We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful, and wonderful service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Silver Lane, West Challow, Wantage OX12 9TJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 West Challow B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So peaceful, and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived tired and weather-beaten from a day's cycling. Rob was very friendly and locked our bikes safely in a dry barn. We were then served tea and mince-pies in front of a roaring fire in the resident's lounge. It was very tempting to sink into the enormous soft sofas and go to sleep there and then! We then had a lovely night's sleep in a large comfortable room with en-suite (with underfloor heating). Breakfast was comprehensive and our 'Full English' was large and cooked perfectly.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
24
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cottesmore, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at Manor Farm for two nights, and was made very welcome. The room was clean and a comfortable bed, there was also tea making facility; and in the bathroom had an enormous bath to wallow in. The breakfasts were very good, and made to your order. The property is charming and old, and the grounds looked very interesting; although I did not have time to spend exploring them.

Room Tip: Phone to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

An absolutely charming property just a few minutes drive from Wantage. I stayed here for a week and a half while visiting relatives who live in some of the nearby villages. Rob and Sarah are delightful hosts and I felt more like a friend staying in a spare room than the 'just a number' approach that my hotel in London had given me. I will however advise making sure you have your own car if staying here as the public transport system in West Challow is virtually nonexistent and it's a bit of a hike to get to town. That being said though, Rob and Sarah were always ready to either call a taxi for me of give me a lift into town whenever I needed it. And unlike your typical hotels, the rooms here are quite large and very comfortable without paying a fortune for them, and the service is much more personalised than any other property I have ever stayed at. I am almost sorry to be leaving, but I will definitely remember them if I ever happen to come back to this corner of the world.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed at Manor Farm about half a dozen times now. Always have a lovely time. Rob and Sarah are excellent hosts, very friendly and welcoming.
It's a good base for visiting the Cotswolds; but there's also plenty for children to do on the property. And our kids especially look forward to the breakfast.

Room Tip: Churchill Suite has an adjoining room -- perfect for families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived in the middle of the worst fog I've seen in ages, so it wasn't until the next day that we quite appreciated what a beautiful part of the world this is. We arranged to arrive around noon, and were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us the room, but not until our dog had had a good sniff around, and met the owners' dogs! The house is a beautiful old farmhouse, which has been lovingly maintained, but not to within an inch of its life.
Our room - or rooms - was called the Churchill and had a huge bedroom, a sitting room, and from the sitting room, a small shower room with a very powerful shower and - bliss - a heated tiled floor. Lovely touch.
Our bed was extremely comfortable, with lots of pillows and a huge duvet, and lovely white linen.
It was lovely having the sitting room for the dog bed, and there was a large widescreen TV which actually ended up serving as a digital radio for the test match!
The area is - when not fog bound - a delight to explore, and we walked at Ashdown House (not open in the winter but with gorgeous woodland) and ventured further afield to the white horse at Luffington, and witnessed one of the most beautiful autumn sunsets.
Reading other reviews I would say that this is not a purpose built hotel, and I would agree that because it is an old house, noise does travel upwards (we were above the kitchen, and did hear anything that dropped on the floor!) but there again it has the feel of being in someone's working home, and so any noise you hear is part of that homeliness. It certainly didn't detract from the overall charm, but as others have said, perhaps not in so many words, if you want a Travelodge or a Marriott, then book a Travelodge or a Marriott.
The owner Rob could not have been more helpful, and a final word on breakfast - it was wonderful. A perfectly cooked full English, a delicious fresh fruit salad, lovely breads, lovely jams and marmalades, and Rob's own home-made green tomato chutney. Fresh cafetiere coffee, and in the afternoon, homemade cake. We had a very happy stay, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a non-run-of-the-mill type place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I'll start with the positives: the bed linen & towels were spotlessly laundered.
Spent 2 nights here in a bedroom with sitting room & en suite shower above kitchen. Carpets were grubby throughout and the shower room grimy. Room decor was tired with shabby blinds & curtains and although staying two nights, the bed was left unmade after first nights stay. Bed was desperately lopsided, clearly a result of the businessman that comments here earlier using single side of the bed for a length of time! Equally unpleasant were the cooking smells that filled the room each morning. I look for the best in establishments like this, I'm in hospitality myself.
Guys you need to up your game. Your standards are not representative of the comments here. You have a beautifully historic property with bags of character but your standards of housekeeping need considerable attention.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Manor Farm. Our room was very spacious with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was of high standard with heated floors and a huge bath tub (as well as a separate shower). The breakfast was delicious and the owners were friendly and flexible with time and veggie options. The grounds and gardens were beautiful, and if you like animals, there is an adorable cat, two dogs, chickens and stables. It's about 30 mins drive to Oxford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Silver Lane, West Challow, Wantage OX12 9TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wantage > West Challow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Challow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Queen Anne period farmhouse set in 350 acres farmland. All rooms en suite, TV's, tea, coffee etc. Free WIFI throughout property. Ideal for family and friends party weekends and celebrations. Meals served in our paneled dining room and drinks in the drawing room (by request. Great farmhouse breakfast and warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.