We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Horse Inn to your Saves list
Bay Horse Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   West Woodburn NE48 2RX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Billingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Stayed overnight on a Saturday, bar got fairly busy mainly locals all friendly. My wife and I ordered meals, her chicken was lovely, however my Gammon was off (out of date). Complained and meal was replaced with an apology from the "chef” but still had to pay for it without any compensation. I feel that would have been the least that could have been offered in the light of a spoilt meal, which meant that both my wife and I ate seperately! The room was ok a bit dated, had the four poster room however the bed was very small. The bathroom was odd to say the least; it was a bit like being in a plastic phone box..!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    62
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
12
118
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed here for an overnight stop. Paid £90 for bed and breakfast. Feel this was a bit steep but matches how much you would pay anywhere in this area. We took our dog with us and she was welcome in the bar and rooms of the bay horse. they were very accomodating with her.
We ate in the bar and the food was FAB - bit expensive but tasted lovely. Would recommend the lamb shank.
The locals were lovely and very friendly - all stopping to stroke the dog and ask where we were from.
We went on two walks while here. The first about a 4 mile walk around the river and through the local fields etc. The secomd up at kielder (a 15min drive away)

The room was ok. We booked the four poster room however the bed was very small. We had a nose at the other rooms and the best by far was the family room at the other end of the corridor. The bathroom was odd to say the least. It was a bit like being on a ferry - a plastic tardis!
The room was very hot and not agreat night sleep however that might have been the snoring coming from my husband and dog!

Breakfast was lovely - Husband liked the sausages which is an achievement in itself.
Overall a nice day and evening in a local inn!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We visited the Bay Horse Inn in West Woodburn for lunch. We ordered haggis with an "award winning whisky sauce" which sounded great, and a burger. The burger was pretty bad and was served with baked beans which was odd but the haggis was so revolting we both felt sick after trying it. It was so fatty and the sauce so bad that we had to leave it.

I travel a lot and have visited many pubs, cafes and restaurants and have never felt compelled to write a review about a place until now. It shows how awful the food was. The only redeeming feature about the place was the open fire.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Over-nighted here, great value. Very helpful and friendly staff. Ate in the dining-room, food hit the spot nicely, extensive menu, with lots of local produce used. Public bar has a very good ale selection, friendly locals, and a great jukebox, but it is still a cosy spot to enjoy a quiet drink. A great find!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Horse Inn

Address: West Woodburn NE48 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > West Woodburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Woodburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Horse Hotel Hexham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.