to Domaine de Pine very soon. Kindest Regards. Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Pine

Address: Blaymont, 47470 Blaymont, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Blaymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blaymont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously retored 17th century manor house set within a 52 acre private estate transformed into a wonderfully luxurious boutique hotel with individually designed bedroom suites and also one self contained gate keeper's cottage. One of the most beautiful features of the property is a heated swimming pool set built within the walls of an old stone barn, surrounded by wicker loungers with deep comfortable cushions.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be provided by arrangement . New fitness room for 2014 ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de Pine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.