We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Ruka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel & Apartments
Rukankylantie 6 | Ruka Ski Area, Rukatunturi 93825, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rukatunturi
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Ruka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Booked a last minute package deal to Ruka which included 7 nights at the Ruka Village Hotel & Apartments where we enjoyed a fantastic stay.

We had a village room in the main block which was perfectly sized for the two of us and styled in typical Scandinavian simplicity. The bedroom was large compared to other ski hotels we have stayed in, had comfortable twin beds, a small sofabed, table, two additional chairs, TV and DVD player. There was a compact kitchen area, complete with fridge, hob, microwave, and all the utensils you could reasonably expect. The bathroom was of good standard with powerful shower, heated floor and a small separate sauna, a great addition to the room. Another well thought out feature was the drying cupboard, effectively a full-height cupboard circulating warm dry air, perfect for ski wear coming in from the sub-zero temperatures outside. There was a small balcony, but other than a brave 30 seconds spent out there post-sauna, we didn’t make much use of it. All-in-all we were very impressed with the standard of accommodation.

One thing to bear in mind is that although it has a staffed reception desk and in almost all respects feels like a hotel, the rooms are not cleaned daily as we had presumed from the word ‘Hotel’ in the name. On arrival, our room had a supply of towels, a spare set of bedding and enough bin-liners to get us through the week. This wasn’t a big problem for us, it removed the possibility of cleaners showing up repeatedly at inappropriate times and I have no doubt that if you wanted extra towels or bedding a quick trip to reception would solve the problem.

Ruka Village is a small, purpose built resort, and the Ruka Village Hotel & Apartments is located in the centre of town meaning nothing was more than a minutes walk away, including the chair lifts to take you up to the slopes. During our stay, the pistes were perfectly groomed and amazingly quiet, no lift queues at all, but be aware that the quietness extends to the night life which is pretty low-key.

Ruka is a great little place to spend a quiet week on the slopes and we’d thoroughly recommend a stay at the Ruka Village Hotel & Apartments.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 evenings in March last year and to be honest, didn't see much of the hotel as we were out and about most of the time.
The room however, was gorgeous and lovely and just everything we wanted. Very comfortable, nice looking room. We were on the ground floor and had a huge terrace area outside the french doors with stunny views. Would definitely recommend and use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having just come back from RUKA for Christmas we had a fantastic time. The accommodation at RUKA village was excellent. The skiing is very family orientated with many slopes suitable for the family to ski together. We found all the restaurants excellent. Staff very friendly and food excellent. We travelled with Cristal and the reps were excellent.

Room Tip: We had room 303 in B block which had a good view of the village and front slope plus we were near to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had the most wonderful holiday in Ruka, the rooms at the ski-inn were above average, the people were more than helpful, and very child friendly
the food is more than acceptable, and the trips were most excellent "especially the Father Christmas trip...and then the separate reindeer sledge ride" this is a holiday that myself and my family will always remember for all the right reasons.
The ski-ing is also excellent for beginners through to the more advanced skiers
book and go ...you wont be disappointed:o)
We will definitely be going back again

Room Tip: we had one of the top quality rooms with sauna and hot tub, the cleanliness of the suite was of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Ruka ski inn village which comes highly recommended and at the foot of the slopes. The sauna and heated boot room came in very useful and apartments were very clean and spacious. My only tip would be to go b&b. We went half board and while the food was tasty, there wasnt a choice and the service was very slow and drinks extortionate!!!! We normally go to the alps were you get a choice of two meals and get half a carafe of wine with your meal but we were getting a bill of around 100 euros per evening (and that was only for one or two drinks each for 7 of us, 3 of which were kids). Rooms have more than enough space and facilities to cook in an evening. A glass of cheap German wine will set you back 12 euros!!! So go to the supermarket or bring pasta etc with you to dine in your room. Breakfast was good however with a fairly good choice.

We are a family of 3 holidaying with friends who were looking to combine a lapland trip with skiing. Every year for the last 5 years we have skied in the alps and while this doesn't compare size wise it makes up for it with what it does have - very quiet, beautifully groomed slopes within stunning scenery and no queues at all. We were lucky in the fact it wasn't as cold as we were expecting! It reached -7 one day but the other days it stayed above -3. Lift passes are cheap and equipment is of excellent standard and most of ours was new atomic gear. The only down side for us was the ski school which didnt really cater for kids who were above intermediate. Our daughter and her friend ended up in the adult group but to be fair they did enjoy it (not sure about the adults). The snow park is fun and there is a sweet little run through the woods for kids. There isnt a huge choice of runs but we didnt mind as they were so quiet and skiing was not all we came for.

We also went on 3 of the best life time trips we could have wished for with Ruka Safaris who couldn't have been more professional. We did the reindeer trip, the snowmobiling for 4 hours, and dog sledding to find Santa. All were magical in their own way! I've heard that some of the other trips with tour operators can be a bit naff so wasn't sure what to expect. We were desperate to see the northern lights and there was only one clear night forecast and the company quite gladly changed our snowmobiling trip to suit this...although sadly it was a full moon which spoilt our chances but we heard that they are seeing them around one in three nights there at the minute.

We will definitely be coming back here!

Room Tip: We stayed in A108 and it was perfect! Close to breakfast and reception so less to travel loaded with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Four stylish & fully equipped apartments per chalet.
Immaculately maintained.
Solidly built, with en-suite sauna & small fireplace.
Quite reasonable off-season rates.
My apartment had a pleasant view of sunsets over a small artificial lake, with forested hills in the background.
Considering it has been close to freezing my whole stay, {September} it should be perfect skiing conditions soon.
I really cannot neglect to mention, the rural Finnish population is not very friendly or welcoming to outsiders.
There have been NUMEROUS unpleasant interactions with the local populace- but I won't bore you with extra details.
One even necessitated my calling the local authorities.
Suffice it to say, there are alot of skinheads in these parts- perhaps in deference to Finland's WWII heritage.
I'm sure it would be a much better region to visit if you are Nordic & tall, elderly, or female.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were two couples in a 70m2 2-bedroom apartment with sauna and as a touch of luxury, a jacuzzi. The apartment was well appointed, but some minor points need improvement: lighting all around must be improved, particularly in the bathroom. More hooks needed in the bathroom to hang bathrobes (provided) etc.

The hotel is well placed for downhill as it is only a short walk from the ski lifts. Cross country ski tracks are not well marked and to find one must first walk down a steep hill for 1 km to reach a less demanding one. Finally we settled on the Vuosseli route, a pleasant 12 km track, easy enough for beginners but enjoyable enough for those with more experience. Taxi drive from the hotel to Uuttusuo coffee shop (on the Vuosseli route) takes some 10 minutes and costs about 15 € each way.

Self catering is almost a must since the restaurants in the vicinity are mainly of the fast food type. Classic Pizza can be recommended, however, for its variety. Self catering is made easy as there is reasonably well stocked supermarket nearby in the same complex. There is also a Alko shop, the local alcohol monopoly, for anything stronger than beer..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel & Apartments

Address: Rukankylantie 6 | Ruka Ski Area, Rukatunturi 93825, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia Region > Rukatunturi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rukatunturi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel RukaVillage 30 m2 (2+1 beds) studios combine the best aspects of a hotel room and an apartment. The rooms have saunas and kitchens and the room price includes buffet breakfast for two. RukaVillage different apartment types (40-94 m2 to 2-8 persons) cater for different needs. Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel and Apartments are short walking distance away from the slopes, cross-country ski tracks and SkiBus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski-Inn Ruka Kuusamo Hotel Rukatunturi
Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel & Apartments Finland/Rukatunturi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.