We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderfully friendly and peaceful setting"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gouri Farms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gudalur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gouri Farms
Save
You added Gouri Farms to your Saves list
Thottamoola, Gudalur 643212, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Gudalur B&B and Inns
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Wonderfully friendly and peaceful setting"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 5 happy days here, being very well fed and looked after by everyone. For an English couple, this was a totally different experience from the usual Western oriented hotels. It felt like we were guests in an authentically South Indian family setting. We loved walking in the beautiful valley beneath the Nilgiri Hills and meeting the friendly children, all of whom wanted to practise their English. Other highlights included driving high up past the tea plantations to see the great views across several provinces and through Mudamalur Animal Reserve at twilight. We saw over twelve elephants and many other smaller species. Also had the opportunity to do some volunteering at the Adivasi School, part of the excellent Just Change Project, which is doing so much good work for development around here. Gouri Farm is a unique experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nkshyla, Owner at Gouri Farms, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our intention is to make it like a home away from home with no undue formalities. Am glad it appealed to you. Thank you for the response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What else can I say, we had a fantastic time here during the weekend. Kids just loved it specially the pet julie, she was playful and our kids almost fell in love with the Julie instantaneously. The accommodation food and the entire place was really excellent. Shylaja and Nandakumar make a perfect host by providing a homely atmosphere. Udayan was always ready to help us. We will surely make this our weekend getaway. Only one thing i want to point out that there is no mirror in the bedrooms in cottage we stayed. would be very helpful if there was one. Otherwise it was just superb. Great work by the couple keep it up..we will come back to you.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nkshyla, Owner at Gouri Farms, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Am happy that you had a good time. We try hard to maintain the rural feel that is so rapidly disappearing. Will look into the mirror issue; thanks for the suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It was with immense apprehension that I entered this place since it was totally unknown to me and I did not get enough time to do a bkgd check on this property. But once I reached Gouri Farms all that was put to rest first by Rateesh, the caretaker who was extremely helpful in providing directions and getting us settled in. The surroundings are a real turn on, it is a typical village atmosphere taking me back to my ancestral Kerala home except for the ugly DTH pans jutting out here and there. The place was neat and clean and the restrooms were hygienic enough. We were a bit unlucky in getting a literal dormitory type accommodation with an attached bathroom placed a bit inconveniently but they have different type of accommodation suitable to a family/ couples/group of friends etc. Surroundings are green with lots of poultry(hens/turkeys/ducks), cows providing you a rural feel and as a bonus tasty home food. This will now be our drop of a hat getaway since we were yearning for such a place. Hope they keep up this good work.......

Room Tip: Book in advance for the choice of room types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nkshyla, Owner at Gouri Farms, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a good time. Thank you for the response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Completely home like cottages spic and span, straight out of a story book, in a rural lazy setting, the food is simple but fresh and tasty. Gouri farms is the best place for a person looking to switch off and take a break from a maddening city life, it is complete value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nkshyla, Owner at Gouri Farms, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for the review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Such Wonderful people ..... totally loved our stay at gouri farms. We had such a fantastic time talking to everyone at the farm....i would surely love love love to go back there . thanks guys ... you rock :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We feel so lucky to have been able to stay at Gouri Farms with our two children, ages 4 and 5. Neither had been to India before and the beautifully furnished and comfortable house with a kitchen felt like a home. The porch looked out at lush greenery, a tire swing and a play area. We were brought fresh, delicious home-cooked South Indian food as well as fresh milk every day. We hired a car to take us to see the wildlife at Mudumalai Wildlife Sanctuary, which is only 10 miles away. Most of all, the warmth of the entire community made our stay feel like home, only better! Shyla, Rajalakshmi, Uday and Nandakumar made our stay the best part of our trip to India. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Perfect place to visit on a weekend away from Bangalore. The hills that surround the town had come alive with the first rains. The farm itself has lots of things to keep kids occupied from playing on the tree swing, watching the farm animals and birds, picking on ripe mangoes or simply running around in the ground within the farm. The cottages are very clean and food was healthy vegetarian food that was well-made and tasty. Includes a couple of bedrooms, a hall/dining and a very neat and functional kitchen. The hosts were very helpful and yet not in your face. Service was excellent although be fair about your expectations as this is a home-stay and not hotel. This place is about freedom and flexibility on how you plan your day (including watching the clouds float by). Go for treks to the nearby hills if you decide to move a limb.. although take advice from the locals so that you don't end up brushing the tusks of a wild pachyderm. The drive itself is great as you go through Bandipur and Mudhumalai forests from Bangalore. I have my little child asking us every weekend if it is time to go back to Gouri farms and all I can say is..I'm just as eager.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gouri Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gouri Farms

Address: Thottamoola, Gudalur 643212, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Gudalur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gudalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouri Farms is a six acre organic farm located in the Nilgiri Hills of South India.Gudalur is located in a Valley with fabulous views of the Blue Mountains. It is an undiscovered attraction; a paradise for hikers, bird watchers and wildlife enthusiasts. It is located with convenient access to major tourist attractions like Mudumalai wildlife sanctuary (10 Kms), Ooty (45 Kms) and Wayanad (30 Kms). The farm is a great getaway for children. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gouri Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.