We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cabin, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski-Inn MastonAitio Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rukatunturi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ski-Inn MastonAitio Cabins
Save
You added Ski-Inn MastonAitio Cabins to your Saves list
Rinnekylantie 1, Rukatunturi, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Rukatunturi B&B and Inns
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent cabin, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Really nice location near slopes. Clean cabin with all things included. Service was phone call away and everything just worked. I can really recommend these cabins for families. Our family enjoyed stay and Ruka is great location for skiing and all additional activities nearby, shops and restaurants also.

If you want to be close to restaurants then you should note that there's >2 km ride with bus or your own car.

Room Tip: All cabins great in Maston Aitio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sunny Easter week at Mastonaitio 80.

Convenient location at the Rukatunturi resort. Peaceful, as not in the Ruka Village. Yet easily reachable. Private parking just close to the door for one car, more parking space just few steps away. Ski-in / Ski-out with "private" children slope and rope lift back to the cabin village.

Ideal size for our family of 2 adults and 3 children. With three separate bed rooms, we did not use the living room with extra bed for sleeping. Two teenagers could watch late night movies from DVD while the youngster was already sleeping at her private bed room. Although already few years old, cabin was clean and tidy.

Naturally, equipped with private sauna, jaquzzi at the bathroom was big plus.

Nice fireplace, which needs some tricks to get working well. The wood provided for the fire place were a bit wet, so it needed the tricks to get burning. However, first evening the living room got too warm as the fireplace is really storing the heat :-) There is of course normal battery heating and convenicence floor heating, so these cabins are definitively not cold inside regardless the weather outside.

Kitchen is small, but readily equipped. Prepared the Easter lamb and other evening Reindeer filet for the family, no problem. Dish washer is small, so it is better to get it running after every meal, even three times a day.

Cleaning at the end of your vacation was included, however we were responsible of taking the carbage outside storage and wash all the dishes.

Ruka is ideal for family vacation. Professional sking school for children, also private classes. Not too many slopes to loose your children, yet many different slopes and lifts around the Ruka. And the tracks for cross-country sking are excellent with services as expected.

Room Tip: Do not calculate the extra beds if you want privacy for all travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived at our cabin late in the evening but you could easily see the surrounding area was beautiful.
On the coach you are given your key code number for your cabin which also doubles for the garbage hut where you are responsible for taking your waste.
If you've booked through Thomson or crystal you will receive a grocery pack which is included in your package, for type E cabins you will get 1 and type G you'll get 2.
This is what you will get: Corn flakes, milk, marg, jam, Ham, cheese, coffee, bread, English tea, sugar! (2 of each for type G)
Just outside your cabin you will find a ski storage shed and the log shed full of wood, which will be topped up if you contact the hotel when you're running low!
Type E cabins have 2 bedrooms with a sofa bed and type G have 3 bedrooms plus a sofa bed.
As you walk in you will find the drying cupboard which is ideal for drying boots, skiwear and any washing. There are 2 settings high and low and a timer.
Inside each cabin there is a bathroom with 2 showers, toilet, washing machine and a sauna. You will also find a hair dryer and child's potty.
They cabins also supply plenty of towels and hand wash gel and also shower/shampoo gel in the shower area. There is always spares in the sink cupboard if needed.
There is also a separate toilet. Each toilet has an intimate washer. Plenty of loo roll.
There is plenty of storage to hang coats store boots, hats gloves and scarfs and a large full length mirror.
Each room has a radiator which you can control separately. We turned them off as we wanted to use the fire, and as I'll explain further this heating isn't needed if you intend to use the fire.
There is underfloor heating in the bathroom and tiled floor area which again you can control separately!
The fire has a starter switch which makes it easy to light or start up again, this goes off automatically so you only need to touch it when you start the fire. Matches are supplied but we took some plus some firefighters too which were helpful.
You can adjust the ferociousness of the fire by a lever on the front. It's more like a log burner so you will go through logs quite quickly.
If the glass is quite black, don't be afraid to wipe it off before you light the fire, you'll get a better view!
The sofa is comfortable and very easy to pull out to turn it into a bed and in one of the bedrooms you will find 2 additional thin mattresses to cover it with to sleep on!
The beds can be positions either together to make a king bed or can just be single. You do have to makeup the beds yourself but the sheets are clean crisp and fresh with no stains.
You only get 1 pillow each perhaps 2 if you are lucky but the hotel will supply more if requested. We emailed the hotel to ask for more then double checked with rep before we left to make sure we had them ready! (You will get rep details 2 weeks before you leave with contact email and phone numbers)
The kitchen is fully equipped but if you plan to do mostly cooking I suggest taking a baking tray, a potato masher(they don't do mash in finland) a slotted serving spoon, a wooden spoon and a measuring jug! As these thing are not supplied. Saucepans are very good quality and there was plenty inc 3 frying pans.
There isn't a toaster but the oven doubles as a grill. Although if I'd known I would have taken a cheap one out just for ease.
The kitchen has a microwave, large fridge freezer, dishwasher and full electric cooker!
Supplies are, kitchen roll, washing up liquid, spray, vacuum cleaner, bin bags, cloths and sponges!
You will need to take dishwasher tablets and washing powder.
There was also salt and pepper.
There is a CD player as well on the work top.
The bedrooms have fitted wardrobes and cupboards which we hung clothes in and stored our cases. You will also find towels in these cupboards.
We had to use a hand towel as a tea towel as it seems they don't supply them but there is a drying rack above the sink in the kitchen for washing up.
Each room has a window that will open and all the blinds can be opened and closed and also pulled up.
The view is magnificent so we had the blinds pulled up most of the time.
Smoking isn't allowed in the cabins but we smoked out the back door and there was a small metal tim for cig butts.
There is plenty of lighting in the cabins as well as outside till late, but the outside ones do go off about midnight just in case you're lucky enough to see the aurora borealis!
There's a nice warm blanket too for snuggling up to in the evenings in front of the fire and its decorated to a high standard.
Type G with the upstairs bedroom has a balcony inside that looks over the downstairs.
The open plan is nice and the bedrooms are a good size.
The sauna is easy to use and it has got a window you can open if you need that bit of fresh air!
The location for skiing is excellent! The cross country ski track is right outside as are the walking paths to the village and vuossili ski area.
The walk is not far to either, the village is about a mile/mile and a half and its worth it for the scenery, it's beautiful! There's a few cafes and hotels on the way so you can stop if you wish.
The cabins have a red handbook and instruction manuals. There's maps and info about the area and numbers for different things you might need.
I think I've written as much as I can apart from how much we enjoyed staying and we were sad to come home. We were really comfortable there! No noise from neighbours or any problems at all. I can't recommend these cabins enough! I am happy to answer any questions you have!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We’ve just returned from a week skiing in Ruka. The Maston Aitio cabins were great, there was only 2 of us staying in a 70sqm Type G apartment (didn’t request it, it was just what we were allocated), so more than plenty of room – 3 bedrooms, a living/dining area and small, well equipped kitchen. The log burner was an amazing addition and made the already warm cabin feel extra cosy once it was lit. The bathroom was a wet room with a wc, washing machine, two showers and sauna at the end. There was also a separate wc. The bedrooms and living area have wooden floor but everywhere else was tiled and in these areas there was underfloor heating. Given the temperatures outside, there are no complaints about warming up once back inside the cabin.

The cabins were clean, had plenty of bed linen and towels (although I appreciate with there being only two of us, this wasn’t an issue – I would imagine a family would have had to do some washing!). I understand you can arrange a mid week clean but there was plenty of cleaning equipment should you need it.

If you have any problems with the cabins, you can call reception at a hotel in Ruka. The only time we needed to contact them was when we ran out of wood for the log burner. Within 30 minutes we had a delivery and the next day the wood store had been stocked up! Excellent service.

We arrived late and had arranged a grocery pack, which was overpriced but worth paying a premium as the nearest supermarket is in Ruka village, a bus ride away and closed by the time we arrived.

The location of the cabins is great for the Vuosseli slopes, there’s a small children’s slope at the top of the cabins which takes you to the Masto and eventually Vuosseli slopes, both have blue and red runs. From there you can access Ruka and the rest of the slopes via the lifts. At Vuosseli, there are two cafes and in between Bisro and Saarua there is a bar, all of which serve cheap (for Finland!) and cheerful snacks and meals.

The cabins are located a 10 minute bus ride from the village. There is a ski bus, free of charge if you have a ski pass to show, which runs only once every hour. It passes Maston Aitio cabins 5 past the hour, the first bus running at 10am, to head into Ruka. To head the other direction towards Vuosseli and Bistro it passes around 10 to the hour. The last bus out of Ruka back to Maston Aitio is 18:45 but a taxi cost us just over 13 euros the few times we stayed out later.

We arranged ski lessons and on the first day they were held in Ruka (the remainder of the week they were in and around the Vuosseli slopes, which is very handy for the Maston Aitio cabins). On a Monday the first bus into Ruka is at 9:40 (I presume to meet the needs of the ski school) – we were at the bus stop in plenty of time, along with a family also heading to ski school, but it didn’t arrive. The temperature was -24 so it wasn’t ideal to be stood around for 40 minutes. Other than that, the buses ran well – it’s just a shame they don’t run a little more often and later in the evening.

In Ruka village itself, there are a few bars and restaurants and a supermarket. We mostly ate out but the supermarket is fairly well stocked to cover the needs of those self catering. There’s free wifi in the information centre.

Alcohol in Finland is fairly expensive. We brought some bottles from duty free and I’m glad we did, not only for cost but also because after a day on the slopes we weren’t always in the mood to go back out and wait for the bus into Ruka to have a drink and something to eat.

The ski school in Ruka was great, our instructor was very experienced, very patient and a humorous young lad. He gave us advice on which slopes to practice on and how to use the lifts (which can be tricky if you’re not sure!). He got everyone in the group skiing by the end of the week and I can’t recommend the ski school highly enough, their reputation is deserved.

The Crystal Ski reps were helpful and easily contactable, they have schedules of their availability dotted about all over the village, and they give you details of contacting them both before you arrive and upon arrival. Given the location of Maston Aitio, they also visit the cabins a couple of times during the week to check all is ok.

The only other point is the temperature. It’s very cold but this shouldn’t come as a surprise given Ruka’s location to the Arctic Circle! On the evening we landed it was -35. The coldest we skiid in was -24 but for the remainder of the week it ranged from -10 to -16. Our last day was -5 and it felt positively tropical! The temperatures aren’t really an issue as long as a) you have the right kit and b) you’re moving around. Standing at a bus stop can be a bit nippy! We wore only 3 layers most days and were fine, I found that my face was suffering the most – a balaclava and neck gaiter didn’t really cut it so we invested in neoprene masks and this completely solved the problem, can’t recommend them enough in those conditions! I would also recommend having your ski jackets ready to put on for leaving the plane, you have to walk across the tarmac and even in those few short minutes, the temperature really hits you!

Overall we had a really enjoyable week in Ruka. The slopes were good (although this was our first time skiing so I don’t have anything to compare it to!), apart from the weekends the blue runs were fairly quiet which is great to practice on. The people were friendly. The scenery is stunning so take a camera! I can recommend Ruka to anyone wanting to give skiing a go.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were there as a family of four with our two younger boys aged 5y and 7y from the 27th Dec for a week and travelled with Crystal. Fortunately warmer between -10C and 0 . The cabins were so warm we had to turn heating down and open windows, especially when sitting in our private sauna (amaaazing!). The cabins had everything including a dryer for wet ski stuff. Getting to ski school for 10am was a chore as the first bus to Ruka village was not before 10.05! So add 15e taxi journey in to daily costs. Eating on the cheap still cost us more than 50e/ day. Fins are warmest kindest human alive despite frozen climate.
Best for last: the slopes open until 7pm (well lit) and 11 on Friday!/ soft powder snow esp between trees/ reindeer/ open fires superb and competition level pipe/ jumps etc have left us hooked and definitely planning a return...perhaps with older kids/ other adults if staying at these cabins. Even had special heated waxing room for boards/ skis. Warning- remember your cabin number especially if returning back on the last bus at 6.45pm, very easy to get lost in all the snow and scenery.

Room Tip: Better off with bigger cabin rather than trying to squeeze on sofa bed in living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

13-20 Dec. Freezing -20oC. Need warm ski gear, balaclava's, goggles and hand warmers. Not 3 layer rule for ski clothing but 4 or 5 layer rule! We are unlucky as not so cold last week and looks like weather will be better next week. Booked with Inghams, they were OK (one rep knowlegeable and other new to job). Arrived OK and stopped for 20 min at supermarket (spar like) on route to cabins, so we carried as much as possible! Coach took us to 20 yards of our cabin (3 bedroom). Well equiped and clean, everything worked. Got flat screen TV, internet (via connection to wall, cable provided free), DVD played UK DVD's, woodburner( logs provided free), great drying cupboard, CD, microwave, oven & hob, Sauna, washing machine, ski store. We were in a group of about 20 cabins and next to the Maiston aitio childrens lift and small slope but unfortunately it was closed. Also, only main ski slope lifts open so never tried ski in and out cos of two small kids. We got bus to Vuosseli area where our lessons had been arraged. ski lockers there 6E per day or 29E for week. Ski bus free with lift pass, once an hour, stops 50 yards away from cabin (same bus in opposite direction to Ruka for shops ). Hardly anyone on slopes M-F (not done weekend yet). Fins all speak english and very helpful. Some building work in Ruka near Ruka Suites and bus stop. Ski instructors very good with kids. Easy skiing, nice surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We travelled to Ruka, staying from the 8th March to the 15th March 09. We travelled with Crystal Ski from Gatwick. There are 3 types of cabins to choose from 60sqm, 70sqm and 80sqm. We chose the 70sqm one.

There were 2 families on this trip, both had 2 adults and 2 kids and we were in adjoining cabins (not interconnecting) 2A and 2B.

We chose Maston Aitio because we wanted ski in/out accommodation and I can say that in this respect they are fab ! approx 50 metres from our door was the childrens Masto slope which at the bottom connected to all the other ski areas, it is a bit of a pain on the way home as it is just a tow rope to get back up the childrens slope...but a small price to pay for the most perfect location.

The cabins have lovely forest views, we could see the ski bus stop from our back door if you wanted to use it. I have to say that we only used the bus once or twice because of the ski in/out, if we wanted to go into the village for a meal or shopping, we tended to ring the local taxi company and get a 8 person taxi which took us to the village for 12 euros - not bad split between the two families !!!! Vuosseli is a 20 min walk away.

The cabins are very new and absolutely perfect ! just before you go through your front door, on the right is the log shed and on the left is your ski shed. In the small hallway you have the drying cupboard. There are two bedrooms downstairs and one upstairs, the stairs to which is very very steep but the room is lovely upstairs and had a tv and dvd player. The stairs did have a stair gate built into them that you just release to use.

There is a toilet, and then a separate bathroom with a double shower, toilet, sink, washing mch and sauna, we loved the underfloor heating ! There was a hairdryer also, along with a potty for the little ones !

The living area is a little on the small side (considering that the bedrooms, bathroom etc are such generous proportions) and I would question the ability of the couch to hold 6 adult bums ! (the 70sqm is meant for 6 adults and 2 kids according to crystals brochure) having said that, for our family it was just perfect. The kitchen was very well stocked, full cooker and oven, microwave, fridge freezer and loads of cutlery, pots pans etc. There was a small quantity of washing up liquid, cleaning materials and dishwasher tablets etc in both of the cabins.

All in all, this is just a fab place to stay, this was our second visit to Ruka and we would certainly stay in Maston Aitio on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ski-Inn MastonAitio Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski-Inn MastonAitio Cabins

Address: Rinnekylantie 1, Rukatunturi, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia Region > Rukatunturi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rukatunturi
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MastonAitio cabins are located right next to the Masto slopes in Ruka. Cabins are very good for active families. Near the cabins you can find a rope tow lift and kids' ski area. All the cabins have beautiful views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ski-Inn MastonAitio Cabins Finland/Rukatunturi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski-Inn MastonAitio Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.