We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undercooked food and slow service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carluccio's

Carluccio's
The Heart, Walton-On-Thames, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Undercooked food and slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The veg pasta was undercooked and really not what I have expected or known before at another outlet. Service was so poor had to ask for the food and the bill a number of times.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Proper italian food without breaking the bank!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I am Italian & a good cook myself, friends say. Carluccio meets my expectations of good Italian food without overpaying for it. I find particularly good value the set menus. I tried different branches (Covent garden/ Kingston Bental centre / Walton on Thames) and they all seem consistent in service & quality. I particularly love the Milanese chicken with salad, & the ice creams are really good quality.Another favourite of mine is the mixed fried fish which h is really lovely, like the one you get in a good seaside place in Italy. My husband likes a fab maccaroni with tiny spicy spinacs balls which are from Puglia. The house wine by the glass is very good and a reasonable price compared other places. The branch in Walton on Thames has pleasant location, attentive staff, and the usual yummy food you can expect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I were staying in the area and decided to venture out to Carluccio's. We were not disapointed - the food was very tastey and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed soaking up the atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Went with friends to try this dreamed italian culture they are proud of to find that no a single Italian work there. All eastern European. Food is terrible by the way

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A favourite family place to eat...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Located in The Heart, we love this restaurant. Firstly, the staff are all really friendly and cannot do enough, they make it enjoyable in itself. Many Saturdays, I eat lunch with my two year old while Mummy is at work and they always make us feel welcome. The food is good and the restaurant is clean and warm. Parking close by and seating inside and out. Really recommend for a nice family meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carluccio's also viewed

Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 

Been to Carluccio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carluccio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.