We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chilled Saturday lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Anglers of Walton

The Anglers of Walton
Thames Riverside | Off Manor Road, Walton-On-Thames KT12 2PF, England
+44 1932 223996
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Barbecue, British, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“chilled Saturday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We joined family at the anglers for lunch on Saturday. The weather as good and the place was as remembered having eaten here many times before.
We ate of the larger menu all of use negated starters and went straight for mains. I have the tomato and mozzarella salad, my partner had the bbq chicken with thyme which was really good. The others had various meals from scallops to the fish platter and sirloin steak. My tomato salad was good but does need something to lift it. The chicken was very flavoursome. There was an issue with one of the meals and the waitress, manager and others did everything to resolve the issue. Let’s just say it was blown out of proportion and the staff I thought were very professional. The desserts looked great. For lunch the anglers has never really let us down and has been good. We will on our own return again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    19
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“as good as it ever was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First time back for 5 or so years and this is one of the better pubs along this stretch of the Thames. Good selection of beers, pleasant place to sit, friendly and helpful staff, didn't try the food this time. Go feed the ducks/geese/swans then go for a pint. At ;least you can sit and watch the boats fo past unlike a few other places around here

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good lunch..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

It's a great setting by the river. The staff were attentive and the beer and burger fine. I am surprised by all the negative reviews, unjustified from today's experience. The burger was reasonably priced, fresh, cooked well and hit the spot.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I've been eating at The Anglers for many years and always have great service and food. I'm somewhat bemused by some of the negative comments made on tripadvisor . Why don't those who leave negative comments people try & run a pub!!
You can't please all the people all the time but in my experience the staff do try very hard and the food is on the whole good .
It's a pub nor a Michelin star restaurant !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“40th Birthday Bash at The Anglers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The function room at the Anglers has amazing views over the river which adds to the overall effect, it was perfect for my wife's 40th Birthday Party.
What struck us was the flexibility of the staff in how we wanted the room set up and changes to the food they would serve. They were very accommodating from the outset, willing to go the extra mile to ensure we were happy and our guests were taken care of.
The actual event was a huge success and again, the staff were outstanding in their attitude and ability to make us and our guests feel welcome on the night itself, even though the pub downstairs was also very busy.
We would have no hesitation is recommeding the Anglers, worth checking out if you are planning a party or function of any type - your guests will love it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anglers of Walton also viewed

Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 

Been to The Anglers of Walton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anglers of Walton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.