We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day and lots to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildlife Friends of Thailand

Wildlife Friends of Thailand
Moo 6 | Tambon Thamairuak, Tha Yang 76130, Thailand
08-22458598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Tha Yang
Type: Educational Sites, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The WFFT wildlife rescue center is a rescue center for injured, confiscated and neglected wild animals. The wildlife rescue center operates a fully equipped wildlife hospital. We care for monkeys, gibbons, wild cats, bears, birds, reptiles and even elephants.
Ko Tao, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day and lots to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We would totally recommed this palce if you want to see animals without hurting them! Foundation is doing great job, and we felt really welcome ourselfes there. You see the animals close and hear their stories, we booked the full day experiance and got ride to from our hotel and back. Easy and eyes-opening. Go, dont even think!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Full dat tour at WWFT! Do this instead of riding an elephant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Really great day! Very informative, learnt a lot about the sad realities of the tourist trade and was amazing to be so close to a rescued elephant! Tour guide and volunteers very passionate, friendly and helpful. The work WFFT are doing is amazing and the cost of the tour goes back into the centre... Will definitely be spreading the word!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go there first before riding an elephant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Rescue Centers are never fun. What you see is depressing. But its part of the reality in Thailand (and elsewhere) so don't pretend to be in Disneyland and support the good cause. the center offers guided and well explained half day and full day tours. you will get a very good insight in the downsides of the elephant business, the wild life trade and how WFFt is trying to make a difference - at least for the animals.
transport form Hua Hin and Cha Am is included as well as a lunch buffet. We liked to shower an elephant and walk with her through the forrest. This is how it should be. Huge enclosures and massive space for the animals.
Only slightly negative experience was the fact that our guide wasn't convincing in her de-humanizing efforts: she called and treated any animal like a pet. But its understandable if they bond with the animals more than they should.
Good for couples and adults, not so much for children (its not a zoo). you can volunteer there as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Today i visited this incredible place, founded byba dutchman in 2001. All kinds of wildlife animals which are rescued from traders, tempels and people using/abusing them (elephant trekking) to make money are given a wonderfull rest of their life here. I was guided around by Tanya, whose passion for the center and the animals really struck me. I walked with an elephant and even gave her a shower. So, don't go elephant trekking, go here instead! It's absolutely worthwile!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience for real animallovers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

this october i booked a full day experience tour at this center. This day was an experience i will never forget! I was guided by one of the volunteers named Tanya,who was so devoted that is was a real pleasure to be guided by her. I got a lot of information about al the different animals such as sunbears,gibbons and of course the elephants! we went for a walk with one of the elephants and afterwards i got a chance to shower this adorable creature! real interaction with the elephant ! So for the real animallovers among us who are disgusted by the elephant shows and trekkings andwho prefer a 100 percent animalfriendly experience, i would say Go and visit this rescuecenter!! The whole day was perfectly organised and included a lunch and of course the transportation in relaxed minivan where they showed an introducing film about the foundation.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Friends of Thailand also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Cha-am, Phetchaburi Province
 
Cha-am, Phetchaburi Province
Cha-am, Phetchaburi Province
 

Been to Wildlife Friends of Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildlife Friends of Thailand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.