We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd love to make staying here an annual thing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Al Pesce d'Oro

Save Saved
You added B&B Al Pesce d'Oro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
B&B Al Pesce d'Oro
Via G. Augustariccio 56 | loc. Vettica, 84011 Vettica, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Vettica B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We'd love to make staying here an annual thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had an incredible time here. Loved the location! It's close enough for non-lazy people to walk to Amalfi, yet far enough to get away from the crowds. There's a bus stop across the street, too, and the staff will give you a ride to Amalfi if you ask, so you never need to use a car. People! You miss far too much using a car! One of the best experiences we had was climbing up a stairway to St. Michael's church high above the B&B and drinking lemoncello with the priest there, then we made our way to Amalfi over the course of three hours, stopping many times along the way at a fish market, a cafe, a cemetery, and just to take in the views. This is the way to travel, and Pesce d'Oro is the perfect place to stay for that! The food was excellent, the staff treated us well, and the rooms had lovely views of the sea. Nothing like sipping cappuccinos while staring out at the Med in the morning. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The signs indicate Al Pesce d'Oro is about 2kms from Amalfi township but it's more like 4km. We grabbed the bus heading for Sorrento and asked the driver to let us off here where we were put in a room with a splendid ocean view. It's a quirky hotel where it's a struggle to find someone who understands what you are trying to convey in English (a little bit like an Italian Faulty Towers), but the staff are friendly and do their best. For a three-star hotel, it is good value for money and the location is lovely. Try not to miss the last 9pm bus going up to the hotel as it's mad walking back from the town on the windy coast road, hugging the cliff everytime a car comes flying around the corner (about a 45 minute walk)!
Breakfast may be challenge for some as every morning we were given only sweet things on a plate, which included a sweet croissant, fruit and a piece of cake or pastry. Sometimes we got fresh bread to go with our selection of jams but other times just dry, crunchy toast in a packet. However, we did get an amazing freshly-squeezed orange juice and a good cappuccino each morning.
The room we stayed in was perfectly clean, if on the small side (one of our suitcases was squeezed into the wardrobe while another was on the floor), but the bed was comfortable and we had no problem sleeping.
The hotel has a good restaurant with an extensive menu and there is another lovely restaurant across the road.
All in all, when you get a good deal price-wise you have to consider that things will not be perfect. If you want perfect, stay in a five-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

the room was not clean the bathroom was filthy terrible smel when eating outside we were overcome with fumes of the agregraat the owner and his son were rude the balcony was covert with ants they were everywhere the bathroom was so dirty broken tiles and mould on the walls its smell made me vomit .
when we paid they wanted cach for the pizza we ate on arrival we refused .
the breakfast buffet as promissed was not there instead sweet croissant with i do not eat so there was only coffee for me.
we will never go there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkerod, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Dull reception, but the room with furnished balcony (internet ordered) was splendid as expected. The view overlooking the sea was breathtaking! Dogs were welcomed without extra fees and, the free parking lot was absolutely a plus in this area.

Warning!
Even though the restaurant was good with a large a la carte menu card, they don't itemize the bill on payment. Actually, we didn't get a bill at all - just the amount. We paid 70 euros for two maincourses and a salad, wine and water, a rather high price compared to our expecteations. Our restaurant-bill was paid separately.

The room rate included a large breakfast-buffet according to the description on the internet, but surprisingly there wasn't any the next morning. Instead were offered a traditional Italian breakfast, which we always try to avoid (too much sugar). We paid for the room with our credit card and didn't discover until we were back home that the hotel had charged 100 euros more than the actual booking-price (85 euros).

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and they were overbooked because of a wedding. We didn't get the room we had booked. We where a bit disappointed. They did their best to keep us happy. We got to sit by the wedding party, with wonderful food and musicians. Next day we got the room we had ordered, and they were just friendly and lovely all the time. Gave us free limoncellos and drove us to Amalfi when we wanted to. Bacci :-0

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days here and it was really nice experience. It's some 5 km from the Amalfi so be prepared to travel by bus (which costs a couple of euros). The bus you need leaves right from the port and tickets for it are sold in the bar across the road. The room was tiny but cozy and clean, same with the bathroom. Every room has a balcony, where you separated from your neighbors with something like opaque plastic. Views are amazing: sea, mountains.. There is a beach nearby, a bit tricky to find - have to jump over the fence where the road sign is to get to the trail - but it's worth it. Breakfast was just perfect! There were cheese, meat, bread, butter, jams, nutella, fruits, coffee - whatever you could with - and everything unlimited and super tasty. Never seen better breakfast in any hotel - and while eating it you're enjoying the sea view as well. There's also a good restaurant across the road. One downside - the last bus from Amalfi leaves at nine, so you have to leave pretty early or take a taxi. It's possible (though a bit scary) to walk to Amalfi because you're going down but I would never repeated it after dark.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant on a Sunday afternoon, thinking it would be a less expensive alternative to our 4 star hotel's menu... Very disappointed as pizzeria is only on in the name of the place, but no pizza available at lunch (!!?). We thus took 2 plates of pasta with frutti di mare (basic trattoria cusine) and some grilled zucchini plus water... The young rude server ( from the family?) took his time to chat, walk, slowly serving all the other people (even those arrived after us) while the big boss ignore us as mire important was to count his money, bills, profits and so, business is business... So we were served after some 45 min or more, no comments on that... As for the price, add the exceptional 3 € / person for pane& copperto (while even in Capri this is max 1,5- 2€ ) and 10% of tips obligatory (such an exceptional service, worth every penny!!) so total around 40€ for a basic trattoria far from Amalfi with the coast bus trafic 10m away, thanks but no thanks! Seems that the Golden Fish in the name it's for the owner's fortune on the back of tourists like us...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Al Pesce d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Al Pesce d'Oro

Also Known As:
B&B Al Pesce D'Oro Amalfi Coast, Italy - Vettica
Address: Via G. Augustariccio 56 | loc. Vettica, 84011 Vettica, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi > Vettica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vettica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Al Pesce d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Al Pesce d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.