We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Al Pesce d'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Al Pesce d'Oro to your Saves list
B&B Al Pesce d'Oro
Via G. Augustariccio 56 | loc. Vettica, 84011 Vettica, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Vettica B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

the room was not clean the bathroom was filthy terrible smel when eating outside we were overcome with fumes of the agregraat the owner and his son were rude the balcony was covert with ants they were everywhere the bathroom was so dirty broken tiles and mould on the walls its smell made me vomit .
when we paid they wanted cach for the pizza we ate on arrival we refused .
the breakfast buffet as promissed was not there instead sweet croissant with i do not eat so there was only coffee for me.
we will never go there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkerod, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Dull reception, but the room with furnished balcony (internet ordered) was splendid as expected. The view overlooking the sea was breathtaking! Dogs were welcomed without extra fees and, the free parking lot was absolutely a plus in this area.

Warning!
Even though the restaurant was good with a large a la carte menu card, they don't itemize the bill on payment. Actually, we didn't get a bill at all - just the amount. We paid 70 euros for two maincourses and a salad, wine and water, a rather high price compared to our expecteations. Our restaurant-bill was paid separately.

The room rate included a large breakfast-buffet according to the description on the internet, but surprisingly there wasn't any the next morning. Instead were offered a traditional Italian breakfast, which we always try to avoid (too much sugar). We paid for the room with our credit card and didn't discover until we were back home that the hotel had charged 100 euros more than the actual booking-price (85 euros).

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and they were overbooked because of a wedding. We didn't get the room we had booked. We where a bit disappointed. They did their best to keep us happy. We got to sit by the wedding party, with wonderful food and musicians. Next day we got the room we had ordered, and they were just friendly and lovely all the time. Gave us free limoncellos and drove us to Amalfi when we wanted to. Bacci :-0

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days here and it was really nice experience. It's some 5 km from the Amalfi so be prepared to travel by bus (which costs a couple of euros). The bus you need leaves right from the port and tickets for it are sold in the bar across the road. The room was tiny but cozy and clean, same with the bathroom. Every room has a balcony, where you separated from your neighbors with something like opaque plastic. Views are amazing: sea, mountains.. There is a beach nearby, a bit tricky to find - have to jump over the fence where the road sign is to get to the trail - but it's worth it. Breakfast was just perfect! There were cheese, meat, bread, butter, jams, nutella, fruits, coffee - whatever you could with - and everything unlimited and super tasty. Never seen better breakfast in any hotel - and while eating it you're enjoying the sea view as well. There's also a good restaurant across the road. One downside - the last bus from Amalfi leaves at nine, so you have to leave pretty early or take a taxi. It's possible (though a bit scary) to walk to Amalfi because you're going down but I would never repeated it after dark.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant on a Sunday afternoon, thinking it would be a less expensive alternative to our 4 star hotel's menu... Very disappointed as pizzeria is only on in the name of the place, but no pizza available at lunch (!!?). We thus took 2 plates of pasta with frutti di mare (basic trattoria cusine) and some grilled zucchini plus water... The young rude server ( from the family?) took his time to chat, walk, slowly serving all the other people (even those arrived after us) while the big boss ignore us as mire important was to count his money, bills, profits and so, business is business... So we were served after some 45 min or more, no comments on that... As for the price, add the exceptional 3 € / person for pane& copperto (while even in Capri this is max 1,5- 2€ ) and 10% of tips obligatory (such an exceptional service, worth every penny!!) so total around 40€ for a basic trattoria far from Amalfi with the coast bus trafic 10m away, thanks but no thanks! Seems that the Golden Fish in the name it's for the owner's fortune on the back of tourists like us...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in April and had booked a room via the internet with a sea view. The rooms looked fantastic and as it was my 40th birthday, I was really looking forward to a special treat. Although the staff were friendly, the room was small, old fashioned and quite basic.The bathroom was small, the toilet was loose and water was leaking onto the bathroom floor. Fittings were loose and missing. It was as though we had been given the worst room they had. It was extremely noisy downstairs and we wanted to eat out, but were encouraged to eat there instead. The food was quite nice, but we each got our food at different times (not at the same time) and we were expected to take a bottle of wine rather than a glass each. It also took a very long time to get the bill.The room including breakfast cost 220 Euros and I was extremely disappointed with the experience at Pesce D'Oro. We won't be returning. We felt we'd been ripped off.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Me & a friend of mine stayed at Pesce D'Oro for 4 nights & we absolutely loved it! After travelling 4 hours to get to Amalfi we were greeted by all the lovely staff at the hotel at check in then escorted to our room. The room we had was good sized, tastefully decorated & decent sized bathroom to European standards. Everything was immaculately cleaned daily but the best thing about our room was the view! At any time of the day you had the beautiful Amalfi coast view on your balcony. We ate at the hotels restaurant on 2 occasions & we were happy both times with our meals. The location is close enough to centre yet far enough away to enjoy the peacefulness. We were very upset to leave & i would recommend this hotel & the amazing Amalfi Coast to everyone! Cant wait to return :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Al Pesce d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Al Pesce d'Oro

Address: Via G. Augustariccio 56 | loc. Vettica, 84011 Vettica, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi > Vettica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vettica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Al Pesce d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Al Pesce D'Oro Amalfi Coast, Italy - Vettica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Al Pesce d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.