We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riverside pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Weir Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walton-On-Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Weir Hotel
Waterside Drive, Walton-On-Thames KT12 2JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely riverside pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on the Thames path walk from Staines to Hampton in desperate need lunch. What a warm welcome with a nice atmosphere of local people and other passing through. The Thames is a special river and each part it's own community, none more so than in this area. Continued development means that the areas is threatened so please support.
Ps the carrot and coriander soup was brilliant and just what the doctor ordered.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I choose to stay here just for a place to lay our heads when visiting our friend and picked this over the faceless larger hotel chains locally....
If you are expecting prestine rooms this is not the place for you, rooms could do with re-decoration but that being said the character of the room fitted the pub and were clean with all you needed.

The Bar manger was very friendly and made sure that he had what we needed.

The Pub overlooks the weir and has seating outside balcony on the front 3 rooms of the hotel.

Pub has open fires and a good atmosphere. Breakfast to order was good and in the price.

All round this is a pub with B&B rooms, what the rooms lack in hi-end finish the staff the location and value for money makes up for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a few times at the weir and enjoyed every stay. The food was great, rooms spacious and clean. Great bath in room 1! The hotel is one of the only dog friendly places around so great place to stay if you want to take your dog!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently had the opportunity and pleasure of a four day stay at the Weir Hotel. Historically constructed to service merchant travel up the Thames, the moment you enter you step back in time. The building is several hundred years old cottage style Victorian. The walls in the pub and dining area are dark oak with ornate millwork. A vintage fireplace centers the room. You are immediately greeted with a feeling of warmth and hospitality. You can visualize tired merchants who after a long day of travel secured their cargo at the dock and boarding the horses came in for a hearty meal, a pint or two, and an overnight stay. It is very unique in the fact that it is unlike an in town pub or B&B being set only 50 yards from the river's edge. Its namesake Weir is the attributed to a weir, similar to a dam, which controls the water elevation throughout the river and canal system, built on the river adjacent to the property. The weir provides for a continual sound of falling water, which is just audible at night, but extremely soothing and as I try to stay awake and listen I was quickly taken by the sound to a deep and relaxing sleep. The room was quite nice, very clean, and I was fortunate to have a view of the river through large windows and a patio double door (Room 6). The full English breakfast which comes with the room fee is very filling, most appealing, and cooked to order, provided at your time of liking. a walkway runs along the river and provides for a needed stroll after such a breakfast and provides a nice scenic view of the river. The walkway was originally the foot path used to tow the barges by horse. It is certainly a must experience if traveling in or around Walton.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river provide the best views of the river, cannal, and weir along with the water so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went here for Lunch during a business trip in March. A very nice typical traditional English pub. A nice Lunch menu with a few choices and reasonably priced. Had a lovely homemade burger and homecut fries, which were both beautifully cooked. No long waiting time, food was served up in no time. Would love to have stayed and had a few pints, as it's the type of pub I could easily settle into for the night, but I will definitely be back. Lovely setting along the Thames. Visit if you get the chance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our second visit in four years. Not bad when you live in Australia. As before we were made to feel very welcome. The food is good with a nice hearty breakfast. The staff are friendly.
The rooms are comfortable and we had a good shower. This is a dog friendly Pub but everywhere is kept very clean. This pub is in a lovely location on the river and a great place to stay at a reasonable price being so near to Hampton Court and not very far from London.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I ate there with friends last weekend after looking for a riverside pub on the outskirts of London. The location of the pub is great, right by the river and in a great location to walk along the thames path up to Hampton Court (3 miles).

We ordered at 4.30pm and our food arrived within 15 minutes and was piping hot. It was fairly standard pub grub, nothing special. My friends had the chicken wings to start which were a poor imitation of KFC, not entirely appetising. They then both had lamb shanks and commented how tasty it was. My steak pie needed livening up with salt as it was just a bit too bland on it's own.

The staff were polite and helpful at all times, and when it started to rain they quickly helped us and our meals move indoors.

If you're looking for posh nosh, or gastro dining, this isn't it - but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a reasonable pub serving average food for average prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Weir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weir Hotel

Address: Waterside Drive, Walton-On-Thames KT12 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Walton-On-Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Walton-On-Thames
Also Known As:
The Weir Hotel Walton-On-Thames, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Weir Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Weir Hotel to your Saves list