We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre christmas destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rantasipi Rukahovi

Save Saved
You added Rantasipi Rukahovi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rantasipi Rukahovi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rukankylantie 15, Rukatunturi 93825, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Rukatunturi
sandbanks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent pre christmas destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We visited 13 -20th December wanting to combine snowsport with other activities.
Hotel itself was nice - clean and functional with efficent staff and good range of food.
Ideally positioned for slopes and shops.
This time of the year really suited us,plenty of the white stuff BUT not many fellow guests so all was peaceful and unhurried.I understand however that the following 2 weeks would be totally different with substantial increase in visitors in particular from Russia.
Would we return - probably but as a competant snowboarder not particularly interested in Snowparks I found the variety of runs limiting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel is good for big events, but not for individual travellers. I had a Superior room with a great view, and a very cozy room. However the hotel is too large and for a single person it seems disorganized and easy to get lost in.

Room Tip: superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Great location in a great chilled resort. Rooms are very clean, warm and comfortable. Not too many frills, but Ruka isnt a place you go to to spend your holiday in doors!

Staff were welcoming and happy to help in any way they could. In fact all the Finnish people we met were. Cant say the same for some of the people from over the eastern border. Only 2 gripes are that we didnt have a bath in our panorama superior room and that the housekeeping was not 100%.

Great views of the front slopes. Snow facilities are great for beginners to intermediates, which is great for keeping the posers off your runs!

Will be back in November!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Very convenient location for skiers and snowboarders, just a couple of steps from the nearest ski lift and slopes. Also close to the Ruka’s other services. The hotel itself didn’t impress me much. It is advertising itself as a 4-star hotel, which is exaggerated in my opinion.

The hotel consists of old and new part. I stayed in a “standard room”, which are located in the old part. The room was clean but looked quite worn and outdated. The bathroom was very small. The breakfast buffet was delicious with plenty of choice. Rukahovi might be a good choice if you need just a warm shower and clean sheets after a long day of skiing/snowboarding.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Going to Finland be understanding local people do not care that much if you are happy or if you are not quite. Hotel itself is fine in the main building hosting only superior rooms. standards are placed in 2 neighbouring barracks - small, stinky, uncomfortable (red circles on the picture downoaded from panoramio as reference).
Light antisanitary on the food handling (just picking up fallen food and putting it back to the bar is a rule..), ignorant stuff.
we enjoyed a 7 AM shows from a construction 50 meters from our window, chainsawing and hammering like hell. reception said: "yes, it is sad"...
very costy food in general. for a family of 2 adults and a 2YO daughter and a 7 month baby we spent ~100 Eur per day for simple food, which quality was mainly ok to good.

I'd recommend to go eat to Piste nearby. more affordable, excellent service and clever waiters, well educated mostly to the proffession.

Despite all critics we wnjoyed the stay much, mainly because of beautifull weather (-20-25), everything frozen and sparkling. interesting lighting conditions of few hours light-day with mega-low sun.

We'd recommend the holet with a few "but"s:

1. go to superior room, facing piste
2. be prepared it will be expencive in relation to quality
3. go for nature and actually nice skiing even for an expert
4. be independent, do not expect support and understanding from stuff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Please don't read this review and think that this is a poor hotel as this is not the case as we ultimately had a fantastic holiday.
We flew to Ruka from Gatwick with Jet 2 through inghams on 10/01/10.
Kuusamo airport is tiny, which was great as no sooner had we walked from the plane to within the airport and passport control, the baggage was already coming round the conveyor. The transfer took about 25 minutes with only one drop off before the Rukahovi.During this time a registration card had to be completed which meant that booking in at the hotel only took a minute or so - great idea.
The public area's within the hotel are nice with plenty of wood which gives a feeling of warmth and character. Even though we arrived at 9pm the restaurant was kept open with salad and a warm fresh meal waiting for us.
We booked a standard room. Be warned these are quite a trek through corridors and up and down stairs to get to, not really a problem but with luggage and snow boards its quite a way. The standard rooms are SMALL with an even smaller bathroom ! Again not an issue but this is a 4star hotel. The room was clean, warm and bed comfy. The drying closet within the room was fabulous with plenty of room for boots, coats etc etc. Back to the bathroom it really is small. Sat on the loo just in the doorway your knees bang on the vanity for the sink ahead and the corner shower is squeezed in to your right, with no shower tray the bathroom becomes a wet room and you end up using a squeegy to clear the water afterwards - not really what i expect from a 4star.Shower is good though.
We were given room 375 initially which overlooked the bottom of piste 5 and the top of the drag from run 6. Nice view but directly beneath the room was the shed for the ski doos and piste makers which come and go during the night. Also until Oct 2010 work is being done to the bank alongside slope 5 so we were woken at 7am by heavy machinery. A quick word with the happy and helpful recpetion staff and we were moved immediately to room 386 which although in the same block was on the opposite side so no noise.
We went half board. Breakfast was the same every morning with the usual cereals, cheese / meat, toast, tiny frankfurters, scrambled egg and meat balls, biscuit and cake.
All ok but I've had much better. Evening meal.... good quality and nice but very limited choice. Again starters was a small salad selection, choice of 2 mains usually a meat dish and a fish dish with potatos of some sort and veg. Choice of 1 desert ! One night it was berry jelly with custard !Another night it was fruit salad which, some of the fruit was still frozen. Not really 4 star ??? I'm not a fussy eater but a bigger selection would be a huge improvement. One of our party was a vegetarian and the hotel does do a veggy option - you do need to ask for this though.
The position of the hotel is fab. Two lifts are literally 30 seconds walk away. A supermarket and small shopping centre is 2 minutes away.A couple of bars are again 30 seconds away.
Prices.... a 3 course chicken mexican meal in the hotel was 25E/ steak being 34E. A small beer in the Colorado bar 5.5E ( for half a pint ! ). 18 small beers from the supermarket 20E. Can of cider 3E. Pizza at lunch 8E and basket of chips 4E. We lunched at day at a small cafe with shop attached at the back of the P ski rental shop. They did great Yaakamunti ( large cinamon doughnut ) 2E and 2.2 E for a large coke so you can eat more cheaply if you shop around.
Temperatures were between -5.5 and -14 for the week. 90% time around -7 ideal. Bewarned it had been in the -20 and-30 the week before. We had a couple of sunny days, couple of very windy days when the express and front slope lifts were closed, and a couple of foggy days. Having visited Levi in January also we were pleasantly surprised by the amount of daylight from around 9am until 3:30pm.
The ski area if your used to the 3 valleys is small. If your a beginner or intermdiate ideal, or if like me you hate heights and cable cars better still ! There are plenty of uncrowded gentle slopes to start out on and some mored demanding reds and blacks - although none are that long. Most runs are served by chair lifts.
Pistes were well maintained, with good snow and very quiet.
The resort is very small, far smaller than Levi. If you want clubs, beer, nightlife and shopping not for you I suspect. Families, couples and older folk whom want a quieter holiday ideal.
In all we had a great time, would definetly go back for the snow and boarding, would book a superior room and put up with the limited food. Great holiday - just don't tell everyone !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed for New Year which was brilliant. Location of hotel was great for skiing. Skiing was good for begginers and intermediates, there really are a couple of quite steep hills which i found quite difficult and i have skiied a couple of times before so some runs quite challenging for complete begginers.

Food really not that great, more choice would make a huge difference to what was a really good hotel, that is the only thing that would stop me returning to the hotel.

I have stayed at Levi before and was really wasn't sure if to go back there or try somewhere new like Ruka. To be completely honest i preferred Levi by far. I found there was more to do, the slopes had fantastic little finnish log fire cabins all over them so you could properly warm up, and although they had areas that had fires to warm you up in Ruka they were outside so didn't have the same effect as was freezing -24!!

Wether you choose Ruka or Levi you will have a lovely time. Finland is a great place to visit and have to recommend the Reeindeer Farm if you go to Ruka!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rantasipi Rukahovi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rantasipi Rukahovi

Address: Rukankylantie 15, Rukatunturi 93825, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia Region > Rukatunturi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Rukatunturi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rantasipi Rukahovi 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Hotel in heart of Ruka pedestrian village near lake, 25 km from Kuusamo & airport. Different type of rooms and apartments. Apartments are in wooded surrounding ab 350 meters from the main hotel. Most of standard class rooms are renovated 2012 and 2013 with cosy decor . Spacious superior class rooms with balconies available. In every apartment you can find a sauan where you can enjoy after the refreshing day spent outside. Free wi-fi in hotel rooms and lobby area. Ruka Day Spa - in the hotel permises; facial and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rantasipi Rukahovi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rantasipi Rukahovi Hotel Rukatunturi
Rantasipi Rukahovi Ruka
Rantasipi Rukahovi Finland/Rukatunturi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rantasipi Rukahovi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.