We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Al Pesce d'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Al Pesce d'Oro to your Saves list
B&B Al Pesce d'Oro
Via G. Augustariccio 56 | loc. Vettica, 84011 Vettica, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Vettica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

The hotel has very beautiful views of Amalfi coast ( from the balcony).
In my opinion, the location isn't very good. The roads are very busy and narrow, and if you don't have a car, it's quite far and dangerous to walk to Amalfi. If you have a car, it's very busy and slow going.
We had ants in the rooms.
The cleaning lady and one of the owners was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Its perhaps a bit unfair to this B&B that the previous 2 nights we had stayed in a 5* fairly expensive hotel in Sorrento. This B&B was just a stop over as we knew we would be out all day and then leaving early again so I pretty much just booked the cheapest place I could find on Booking.com that was near Amalfi.

The plus points for us were that it had a free car park and that it was cheap.

The room we were in had a great view though and it was just a 5 mins drive from the centre of Amalfi. The staff didn't speak amazing english but were very polite and hospitable. The room was simple but clean.

Downstairs is a restaurant / pizzeria but it wasn't noisy to the point of being a distraction.

Not a lot else to say as we were not there very long at all but it was fine which for the price is high prise in my book.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

This beautiful B&B is about 25-30mins walk away from the town of Amalfi (yes we walked every step). It is in a lovely spot overlooking the sea with the mountains behind the property. There is a beach down a few hundred steps - normal in these parts. We spent 4 glorious nights in one of the rooms facing the front with a balcony that faced the sea. Lovely mornings (dawn) and evenings (dusk). Loved Snr Pasquale and his family - they made us so part of the family. We met the "original" Al Pesce D'Oro Don and Dona, Snr Pasquale's daughter, step-son, wife, cousins, nephew the cooks and waiters. The rooms we had was spacious and very clean, great a/c and comfy beds. The family were happy to provide any service to make us welcome including including the pressing of clothing.The breakfast was wonderful and we could ask for almost anything - nothing was too much.The restaurant food was amazing and fantastic portions. We were even gifted items that we'd not ordered - the lovely lemon cake (traditional of the area), the liquor soaked baba, the yummy bruschetta with mozzarella, the steamed beverages.... I could go on. The local buses to/from Amalfi, Vietri (eastward) and Positano and Sorrento (westward) stop not too far from the hotel. We've seen people shuttled to the restaurant - which was always full. We were shuttled to Amalfi town as Papa Pasqua looked out for us. Loved them, loved the B&B. Will be back there soon.....

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We were recommended the restaurant by our hotel and were grateful for the shuttle service that the Pesce D'Oro offers. The restaurant itself is dated and with little charm, and almost no atmosphere (on a Friday night). The staff speak no English and were abrupt with very few pleasantries, just repeatedly asking 'is good?'. The food itself was OK, quite expensive but the portions were large. Like other reviewers we were also force fed the piece of cake at the end. When it came to the end of the meal we asked for the bill 3 times before it finally arrived, hand written by the owner in illegible writing and with 10% service added on. Before even having a chance to check everything properly the owner whisked my card away and returned a few minutes later with receipts to sign (no chip and pin). All in all we felt ripped off and disappointed, you'd be much better to head to Amalfi for a decent meal.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Yes, it is a bit out-of-town, up the winding roads from the lovely town of Amalfi in Italy, but the views of the Tyrrhenian Sea & the Amalfi Coastline from your room at this small, charming B&B will take your breath away! The service, under the watchful owner Pasqua (who is a charming, eccentric character that you will love), is extraordinary! Everyone that worked there were so accommodating & nice. They had two wonderful restaurants of the same name, one on the first level and one on the second level...both open air & attractive. The cuisine was fabulous! The very first day, Pasqua insisted that we try some dishes from the buffet table they were breaking down. He sat us on the outdoor patio on the 1st floor, poured some cold, dry, crisp white whine & served us delicious homemade meatballs plus penne pasta with a fresh tomato, basil & onion salad followed by fresh figs. Incredible! The view was gorgeous & we spent the rest of the day just there. Our room was impeccable & comfortable. We stayed 4 nights. No doubt the narrow, hairpin turns of the long & winding road to this place would not be for everyone, but it is worth it. There is a parking lot plus Pasqua & his family were always there to help give you a lift into town. There are also buses that run at set times. Quite an adventure.

Room Tip: Do ask for a front room facing the sea with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Before we book a holiday we always check reviews about the Hotel we will be staying in. We decided to book at the Al Pesce D Oro to spend our 6 nights in Amalfi and I can tell you that we did the best choice in booking this B&B.I have a 23 years experience in Hotel business and I worked in huge Hotels as Managerial positions and I know about customer care and how to make guests feel comfortable when they go for holiday. This B&B is run by the Civale Family and as from the first day they made us feel like we were part of their family with their kindness and friendliness.The place is located just 5 minute drive from the centre of Amalfi and if you don't have a car like us you don't have to worry because there will always be someone from the hotel to take you down free of charge.There you will meet Pascuale which he run the place with his brother always asking if everything is fine.We also met their parents which started the business years ago still going there and talk to guests.The 2 main waiters that we met were Manuel and Andrea and I wish I had them working with me in the hotels i worked....both very young but very professional in their job and both have the knowledge of excellent employees. Enza took care of the cleaning in the rooms and the public areas and its like she never have a day off...such a nice woman with the know how of how to clean.Rosario is one of the chefs which produced mouth watering dishes especially the fresh fish,Pasta & Pizza. Last but not least is Romolo which takes care of the rooms reservations and he is always there too to help and see that everything is in order.
The food is excellent and this place is well known in Amalfi as many locals we met in the city all know the Civale family and the excellent service they offer. The rooms are big enough and with breath taking view of the Amalfi Coast. They have also free WIFI.
We recommend this B&B to everyone who want to spend some days in the beauty of Amalfi and we will definitely be back and staying once again a the Al Pesce D oro.

We would like to thank all the people at the Al Pesce D Oro for making our holiday a one to remember.

Roderick & Roxana
Graz
Austria.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chiclamina Room...amazing view with a large Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful week, making Al Pesce d'Oro our base, to tour the Amalfi Coast. The family-run B&B with excellent restaurant is ideally situated just outside Amalfi and offers free car-parking, a real bonus in this area. We were welcomed on arrival and shown to our lovely room with a balcony overlooking the sea, just behind there's lemon groves to relax with a coffee in the morning. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the mezzanine, also overlooking the sea. We chose to eat here several evenings as well since the food is so delicious and fresh. Andrea and Manuel, our waiters, were always attentive, and helpful with English when we didn't understand the Italian :-) Nothing is too much to ask, we were offered a lift to Amalfi to catch the boat for Capri, much better than walking along the busy road in the morning. We recommend this establishment most highly!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Al Pesce d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Al Pesce d'Oro

Address: Via G. Augustariccio 56 | loc. Vettica, 84011 Vettica, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi > Vettica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vettica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a panoramic corner of the Amalfi coast, overlooking both the typical terraced hillside cultivated with lemons and the beautiful Amalfi's bay, "Al pesce d'oro" B&B welcomes its guests with discreet and family hospitality, ensuring their relaxation. Recently tastefully refurbished, the furniture has the typical features of the Mediterranean architecture, such as maiolica tiles from Vietri, wooden furniture, antique frames and wrought iron headboards; they are equipped with all modern comfort, independent access, private terrace with sea view and private parking. "Al pesce d'oro" restaurant, runs by the same owners, is located a very short distance from the B&B. Here you can enjoy typical dishes of culinary tradition of the Campania region, delicious pizza and sip fragrant local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your B&B Al Pesce d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Al Pesce D'Oro Amalfi Coast, Italy - Vettica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Al Pesce d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.